We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto
Ranked #248 of 776 Naples B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My daughter and I arrived very early in the morning as we had taken the ferry from Sicily and it docked at 6.00am. We arrived at Il Giardino Secreto to a very warm welcome from Mario who immediately took us to the Secret Garden which lived up to its name in every way. He explained that as we were so early the room wasn't ready but we were welcome to sit in the garden, help ourselves to breakfast and generally make ourselves at home in the common areas until check in time. We installed ourselves in the hammocks in the gorgeous garden and listened to the birds singing. When the room was ready we found that it was a very large bright room overlooking the street. We had a table and chairs and cutlery and in the passageway there was a small kitchenette so we were able to prepare and eat our meals in comfort. I guess my only criticism was that we had to keep the windows closed as the traffic noise was so loud, there was no ensuite bathroom and I felt that the location was a little far out of town. However all in all it represented very good value for money, the garden was as special as advertised and the attention to detail in the room was of a hight standard.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255103Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stay with Ana and Mario from thursday, the 30th of september till the 4the of october with 4 friends in the quadroom. Napoli was a "culture-shock": very noisy, full of cars, etc.
But after a few days we loved Napoli! The people we met were very kind and helpfull. With the "arte-card" we hopped from bus to metro to train to visit several musea, Vesuvio and Pompei. Ana and Mario: thank you very much for al your advices, the use of your wonderfull garden and your hospitallity! Arriverderci,
Anne Marie Reus, Pleuni, Trude en Reinhilde

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjbasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Very friendly owner (mario), nice cute rooms, easy to get to, and perfect if you want to stay somewhere to get away from the chaotic streets of Naples. They'll look after you hear, i'd reccomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Mario and Anna were fantastic hosts no question was too hard. As we only speak English their English was fantasic. The garden is a paradise, sipping on a cold beverage and eating world famous Naples pizza, what more does one need in life...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Two things really make a stay here memorable: Anna, a charming and helpful hostess, and her truly remarkable garden. Anna, who speaks exceptional English, will give you advice on everything from sightseeing to personal safety to fashion sense (the latter two were combined in my case). She has put a good deal of work into the garden the gives this b&b its name, and it must be seen to be believed. It must be at least 40 feet wide by 120 feet deep. It features palms, flowers, shrubs, lemon tress, and gazebos that guests can sit in. Breakfast in Ana's garden was the most peaceful and sublime experience of my Italian trip.

The room was well above average in terms of size, mattress comfort, and storage for clothes. A large window opened onto the courtyard. As is usual for Italy, the bathroom was a bit small, but there was plenty of hot water and light to shave by. The free wi-fi worked wonderfully, and I was able to Skype my wife and check my e-mail from the privacy of my room.

Breakfast was good, and I appreciated the slices of ham and cheese in addition to the usual Italian breakfast items. I must stress how reasonable the charges were and what an extraordinary value Il Giardino Segreto was.

My only complaint was that the lift was not working --- or rather, it could take one to every floor except the one that the b&b was on. I assume they are working on this, but when I was there, it made my arrival and departure awkward.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danpink51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is a marvelous gem of a B&B in a fairly central location (within walking distance of Centro Storico and on the main bus route to the airport)
The proprietors are very nice people who go out of their way to help and speak great English! The rooms are very comfortable and the huge garden at the back is beautiful (especially in the spring and summer) and are reasonably priced
Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabsacomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

I've been to Naples 3 times and each time at the "Il Giardino Segredo" and will continue to go there each time I'll be in Naples. Why ? Because it's like an escape from a busy town due to its garden and to the fact that Ana & Mario are like your life time friends, always friendly and guiding you on what new and beautiful places to see both in Naples and near it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaRomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
B&B Room 116
B&B Room 116
#374 of 776 in Naples
45 reviews
Pendino
B&b Il Sorriso
B&b Il Sorriso
#202 of 776 in Naples
43 reviews
Cuore di Napoli B&B
#132 of 776 in Naples
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Napul'art  B&B
Napul'art B&B
#329 of 776 in Naples
39 reviews
Pendino
Bed & Breakfast I colori di Napoli
Pendino
B&B Sotto Le Stelle ai Decumani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto

Address: Via Foria 216, 80139, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: $54 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique oasis with a wide garden hidden in the center of Naples, where all tourist sites and islands are easily reached. Experience, indications, maps, tips & tricks in four different languages to fully enjoy a peculiar city. Our concept of hospitality is to let you feel in a family, at home; our main goal is to make your stay the cosiest possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing