We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Hostel Experience on Europe Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Home Napoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giovanni's Home Napoli
Ranked #7 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Hostel Experience on Europe Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My sister and I spent 3 nights at Giovanni's and still have such fond memories! After climbing three flights of huge stairs we arrived tired and sweaty, but were welcomed with water and a huge bowl of pasta. Like everyone else's posts, Giovanni gave us the run-down of the town - places to go, avoid, etc. He never steered us wrong and we had a wonderful time! My sister and I are quite shy and normally keep to ourselves, but you couldn't help but feel a part of a family here and we went out for dinner with the housemates and were much more social. Giovanni offered to take us on his motorcycle one morning (we declined, but another girl went and said it was really fun) and he also bought us delicious little pastries at the place next door. I'll never forget how he affectionately referred to my sister as "Onion Head" because of her hair bun on top of her head :) I hope we can go back some day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat_can16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    13
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
13
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We loved our time at Giovanni's, even if it was just a few nights. We were welcomed with a glass of cold water and delicious pumpkin and rice risotto, and we're then given a full briefing of the town and it's history. How fantastic! Giovanni loves his city and wants everyone to experience all it's wonders. He also loves his guests and wants them to have the best time in Naples. We would go back again and again!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

When you come to Giovannis, it's not a hostel experience. It's like staying in the home of a close family friend, someone who will look after you and make sure your stay in Naples in nothing short of perfect. His pasta and risotto might be out of this world fantastic, that goes without saying, but it's the atmosphere of the place that really makes it. We made some amazing friends in the two days we were lucky enough to stay here, both in other travellers and in the man himself, and I will 100% be back to visit. Obviously to see the gorgeous sights of a true Italian town, but to see it's real highlight, Giovanni.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have been lucky enough to stay in this hostel around 8/9 times. Of course you are only allowed to review on hostelworld.com once, so I thought I'd have my stay on here too.

This is not a hostel, it is a warm, friendly, safe environment where you will be looked after and given the best information about the beautiful city of Naples. Giovanni will personally give you all the necessary details regarding Naples, from the 'must see' to the 'no go' areas. There is free wifi, two fridges, the hostel is spotlessly clean and I've been lucky enough to try two absolutely fantastic dishes made by the man himself, my favourite being 'pasta, patate e provola', potatoes, pasta and a smoked local cheese, it is to die for!

Giovanni is a truly generous man with a wealth of knowledge regarding his city. You are paying for HIM when you pay for this hostel. You are paying for his knowledge, his hospitality, his interest in you and his caring, warm hostel. I look forward to being back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 02morrij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We came from Rome to Naples on our journey through Europe as a young backpacking couple. We came to Naples basically for Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius (the volcano). Well, there is a lot more to do here then you think!
We caught a train from Rome and arrived around 12:30pm to Naples. We got to Giovannis by metro 1 train which cost around €1.30 per person. Then it is a short 5min walk from the train station. It is down a small long road so keep your eyes out for the number 43!
Giovanni was there waiting for us and gave us a lovely introduction about Naples and everything you need to know about the place!
We came also reading on the internet about the theft in Naples, we did not how ever see or come across anything and you do feel safe here.
Giovanni cooked for us (a delicious pasta dish) and made us feel very welcome!
We only had a short two nights stay but defiantly would of stayed longer if we knew how much there was too see! Due to a time schedule we could not however change for a longer stay.
For a wonderful hostel, great company and other guest, close to food and the train station how can you go wrong with this place with such amazing views!
We think Naples was more exciting then Rome!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Afowler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The reviews on this hostel and giovanni seemed too good to be true, but they really are legitimate. We almost didnt come to naples because of how dangerous everyone warned us it would be. I would only recommend coming to naples, if you stay at giovannis. We arrived after 1030 at night, which we took a taxi, that dropped us off a distance away from the hostel. Giovanni was sat on the balcony shouting down to us. Hes great.

When we got upstairs, he had just finished preparing dinner for everyone, so we ate with them, then sat down with giovanni to check In. He highlighted everything on the map for us. Purple wasthe bad areas to avoid, he showdd us important churches and museums, the best pizza place and an orange hihlighter which was a direct path to see the best of naples. He really knows his stuff.

The main dining room was awesome to get to know eveyone, my boyfriend and i played chess in there with giovannis set. We had booked an 8 share, which he gave to just us so we had some pricacy, then the other two 8 shares he turned into one for the boys, and one for the girls.. hes very considerate. The wifi was great, he let us use his washing mahine for free. We had free dinner almost every nigt and even had lunch once too.

I cannot recommend this hostel enough. As I said, dont do napoli unless you are staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A really nice and inexpensive place to stay in Naples. Giovanni is amazing. He cooked a meal for us and talked at length about Naples and Italy. He also provides you the best possible way to explore Naples and pompei. He can come out as opinionated but I liked his inputs. Although he did provide very detail steps on how to get to his place. It is very difficult to get there if you have not viewed the route on google maps. Overall, strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramdevkrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#52 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#10 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#5 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giovanni's Home Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giovanni's Home Napoli

Property: Giovanni's Home Napoli
Address: Via Sapienza, 43, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Giovanni's Home Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing