We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mario & Anna Create an Oasis near MUST SEE Centro Storico Napoli”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto
Ranked #190 of 666 Naples B&B and Inns
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mario & Anna Create an Oasis near MUST SEE Centro Storico Napoli”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

When you plan your holiday in Italia, you must begin in Napoli and it must be for at least a week with Mario and Anna. WOW. Number One recommendation!! We are back home in Seattle, WA just two days after a month of touring Italy staying in pensiones and B&B's starting up North. This charming family-run B&B was hands-down the most well-equipped B&B of our entire trip, our last place we stayed and the best. The lovely flat and quiet garden were perfect; we had more than everything of what we needed-comfortable beds and a beautifully decorated room PLUS a shower that had pressure AND hot water! Breakfast was in the garden with unlimited REAL coffee we actually got to make ourselves-taught by Anna, a REAL Mamma Napolatana-in the tiny Italian percolator, but the most important feature of The Secret Garden was the heart and soul of this lovely Neapolitan family. I wanted my family to be able to see the REAL Napoli...why I fell in love with Italians and their food-especially the Neopolitans. We were offered every bit of information and assistance we needed to see the entire area. Mario, Anna and their adult son, Edgar, provide access to resources which will guarentee you see and experience the Compania region without getting lost or frustrated. Mario and Anna and their kids lived in the Netherlands for 10 years, speak Dutch, French, German and English. They understand the traveller. We happened to be smack dab in the middle of Festa San Gennaro and Il Giardino Segreto is a short walk from the Catedrale on Via Duomo. It was a good crazy. Napoli even won the football match the night before the blood of San Gennaro liquified, which made for a VERY ALIVE Napoli. As we ate amazing pizza at Lombardi's down the street from Il Giardino, "we" scored 2 goals in the game (both of Lombardi's TV's were on) and the ENTIRE city exploded around us with a swell of shouts we could FEEL in the atmosphere. Our stay was perfect. When we return, we will stay here again and we will stay longer! I have already recommended this amazing find to others. Yes, I have been dreaming of ricotta, mozzarella di bufala, pizza margherita and vino di rosso with tears in my eyes. It is almost unfair to the rest of Italy, the quality of the food in the Compania region is unmatched and as you travel north, you will experience disappointment with the pizza because Naopoli has the best in the entire universe. It was hard to leave. I am just happy to know that I get to go back and that I know the most perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: During the summer months, you MUST have A/C. Book your hotels 4-6 months out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacanzainItalia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    63
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
67
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I went to Naples on a business trip for 10 days in May - and as a single female traveller, I wanted to find a place with a family environment. From the time, I read about Il Giardino Segreto (the Secret Garden) I was captivated. Anna and Mario were so gracious from my very first email - and I sent a lot because my plans kept changing.

The day I was due to arrive, I received a friendly call from Anna asking if I was ok with the directions and making sure that I only pay the taxi driver 8 euro to their B&B from Naples train station. From the moment I met Anna and Mario I knew I was in the right place... they treated me like family offering me a drink and showing me around their wonderful garden and labour of love apartment. I just couldn't believe such a beautiful garden existed at the back of these apartment blocks - in the heart of Naples.

I was also thrilled that they gave me one of the largest rooms over looking the Botanical Garden. The rooms are very comfortable, well maintained and you have direct access to the cooking facilities, free access to the garden, wifi and a large collection of tourist and history books.

Anna and Mario really do have an open door policy... they are happy to sit and chat - even offering me a few tips on how to cook with their home grown herbs. Naples is a very busy and sometimes chaotic City which is a "must see", with the hospitality of this B&B you will get to see the real Naples.

I highly recommend Il Giardino Segreto especially if you want to experience Naples as a local. I can’t wait until the day I return to this unique B&B and the friendliness of Naples.

Great work Anna and Mario. All your hard work has paid off.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the Botanical Garden and rooms in the garden are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

During our road trip trough Italy, we stayed in the b&b. our last minute reservation was accepted and we enjoyed a little luxury after camping for a week. Nice place, beautiful garden and close to the center. The owners are nice and speak a little Dutch. We had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just stayed the nights of 23 and 24 May, which we enjoyed enormously. Mario and Anna were very flexible, and understanding of our ever changing arrangements, and also for providing breakfast well before our scheduled departure on the 25th. We didn't expect that and we were touched. There were many and kind suggestions, both culinary and cultural, which made our very short trip to Naples so memorable (the other two days we spent in Procida). We thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant, and menu which was recommended (in fact went there twice) and we tried to keep to the route Anna suggested we take in the historic quarter (diverted by Sorbillo (sp?)and a few coffees).

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RD336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Lovely place, lovely host and hostess!
They have secret garden you cannot imagine if you don't come into the house.
They seem to enjoy helping their guests.
We enjoyed really Napole food thanks to their recommemdation.
I miss the days when i stayed at the room of the Giardino Segreto with love and care

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piracicaba, SP
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Staying at Giardino Segreto was very special and we had the best attention we could expect. A very charming place and an unforgetable hospitality. If we come back to Nápole, and we hope so, we will stay at Giardino Segreto for sure again!! Thanks to Mario and his wife!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moers, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Coming by train from Rome with our 3 boys we enjoyed the silence and hospitality. Good place to start daytrips and good place to relax with huge rooms for our family. If we come back to Napoli wewill definitely come back to this lovely place.

Merry Christmas and a wonderful Year 2013!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Cuore di Napoli B&B
#133 of 666 in Naples
27 reviews
Pendino
Bed & Breakfast I colori di Napoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rainbow Bed & Breakfast
#152 of 666 in Naples
91 reviews
Porto
Latt' e Liett'
Latt' e Liett'
#130 of 666 in Naples
101 reviews
Pendino
B&B Sotto Le Stelle ai Decumani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto

Property: Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto
Address: Via Foria 216, 80139, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 666 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique oasis with a wide garden hidden in the center of Naples, where all tourist sites and islands are easily reached. Experience, indications, maps, tips & tricks in four different languages to fully enjoy a peculiar city. Our concept of hospitality is to let you feel in a family, at home; our main goal is to make your stay the cosiest possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Il Giardino Segreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing