We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pizza”

Antica Pizzeria I Decumani
Ranked #132 of 2,876 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pendino
Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice pizza”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was nice pizza, lot's of waiting. Very nice service. Don't know if worth waiting 20 minutes for that in the street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taltal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    809
    241
    104
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza in the historic centre.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had one day only in Naples and were advised to wander around the historic centre. This included walking around from Montesanto + soaking in the atmosphere, having a coffee and a pastry, popping into the Duomo and having an excellent Neapolitan Pizza. There are a number to choose from on Via Tribunali and other reviewers have compared a few.
This one compares favourably. In fact, my wife thought that it was the best pizza that she had ever tasted. Interestingly, rather than having a tomato sauce, my pizza had chopped up small pieces of pomodoro to provide the desired result. Also the chef finishes off your pizza with a raw mozzerela ball in the centre that complements the layer of cooked cheese and other toppings. We arrived relatively early (1230) and the place soon filled up. This does mean that the waiter is not quite as attentive as you would like; I never had my second drink. For the price, you can't expect Michelin service. As mentioned in other reviews pizzas do start at €3, but you are more likely to be spending €6-7 if you want a few toppings.
This Pizza is better than anything that you will get in London. Also, the crust will not rip the roof of your mouth, like those in New York inevitably do. You are likely to have pizza more than once when in Italy and if one of them is here, you will have chosen well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clerkenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the few open on a Sunday”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Took us a bit to find one open on a Sunday, but it was worth the wait. Great pizzas and good value too. If you do visit on a sunday, recommend you go early as it is small so gets very busy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rossie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Wonderful pizzas, friendly attentive staff, what more could you want. We can't remember eating better pizzas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk_Puds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“When in Naples eat Pizza”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The pizza was good but not fantastic, the wine was an acceptable local wine and our waitress was efficient.
However, our table was near the cashier's desk and all the staff were young and through our whole dinner hung out near this desk talking to each other over the tops of our heads as though we weren't there which was annoying. We have a teenage son of our own so I know how thoughtless they can be but to pay for the experience is somewhat galling.
Overall I wondered if this is another place coasting on its reputation a bit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Pizzeria I Decumani also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Antica Pizzeria I Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing