We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Transatlantico
Ranked #66 of 618 Naples B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We lucked out and ended up at Hotel Transatlatico after the hotel we booked overbooked and had to move us. At first we weren't so happy with the move but we definitely think we made out on that deal.
Our room was gorgeous and had lovely views of the marina and the bay. The rooms were big for Italy standards and was very modern. Shower was small but bathroom overall was a decent size. We had breakfast included each morning and it was surprisingly sufficient. The breakfast staff was by far the greatest asset to this hotel. The girls each morning were pleasant and efficient. The 2nd morning (day of check out) we were busy packing and getting organized and didn't get downstairs until 10:30 (breakfast ended at 10) and we figured we'd have to grab something on the streets but they had left breakfast out for us and were happy to serve us.

Dinner at the restaurant Transatlantico was nothing to write home about. We were both disappointed in our meals. I had the steak fillets, which tasted as if they floured and fried them and then put some sauce on them. My husband had a veal marsala and said it was ok. The staff was horrible. We were sat and then ignored for 45 minutes while they chatted among themselves behind us. There were two women staff members, that were walking around in outfits that made them look like prostitutes. We at first thought that the staff would have them removed from the restaurant before realizing that they actually worked there.

Overall the hotel worked out fantastically. We were a little worried at first about being on the Island of Megaride but it was a quick walk to mainland Naples, although you did have to get by the pushy staff of the few island restaurants to get off the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
52
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a find. The view from room 104 was breathtaking...the Marina and Mount Vesuvius. A room like this in the US would cost twice as much or more. We're here when it's in the high 80'sF (30C), but the room was fully air-conditioned. Wi-fi works perfectly. Room and bathroom were very clean and modern. If you're coming from the airport, take the Alibus (http://www.napoliunplugged.com/naples-alibus-airport-shuttle) for 4 euros to the "Porto" stop (2nd of 2 stops), and it is about a 15 minute walk. We found it easily using the Google Maps on our smartphone. At night the castle behind the hotel is lit up and is a photographer's dream. Continental breakfast is included. Recommended highly!

Room Tip: We stayed in 104 and it was awesome. Air conditioner was not at all noisy. Slept like babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Marion, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I accidentally came across a forum on Trip Advisor, “Safe Places to Stay in Naples”. I was attracted to a contributors’ response about Hotel Transatlantico, on the Island of Megaride in Naples Bay. Fabulous and convenient place to stay; there is a short walkway / bridge that was built specifically to connect the island to the mainland. The walkway, Via Luculliana, is adjacent to the bay seafront area (Banchina Santa Lucia) on via Partenope; an upscale neighborhood and in walking distance to historic Naples. Hotel Transatlantico has its own marina; they also have a great restaurant with delicious food below the rooms and in nice weather you can dine on their picturesque marina surrounded by sailboats and yachts. FYI: have your restaurant charges billed to your room and they will discount the restaurant charges 10% when checking out. All the rooms are smartly designed like the interior of a boat and have extra-large windows to capture the view of the bay. We had a room on the top floor facing the sailboats and yachts with Mount Vesuvius across the bay in the distance. The service was excellent, too. The backdrop for this scenic location is the Castel dell' Ovo, just wonderful. NEED I SAY MORE … ENJOY!!!

Room Tip: Quiet room, on the top floor, with a view of Mount Vesuvius if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwwusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiusure
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here on two occasions, a wonderful location, nice staff and great rooms with wonderful views across the Bay of Naples. The hotel restaurant is very good as are about six other restaurants within a two minute walk. Although you can drive to the hotel to drop off luggage you must park at the garage about a five minute walk away, this will cost you €20 per day secured.
An easy and interesting walk I to the centre of Napoli, and close to the ferries to Capri and Ishica.

All. In all a great place to be, with the boat dock out front there is always something going on with boats of all sizes. The a/c works well, most Important during the summer months, also the windows open, always a plus in my view. Breakfast on the water front was more than expected, the usual continental with wonderful coffee, very pleasant way to start the day.

Great value, very clean and comfortable and very well priced for both the location and the size of the rooms to say nothing of the view.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Bay, most do but a few look towards to city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel and were not impressed. The views were great and the location was great too, but staff were not helpful at all and the walls between rooms were very thin as we could hear whatever other people were doing in the next door room. As I said, location is good, but that's about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Transatlantico is located on a small islet accessible by walkway/bridge from Naples and within easy walking distance of Piazza Plebiscito . The car-free neighborhood includes a piazetta, numerous bars and restaurants and Castel D'ovo. Our standard double room looked directly onto docked ships in the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background. The room was quite comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. For example, at one point, I needed an extension cord and after considerable effort, the cord was purchased by staff and provided at no cost to us. The hotel bar and restaurant are excellent. Given the extremely reasonable rates, this hotel is a tremendous bargain. we would definitely stay at the Transatlantico again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel was a little out of the way but it was worth it. It was located in a piazza with several restaurants that you could walk to. The view was gorgeous, seaside marina. Best part about Naples.

The staff did not speak English very well but they were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#62 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#17 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Transatlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Transatlantico

Property: Hotel Transatlantico
Address: Via Luculliana 15, 80132, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Transatlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing