We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cried when we left.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giovanni's Home Napoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giovanni's Home Napoli
Ranked #6 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cried when we left.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of our interrailing trip & couldn't have asked for a better start. Giovanni is a great host who goes above and beyond. Clean, comfortable and with the constant promise of traditional Neopolitan cooking, you absolutely must stay here if possible! He'll sit you down with a map of the city & talk you through what you ought to do during your stay...and if you're lucky, you might get a tour of the city by motorbike!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    13
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
14
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Being new to the hostel experience, initially we were anxious about what to expect in someone else's 'home'. However, as soon as you arrive you feel as though you are visiting family and this was a unique experience, one that we will never forget and that we would recommend to people of all walks of life. Giovanni is a very humble, sweet, knowledgable man (being 3 girls we were looked after and given advice on safety around Naples).

Giovanni is the kind of man who will remember your name firsthand and be genuinely sad when you leave, he wants you to have the ultimate experience discovering Naples. He gives you advice that money can't buy.... starting with a 45 minute talk covering Naples sights. I recommend following his advice, we didn't and we learnt the hard way.

Accommodation is basic but clean, it is worth it for the people you meet everyday coming through the doors. We did have a slight issue with Giovanni smoking, however the outdoor veranda and the bonus air-con made it minor. We still love Giovanni all the same.

All in all, we felt truly at home here and were sad to leave both the accommodation and Giovanni, especially his amazing cooking (we were greeted with delicious pasta upon arrival and cold water). Another piece of advice we would recommend to travellers - try not to arrive at night as it would be difficult to find (even in the day), look out for an old large gate. Also be prepared for stairs! Overall, if you don't stay here when you come to Naples you will have a missed out on a wonderful experience, if we hadn't have stayed here we know we wouldn't have enjoyed Naples half as much. We left Giovanni's 3 weeks ago and we still miss it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banannena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Located in the city center, Giovanni is an excellent choice for a low price accommodation in Naples. This is the merit of its manager, Giovanni Berardi, who makes every effort to provide you with all the information you need and to make your stay comfortable. He takes care of his guests since much before they come to Naples till the moment they safely depart to the airport or train station. He serves you with really useful advice about what to see according to your preferences and the time of your stay, asks about your experience and provides precise information on everything you need when you are planning a trip for the next day. He is very proud of his city and will be able to tell you a lot of details about Naples, so use this and ask him anything you need to know.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty similar. Just ask Giovanni (e.g. if you are more sensitive to noise), he will advis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Giovanni truly knows the meaning of hospitality. He is a kind and generous man, who will go to great lengths to make sure your stay at his home is pleasurable. You will receive detailed tips on the best places to visit and eat, a quick history lesson about the city of Napoli, and if you're lucky, you will get to experience some delicious Italian cooking. Definitely stay in this hostel if you visit Naples, even if only for one night.

P.S.- If you read this someday Giovanni, thank you again for the ride to the airport on the back of your motor bike.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Angella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at this hostel and it is the best value for money hostel I have ever stay at! The location is so easily walked across the city or accessed by metro (for non walkers) the owner Giovanni was friendly and very informative, after arriving he sat us down for almost an hour and gave us a detailed map of the city with the best sights to see, times fir trains/ boats and most importantly the best pizza in Naples!
The rooms were spacious with 8 people per room in bunk beds (very comfortable and clean) and the bathrooms were large and easily accessible. There is also full use of a common room, computers (wifi also available), kitchen and outside patio area. Giovanni cooked for us twice as well which was a nice bonus especially on a backpackers budget.
What else can I say about this hostel? If you want great value for money, a friendly atmosphere (and host) then stay at this hostel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank das4890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was wondering why everyone wrote such long reviews about Giovanni and his hostel till I actually stayed there. After 3 most memorable days in Napoli, I can't totally understand why.

I just echo what everyone says so wont go into length- in short,
Giovanni is the star of the hostel and goes out of his way to ensure you have a truly worthwhile experience. He is obviously very passionate about the city and does his best to dispel some of the oft-heard negatives of the city. And on a good day, he can dish out the most amazing local specialty and make your stomach very happy!

Decent location and great value for money. Naples ofcourse is not a prim and proper european city but with all the history and archaeology and ofcourse the nearby islands, it is a must-experience-once!

Grazie Giovanni!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I've been to this hostel more than once now. The first time I went there it was with my girlfriend and we loved it. Nowadays it's my number one advice to all my friend, if they ever go in South Italy to stop there and I often stop there on my trips in South Italy. Napoli itself is probably one of the most fascinating places on Earth, with a peculiar beauty that one may love or one may hate but will never leave you unscathed.

This Hostel is in symbiosis with the city. It might be scary as soon as you enter this old, historical building, on the side of one of the ancient roman driveways that constitutes the backbone of the historical centre of the city, and then you climb the steep 17th century style stairs to the hostel. There you'll always find a warm welcome and a glass of water to shake off the sweat of the walk through the narrow alleys of the city (in particular when you go there in summer).

Then you find the most peculiar and unique part of your visit to this place which is Giovanni himself, the owner and manager of the hostel that always takes his time to sit you down and gives you the best overview of a city that I ever heard, or read, giving you maps, showing you itineraries in and out of the cities how to best spend your time, informing you even of the best time when to pick up a train or ship to visit the Vesuvio or Capri. And when you thing there is no more that you can expect from an hostel like that, you'll come back from your trips around and he sometimes welcomes you with a warm dish full of pasta and a guitar to give more joy and life to the environment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triskeldeian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#44 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giovanni's Home Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giovanni's Home Napoli

Property: Giovanni's Home Napoli
Address: Via Sapienza, 43, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Giovanni's Home Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing