We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel, poor location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romeo Hotel
Ranked #17 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, poor location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Romeo hotel is truly great in many ways, just as would be expected from a 5-star hotel. The lobby looks really fresh and nice and so does the room, the gym / spa and the restaurant and breakfast area. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were always treated well. Definitely a hotel I would
come back to and one that I would recommend!

There are a couple of less great things..

1. The location and view is not good. Yes, I'm aware that the hotel is located close to transportation stations of various kinds which is nice but it doesn't add up for the fact that it is positioned in a dirty (dangerous?) industry harbor neighborhood with shipping containers, filth and weird people. Not a place you would like to be in during dark hours.

2. The gym closes at 9 pm. That is way too early. Also, almost every evening from 7.30 pm or so there seems to be some staff and locals doing "training" and talking loudly, laughing and taking up room from the not so big gym. Annoying.

3. The prices for drinks and food. Ridiculously expensive. 10€ for two plain cups of coffee of poor quality, one was not even warm.

4. Staff competence about activities to do or landmarks to see was poor. We were much better off on our own.

Anyway, we were quite happy with the hotel and as stated earlier, we would come back if we ever go to Naples again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Martin P,

Greetings from Naples! Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Romeo Hotel, you review will certainly be helpful for travellers but especially for us. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the design of the property. Our main focus has always been our guest satisfaction, and we work hard to make them feel at home in an exclusive atmosphere. We have carefully read your comments, which will help us to improve our service quality and we will for sure take them in consideration. We hope to have you back with us at the Romeo hotel sometimes soon and to surprise once again.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    202
    99
    41
    30
See reviews for
93
437
27
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

1 day and night in Naples before our flight home. Very convenient for the port and airport bus stop only 5 mins. Although on busy road the hotel was an oasis of calm and quiet We liked our deluxe room which was cool and clean with many mod cons incl nespresso machine. Wireless great Admittedly it isn't on the main harbour road where the Excelsior and other first class hotels are ( around 10 -15mins walk ) which is probably the place to go for dinner in the evening but daytime you are within walking distance of the main sites incl via Toledo for shopping. We tried the roof top heated hot tubs which were lovely- however the only downside was we asked for a beer - there was a lack of staff around to ask hence the delay and it was around 1900( reception had advised us it closes at 2000) and we were made to feel as if we were being a nuisance - maybe they were getting ready for dinner service in the top floor restaurant ? breakfast and reception staff were good. It would, have been a nice touch though to be offered a map on check in and shown where the main city sites were. Bonus though was our room was ready early as arrived at 1230. We would stay here again due to the convenience at start or end of hols from the islands but perhaps overall the lacks a bit of warmth

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickandRaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear NickandRaff,

Greetings from Naples! Thank you very much for having shared your experience at the Romeo hotel. We work hard everyday to improve our services, and your comments really help us to reach that goal. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. If you decide to come back to Naples for a cultural stay, feel free to ask our front desk staff about the city sites, they will be happy to give you some piece of advice. We also have a special area in the lobby with many cultural books about the city, for our curious guests. We hope to have you back with us at the Romeo Hotel sometimes soon.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in Naples for one night at Romeo hotel. It's walking distance from the center and good pizza! The hotel staff was nice but not as welcoming as other hotels we visited in Italy. The restaurant staff in the restaurant upstairs was amazing however the food is overpriced and just decent. I recommend going into the center to find something to eat!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajgonz012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Ajgonz012,

Greetings from Naples! Thank you very much for your review about the Romeo Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Naples. We are sorry that you didn’t fully appreciate our starred restaurant, il Comandante, which only served plates made with fresh and high quality ingredients. We hope to have you back with us at the Romeo hotel soon, in order to show you the real potential of our chef cookery.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Great rooms with good service. The pool is ok, but in the wrong direction, only sun in the mornings. The sushi resaurant is crap. Very high prices over all. There is not many restaurants in the area, more or less only offices and the harbour for ships.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Petter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Petter K,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Romeo Hotel. Our main goal is to offer our guests a very comfortable and design space with excellent services; we are therefore happy to know that you did enjoy your stay with us. We have carefully read your review about the Romeo Sushi Bar & Restaurant. We are surprised to hear that you didn’t enjoy your dinner and that you’ve not had this occasion to appreciate our restaurant’s real value. We want you to know that our chef elaborates every plate according to the Japanese tradition and with fresh and high quality ingredients. We invite you also to try our starred restaurant which proposes more traditional and occidental plates that will certainly satisfy you. We hope to have you back with us at the Romeo Hotel sometimes soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
274 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We would recommend staying at the hotel for a Naples city break. We stayed for 5 nights and it really stands out in the area. The furnishings are very hip. Our room was clean and large with a separate gym area and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast selection was excellent and the staff very helpful. We used the great spa most days and again the staff here were an asset to the hotel. In terms of the hotel experience it was very good with only a few niggles - the bathroom layouts are poor with toilets too close to the sinks, and why give you a coffee machine with only 2 free capsules for the stay - mean - at least 2 a day surely, after all you've paid for a room everyday.
The roof top pool whilst small is lovely, but short of enough sun beds, but the worst thing is that when people finish lunch they poor outside and stand next to you have their cigarettes - one afternoon 8 people next to us puffing away - a caring hotel would create an appropriate area foe smokers. The main concern we have the hotel is their "Michelin Star Restaurant". Whilst I have reviewed this under restaurants it should be noted that despite several visits to the hotels reception we didn't get any contact from the hotel general manager, nor have we since our return. I mention this because the way a hotel deals with problems says a lot about the hotel - I would therefore have zero confidence that if we had any other serious problems they would have be dealt with. This

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheffview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Sheffview,

We would like to thank you for your precious review about the Romeo Hotel. We are very happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and all the services provided by our hotel. The Romeo Hotel isn’t only about design, but as you mentioned it, we want our guests to live a special experience by staying with us. We read carefully your review, and took note of every comment that will be helpful to improve our services and products. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t fully enjoy our starred restaurant. You will find our answer about your experience at Il Comandante in the appropriate review. We hope to see you soon back with us at the Romeo Hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels in my life time and on this occasion I had my 10 month old son and wife with me. I read many reviews before booking the hotel and I would say that all the rumours of people being racist or ignorant were stupid.

From the time we arrived at the hotel to the time we left ( we stayed for one full week ) it was a wonderful experience. The staff were first class and helped us on everything we asked for. Within a week I felt like I have a very big family because of the hotel staff. The set up of the hotel is very perfect and they literally have everything that you would week in a 5 star hotel. I would go as far to say that I feel it should be a 7 star hotel.

The room was very specious, modern and clean. It was big enough that my son learnt to walk a little as he had lots of space to move into. The room was cleaned twice a day and we were always left surprised every evening when we came from outside to see the room so clean.

I want to take this opportunity to thank every one at hotel Romeo and I am very certain that I will be staying there again if I visit Naples again in future. Thank you everyone and keep up the brilliant job your doing at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalbag Singh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Dalbag Si,
We would like to personally thank you for your review about the Romeo hotel and especially for having mentioned the qualities of our staff. Providing our guests within an unforgettable experience and therefore satisfying them is the best award for us. We would be very happy to welcome you again at the Romeo hotel!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

From the first look you know that this is a special hotel.. From the glass front, to the fountain inside to the unique decorations. the staff was attentive and helpful -- we arrived at the hotel in the morning so they kept the luggage until a room was ready, and moved it up while we went out sightseeing. the location is good for central Naples -- on the bay, you can watch the city from the rooftop pool, which is actually a huge massaging hot tub to relax in after a long day walking on the stone sidewalks and streets. We at in the restaurant on the 10th floor and the chef's tasting meal was inventive and delicious. Drinks in the lobby bar were easy. They organized a driver to take us to Pompeii English speaking was a bit over stated. the rooms were modern with lots of glass but not stark. buttons by the bed control the lights and drapes. the bathroom light turns on as you walk into the room, but may also turn itself off if you "overstay" the timer.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator and we never heard any outside noise. Next time we will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kathy S,
We would like to thank you for the review about the Romeo Hotel and especially for describing every service you enjoyed during your stay. The Romeo hotel is a unique boutique luxury hotel not only because of its decoration but also because of its staff and its high quality facilities. Providing our guests with an unforgettable experience is our main objective, we are therefore happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back at the Romeo hotel sometimes soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
#13 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Parker's
#23 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo Hotel

Property: Romeo Hotel
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 45, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Naples
#11 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#16 Business Hotel in Naples
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#37 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Romeo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the famous Japanese architect Kenzo Tange & Associates from Tokyo, Romeo hotel is the perfect balance of modern design, contemporary art and antiques expressed in the highest quality “Made in Italy”. 83 luxury accommodations, an amazing rooftop pool and a 10,000 sq ft luxury SPA, for a memorable experience of luxury and bliss. Romeo hotel’s gastronomic offer includes a refined Sushi Bar & Restaurant in the lobby area and the Michelin Star awarded gourmet restaurant Il Comandante on the 10th floor. An authentic luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Romeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing