We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naples Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #18 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Naples Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Excellent service. The hotel is very beautiful. A lovely garden and dining room. A very nice room.

The location of the hotel is ideal if you are arriving by train. Taxis to the airport are pretty available (they'll call and it will arrive within five minutes).

The neighborhood is run down. Naples is a very dirty city. However, the hotel staff are more than happy to direct guests to tourist neighborhoods and museums.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank 258Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    888
    195
    53
    28
See reviews for
345
1,168
112
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is in a XVI century palace on the Northwestern border of historical center. The railway station is less than one Km downhill, and all the historical center is within walking distance; the Archeological museum is also not far (uphill). The hotel is in a relatively quiet (if unglamorous) neighborhood, and most rooms have windows on the beautiful internal courtyards.
The entire palace has been restored recently (less than five years ago, judging from the date of the images in Google Maps Street View), and everything inside is new and modern. The room was spacious enough for three adults, with all the expected comforts. My only complaint is that the bedding was pure french (understandable, as MGallery is part of the Accor hotel chain), with a duvet+sheet combo that I usually find inconvenient in France in mid-winter, and was quite out of place in Naples in July - at least air conditioning was up to the task, if a tad noisy. Bathroom not very spacious, but functional.
I think that WiFi is not free, but before I could complain (I am on a personal crusade for free WiFi in every hotel) they gave me a free 12-hour password. Either they can read the future, or this is was the customary welcome gift for holders of an Accor Le Club Gold card. In any case I appreciated it, and was able to access WiFi from the ground floor and from the room (where the signal was feeble, but still usable).
Breakfast (not included) was abundant and very good, with some nice local touches, such as the bite-size very fresh mozzarelle. I also liked the design of the breakfast hall It is furnished like an (oversize) home kitchen, so milk and juces are in bottles inside a fridge, plates are on the counter or in wall cupboards, and so on.
I was attracted to Palazzo Caracciolo by a 50% special offer by Accor, so I ended up paying a very convenient price, and i will certainly return to this hotel if I find a similar discount. I see that they frequently run this type of offers, both for holders of their loyalty cards and for the general public, so have a look at their Web site if you want to save.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChooseyItalians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Spent 2 nights here in May with a friend. What an amazing building. We had a room with a large terrace overlooking the main coutyard which was beautiful. The communal areas are lovely too with some amazing artwork. The staff were all very friendly. The breakfast room was nice and you could sit outside but the range of food wasn't great but more than adequate. Many people have commented on the location but we never felt threatened as there were always many people about. It was a bit unerving when we first arrived to find a concierge and several security guards standing infront of the main entrance. I love Naples - yes it's not as pretty as many other Italian cities but it has a great feel, is great value for money and you can get to so many other places from Naples like Pompeii, Sorrento and my personal favourite Ischia. We payed £60 a night and I can't think of anywhere else I have been where you could get this standard of hotel for that money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

just one night on our way to Capri.

beautiful place. great mix of pld and new.

rooms not really big but very cozy and super clean.

great staff, very helpful. the concierge arranged a small tour and transportation for our group of 12.

would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Naples, arriving on a late flight and liked it so much we stayed there again on our last night before going out on an early flight. Its perfectly placed for the airport (20min, €15 in a taxi from the hotel, c.€25 to it from airport). The hotel is also perfectly located for exploring the Centro Storico too. Its a beautiful old building that has been sympathetically restored. Rooms are modern, immaculately clean and quiet with good air conditioning.
Service can be a bit slow in the bar restaurant, but just relax and enjoy the surroundings, it will come. On our last night they had a string quartet playing in the courtyard, which was so atmospheric.
We also ate dinner in the restaurant, despite neither of us being big fans of hotel restaurants we were very pleasantly surprised, it was a very good meal and not too expensive either. Similarly breakfast was good (great coffee!!!) and cost us €16 for two (including many refills....)

The hote staff are very helpful indeed. Eg On arrival they spotted my husband's Rolex and advised he removed it if we were going out as they were being particularly targeted in Naples. A bit disconcerting, but that's Naples and we'd rather we were forewarned.

And all this for £68 a night through Expedia. Seriously. We couldn't fault our stay, the price is a bonus.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the central courtyard (much nicer view). Photos of some of the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpuddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

this is a great hotel. we stayed two nights which was fine to explore the main city monuments but if you could spend more days, do it. hotel is clean, modern, luxurious. location is good if you wanna be close to the historic centre, a bit far away from the modern city centre but there is a free shuttle bus.

rooms have small balconies, big windows are oriented either to the inner garden or the street. the hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. we would definitely come again.

small tip: dont visit the madre modern art gallery which is in the same street- because the lack of money, half of the gallery is closed, the rest is open but cant offer anyting special.

Room Tip: there are three floors, all the basic rooms are the same, so you just need to decide if you wanna be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamroucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#12 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated decor of the 146 rooms in this stunning hotel help create the perfect blend of historic detail and modern comfort. Take in the enchanting architecture and decoration of the stately buildings near the elegant Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel. Delve into Naples' past and explore the antique shops on nearby via Foria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing