We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pizza for 3.5 euros!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Pizzeria I Decumani

Antica Pizzeria I Decumani
Ranked #131 of 2,765 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pendino
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza for 3.5 euros!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We ate here on a day trip from Sorrento. I'm a fan of proper Italian pizza so I was really looking forward to this visit and I was not disappointed – my Margherita was as good as it gets, absolutely fantastic. The local lady on the next table from me only ate the middle of her pizza leaving all the crust – it took all my strength to not grab her plate and finish it off! Our cheapest and best meal of the holiday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sham63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    802
    238
    104
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
963 reviews
679 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“Authentic pizzeria, great pizza - amazingly inexpensive...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We were the only non-locals in this hole in the wall fabulous pizzeria. One of the best pizza's we've ever had and our most inexpensive meal ever...

Fabulous!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brilliantly delicious pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

It is hard to know how to review a restaurant like this where the star of the menu is only €3.50. The pizza is simple, topped with very tasty ingredients and an amazing price. It's hard to compare this to, say, a Michelin starred restaurant but in its class it is a great place to eat with fabulous pizza, hence 5 stars.

The pizza base is thin, crisp on the bottom and moist on the inside. I typically don't eat the outer crust of a pizza but this one was delicious on its own. The tomato sauce fresh and sweet and the cheese also tasty. An unlooked for bonus was a whole small uncooked mozzarella ball in the middle of the pizza.

The toppings were also surprisingly abundant given that a lot of other restaurants making this style of pizza appear to be trying to put as little as possible on top. A surprise but a very pleasant one!

The restaurant gets really busy but it turns over really quickly so it is worth waiting if you can't get in. We decided to share a bottle of wine with our pizza and despite how busy they were we weren't pressured to get out quickly which was great.

The prices are almost a joke, but a good one. I added up the bill and told our companions their contribution was €9 for pizzas and drinks! Ours was blown out of all proportion by buying the most expensive, and perfectly drinkable, bottle of wine at €10!

Would go back again in a flash. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pavsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pizzas and good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pizzas are fantastic and good value for money. It gets very busy very quickly so you may have to wait and will be ushered away from your table soon after eating but this is just the lifestyle at the pizzerias in Naples.

Good atmosphere and no complaints about the service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a really delicious lunch here. We had walked down Via Tribunali a number of times and had seen this in our guide book. The day we went we ordered two pizzas that were tasty and very good value for money. We had to put our name down and s it was lunch time we waited for around 15 minutes, but it was worth the wait. Lovely food, convivial atmosphere, friendly waitresses and a really great find.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia_and_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Pizzeria I Decumani also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Antica Pizzeria I Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing