We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel, not superb”
Review of Romeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Romeo Hotel
Ranked #15 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK hotel, not superb”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel is located near the port of Naples where the cruises arrive; 5 star, 2 tiny lifts if there are many people moving around you have to wait for ages! Swimming pool closes at 7 o'clock because you have to pass trough the restaurant.
It is a design hotel, but in my opinion design and functionality have to go together, in this hotel however nothing is practical.

We had a great vieuw of the port, but when taking away the "woode" curtain to look out we only got a dirty window, so i asked cleaning leady to clean window the second day and it was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterS12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    228
    109
    43
    37
See reviews for
126
511
28
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My friend and I got a spa weekend gift from our husbands. Check-in was pleasant, we got escorted to our room on the 6th floor, got showed everything, and it was a beautiful room with a nice bathroom, shower room, and plenty of space. Bed had large comfortable pillows. We went to the spa for mani/pedi and spa staff was very courteous. We had wellness teas and also enjoyed the heated outdoor pool on the top of the hotel with an amazing view of Vesuvius and the port. Yes, you do see the buses, ships, etc but that's part of being by the port. It's still a lovely view. The outdoor pool with its many jets was absolutely relaxing and great for sore overworked muscles. We had pre-dinner drinks at the sushi bar and the bartender made me a very special wasabi martini that was just perfect. Ill write a separate view of our dinner at the restaurant (also fantastic).
The next morning, we had a delightful breakfast on the 9th floor. Then we went off to visit the spa with its thermal pools and saunas. It was the best and cleanest spa I've been to in Naples. Then we had an exfoliating scrub and massages at the spa. They did a great job, again the best massage I've had in Naples. The standards were true to luxury American spas. Some of the spa staff don't speak English but it wasn't an issue for us. The only complaint is that they only put one layer of nail polish with the mani/pedi and no top coat protection, so a day later the nails are chipped. This happened at other spas too so perhaps it's the standard in Italy.
Overall, a true Italian 5-star experience, a very relaxing weekend, very accommodation and professional staff. I'd love to spend another weekend there.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear SallyM,.
thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you here again.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I've been to a business meeting at Romeo's hotel last Saturday. I found the staff welcoming and very professional.
Beautiful hotel, unique art and luxurious design.
This kind of boutique high luxury hotel is more likely to find in London, Paris or NYC.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ladyshirel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Ladyshire,
thank you for your review!
Your satisfaction is our satisfaction. We hope to see you sooner.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we didn't want to spend too long in Naples. Not the greatest of cities to say the least.

The hotel overall was no better than average. The service, food and size of rooms were no better than average with a very poor and underwhelming view of the dockyard. The hotel tries to be stylish being mostly black and quite often the look doesn't work although some of the technology in the rooms is quite cool.

In our one day there we were lucky enough to enjoy the underground spa which had the luxury of not having a view of the city. Also the spa pools were excellent and had a lot of variety. If you ever find yourself in this hotel then you must experience the spa which is the one shining light from the city and the average hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simonpope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear simonpope2,
thank you for your review and for the special words used to describe our luxury SPA: indeed, at the moment it is the best SPA in Naples.
As far as the hotel location is concerned, everywhere when the hotel is described, the proximity to the harbour and the cruise terminal is underlined. As you can imagine, it cannot be a pedestrian area, and it is a little bit crowded during the rush hour. On the other side, this location is very useful for people who would like to visit the Islands, Amalfi and Sorrento Coasts, and for business travellers that need to reach train station and airport in few minutes!
Analysing your words, I think that you did not like the view from your view, but actually you do not prefer Naples too much as one of your favourite holiday destinations. Like other cities in the world, Naples shows several cons, but , believe me, it has also a lot of pros (history, monuments, food and wine, people, place of interests,…)!
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel was a curious contradiction. The property itself is very nice. The lobby is Interesting with its various chairs and electronically controlled waterfall display. The entrance itself is also quite lovely at night with its lighted front and sidewalk.

We were upgraded to a corner room which was somewhat small but adequately sized for the two of us and our extensive assortment of luggage. The shower was somewhat of a challenge to figure out but we finally did. Controlling the motion sensitive light in the bathroom was beyond our collective abilities but was a minor inconvenience at best. The zebrawood floors and walls was a little much but not unpleasant. Notwithstanding these negatives, we generally liked the physical aspects of the hotel, especially the deck overlooking the dock for the buffet breakfast.

The breakfast was quite good and we were able to order eggs and beverages to our liking.

The concierge staff was very pleasant and helpful in suggesting restaurants and arranging for our drivers and touring.

Unfortunately, the location for this hotel is not great. It is right across from the docks so unless you're meeting a cruise here it is a questionable choice if you like to walk around a lot at night unless, of course, you're ex-Special Forces. If you're street smart, you take a cab to the restaurant of your choice at night or, as we did, go to a nearby restaurant staying on the main drag as long as you can. The restaurants suggested by the concierge staff were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 993Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear 993RON,
thank you for review!
The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in front of the main harbour (where everyday ferries and hydrofoils depart for the Islands of Capri and Ischia) and the cruise terminal. As you can imagine, it cannot be a pedestrian area, and it is a little bit crowded during the rush hour.
On the other side, this location is very useful for people who would like to visit the Islands, Amalfi and Sorrento Coasts, and for business travellers that need to reach train station and airport in few minutes!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were so excited to finally reach Naples and were looking forward to this hotel as it looked great in the pictures but were totally disappointed. Its a very cheap quality hotel with cheap furniture and poor rooms. Looked like a playschool, the bathroom also wasnt good.

The only good thing about it was the breakfast.Staff was also very ok, not friendly welcome. When u phone them it took ages to service us. Location was ok, but not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flam18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear flam18,
thank you for your review! But I am totally disappointed about what you wrote.
Our rooms are not poor, and moreover we do not use cheap furniture. Just to let you know, in all public areas, and in our rooms too, we use only the excellence of Made In Italy, like B&B and Poltrona Frau, which are, if you do not know, two of the most important design Italian brands.
And I can assure that our photos and our website are the “real picture” of our hotel. Try to click on Virtual Tour in our website home page, you have the possibility to visit in advance every corner of the property and realise what kind of prestigious furniture we offer.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Romeo for 2 nights as part of our Italy honeymoon. Much better than the hotel we stayed in Milan (more expensive too). The service was impeccable, (they even allowed us a free 4pm late checkout on our last day). They upgraded us to a corner room with views of the port and city. The hotel is right across the port so you get mixed views of the the bay of Naples, the ships in the port and the port buildings some of which are not very nice but in all a very Neapolitan picture.

The room and amenities were great, the decoration too. Free wifi but signal too weak in the room (strangely enough it worked in the bathroom) but ok in the lobby and breakfast room (ninth floor with a great view)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantelis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Pantelis D,
thank you very much for your review. We hope that you will stay with us again...
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#43 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo Hotel

Property: Romeo Hotel
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 45, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Naples
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#16 Business Hotel in Naples
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#37 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Romeo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the famous Japanese architect Kenzo Tange & Associates from Tokyo, Romeo hotel is the perfect balance of modern design, contemporary art and antiques expressed in the highest quality “Made in Italy”. 83 luxury accommodations, an amazing rooftop pool and a 10,000 sq ft luxury SPA, for a memorable experience of luxury and bliss. Romeo hotel’s gastronomic offer includes a refined Sushi Bar & Restaurant in the lobby area and the Michelin Star awarded gourmet restaurant Il Comandante on the 10th floor. An authentic luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Romeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing