We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Be So Nitpicking”
Review of Romeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Romeo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Unless you are one of those people that absolutely must have someone always on hand to wipe you clean, you have a good chance of enjoying this hotel. Perhaps there were staff problems with this hotel at some point in the past; but from what we saw, this place is beautiful and filled with courteous and helpful staff.

Pros:
- very nicely appointed
- very modern
- extremely comfortable bed
- good location for port travel
- friendly and courteous staff

Cons (and these are a stretch):
- the view is nice for Naples... unfortunately, Naples just isn't very pretty (sorry!)
- the shower is a little complicated but you'll figure it out if you keep at it
- the room is appropriately sized for a city hotel (i.e. not particularly large)

You have to really nitpick to find things to complain about with this hotel.

If you've booked 2 weeks of vacation in Naples, you've already made a mistake. You've come to this part of Italy in order to see Capri, Ischia, Pompeii, and/or the Amalfi Coast. You've come to Naples specifically because there is an international airport and a ferry port and Naples just happens to be in close proximity to all of these places. That being said, the Hotel Romeo is a gem within the visibly troubled economic infrastructure of Naples. If you have just arrived in Italy and are disappointed that this isn't the Italy of your dreams, I would suggest that you NOT do the following:

- demand that the hotel staff wash the graffiti off the buildings outside the hotel
- demand that the staff move the shipping containers off the docks so you have a clear view of the Mediterranean

You will probably not get high fives from the staff for pointing out the problems with Naples.

Enjoy the hotel while you're here. It is really nice.

Room Tip: Don't spring for the bay window. The view will not be that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJ_Traveler_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear NJ_Traveler_001,
thank you so much for your review!
I really appreciated your special words about our property and especially about our staff: everyday my colleagues and I work so hard to let our guests have a wonderful stay with us!
And I am also so happy when people (like you) note our effort.

Naples, like many other large cities, can display several and objective problems that in this case people connect also to Romeo hotel (which is actually “ a gem”, as you said, in the Neapolitan hotel industry); but, believe me, Naples is really a beautiful city with important and famous monuments, museums, theatres, stunning views and much more, and it can not be known around the world only because of the international airport, the harbour and the proximity to the Islands.

If you decide to come again here, I will show you the beauties of this city, often badly criticized.
In the meantime…thank you again and best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We only stayed at the Romeo for two nights but enjoyed every minute of it. Going to Naples was not initially part of our itinerary, however, friends of ours (globe trotting world travelers with very, VERY high standards) had stayed at the Romeo a few months ago and highly recommended the hotel and the city to us. Despite some of the negative reviews my husband and I read on TripAdvisor, we trusted our friends advice and decided to arrange for 2 nights and 3 days in Naples. So glad we did!

To be fair, I must mention that I was initially wary of visiting Naples. However, we trusted the advice of our friends. Given that they had visited both the Romeo hotel and Naples before (and how picky they are), we took lots of notes and got advice on what to do/see, where to eat, etc. So, we had a big head start and went there with expectations that were built up by our friends. Not sure if that was a good or bad thing, but we ended up loving this unexpected leg of our trip.

Although some reviewers don't seem to like the location, for us, we actually liked it! Because it is so close to the harbour, we were able to take a day trip to Capri! Yes, even though we had only 3 days, we just crossed the street from our hotel in the morning, then jumped on the next ferry. We were back in Naples in time for dinner!

We had a fabulous anniversary dinner at the hotel's restaurant. It is a Michelin starred restaurant (1 star) and the food reflected that. The food was delicious and the view from the restaurant was simply magnificent! This was perhaps one of the most magical dining experiences I have ever had, and certainly very ROMANTIC! Note: It is a bit pricey, but we went there already expecting that. Also, the prices for a Michelin starred restaurant were actually quite reasonable compared to London, so we have no complaints.

Our room was gorgeous, with floor to ceiling windows, lots of light, and view of Mt Vesuvius. Our room also had a large white bath tub and the most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping on.

Overall, we loved the Romeo Hotel. Service was excellent, with friendly staff who provided lots of tips on things to do in the area. We even had someone at the front desk draw out a map for us showing us how to get to Gambrinus Cafe, which is walking distance from the hotel and was recommended to us by our friends.

My only complaint is that I wish there was more counter top space in the bathroom to put my toiletries. However, the bathroom is absolutely gorgeous. It also took a minute for me to figure out how to keep the lights from automatically turn on/off.

Final verdict: Highly recommend the Romeo Hotel. Also recommend having dinner at the hotel's rooftop restaurant, Il Comandante. Even if you do not eat there, it is worth going up and taking a look at the view. Also recommend the hotel's "Skybar", which also features breathtaking views.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, which was very sunny and bright. It is best to get a room on an upper floor, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great looking lobby area gave good impression and unlike other reviewers, we got good service throughout the hotel. Design of rooms looks good but is not particularly functional - didnt like that you had to walk through the toilet to get into the shower. It also leaked all over the toilet floor. The light also went off in the shower because i didn't activate the motion sensor for a few minutes and it seemed like the motion sensor was in the toilet! Bed looked more comfortable than it was - good linen but synthetic pillows - fine for some but not my preference.

Bar was strange on 8th floor - no where comfortable to lounge which was a shame. We didnt dine in the restaurant but the menu looked good (if not expensive).

Location is terrible in the port but the is a great promenade about 5 minutes by cab from the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have to say I am loathed to write a review of this hotel because judging by the comments of management to previous reviews, the management is FAILING to listen to comments from guests - all they do is try to justify or explain away the comments made rather than attempt to deal with them.

The two positives are: (1) the design of the hotel, the room and corporate spaces and (2) the breakfast - while breakfast is not included in the room rate, we did take breakfast on the first morning in the restaurant at the top of the building, which has great views over to the harbour, and the food was of a good quality and well presented.

The big negatives about this hotel - and customers mention it time and time again - is the staff and the service. The staff are, at best, disinterested and, at worst, rude.

On our first morning we had asked the hotel reception staff to organise a taxi for us to take us to Hercualeum where we were meeting a private guide (Lucia Pompeii Guides - can recommend). First, we had to wait ages to get served at the reception desk because there were simply not enough staff available in the morning 'rush' hour as guests were leaving after breakfast. Second, despite the reception staff saying they had ordered a taxi for us and ushering us outside to wait for it, the taxi never came. We went back into the hotel and asked again and the one reception staff on duty at that time rudely, and in a dismissive manner, said: 'Its outside' and ushered us outside again, except it was not. Eventually another member of staff came onto the reception (possibly a supervisor?) and sorted out a taxi for us but we were then over half an hour late to meet our guide. This is just one example to demonstrate the poor service received from the reception staff.

When we got back from our evening out dining on the first evening, our room had been served, but, unfortunately, no bath towels had been replaced. We did not notice until the next morning when we came to take a shower and found we had no bath towels. This is just one example to demonstrate the lack of attention to detail from the staff which is not commensurate with a 5-star hotel.

The staff were so unhelpful and disinterested that we left early on the second morning, without taking breakfast, and took breakfast at our next hotel in Capri (La Minerva - can recommend).

If you are wishing to stay in Naples as a base to see Herculaneum and Pompeii, I would suggest you stay in Sorrento. I would not stay in this hotel again unless the management sort out the staffing and service issues, which, as I stated earlier, reading the dismissive management comments in response to negative reviews, this seems highly unlikely to be happening in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Mrs. Debra S,

We are very displeased that your stay at our hotel was not satisfying.

We have analyzed your complaints and regarding the taxi, unfortunately the inefficiency was caused by the public company that offers this service. Anyway we had already examined with our staff some service aspects in order to avoid that this kind of disservice won’t be repeated again.

In reference to the towels replacement, we follow an international policy which is very attentive in supporting environmental efforts and well-known. This means that if the guest fold or hang back the used towel we do not change as we suppose that the guest would like to reuse it.

We also read your comments on our guest replies and we are thankful for your suggestions. We have taken good note and we will consider in the very near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

CONS-
Skeleton staff
Weird lobby décor, like a garage sale. Less is more in this case. Is someone hoarding?
Ridiculously expensive bar food.
Apathetic staff
Strange, musty smell in lobby
Overlooks shipping yard of sorts, streets dirty and feel unsafe. Couldn't someone at least sweep the short block???
Bathroom lights and shower not user friendly
Breakfast not included

PROS-
nice bedding and mattress, clean room


We would NEVER stay there again. it was just an overnight on arrival from USA to Ravello.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank boobot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Mrs Braxton23,
we are very displeased that you were not satisfied with your stay here at the Romeo hotel, even if we did not understand exactly which are the reasons of your dissatisfaction.
Why did you not ask for the Management? We are here at the complete disposal of our clients in order to sort any problems out and to satisfy their needs – we would have done the same for you!
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for one night and found the hotel to be a pleasant and functional, modern styled business hotel. It is right by the port and has been modelled in a very modern style. We had dinner in the restaurant the night before, the food was good but expensive (has a michelin star?). Although for the price, close to E200 per heard, i would probably prefer to eat some of Naples' world famous pizza instead. Breakfast was fine. The rooms are modern and work well. Overall, it was not a bad stay, although, I would not rush back if i had to stay in Naples again I would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salukionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear salukionholiday,
I noted that you appreciated our property: its style, its concept and design. Thank you!
I hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was one of the worst hotel experiences of my life. Definitely the worst 5 star experience ever. The decor is modern, but definitely not my taste, which I can forgive, but it is also non-functional at times such as the shower door that leaked during a shower so the toilet floor was covered in water. There was no porter to greet us when we arrived and we had to carry our own bags to reception (they need a second porter if the first one was busy with other guests). The view from the room was terrible. We overlooked an abandoned brick building, a car park and exactly 50 shipping containers that obscured our view of the sea and mountains. The sushi restaurant was closed the day we arrived. The pool was closed the next day. The wifi signal was weak and disconnected every 10 minutes or so. The food was ridiculously over priced and horrible. We ordered a hamburger for €20 one night and it was not cooked properly: there were pieces of raw beef throughout. We called room service to complain, but they denied any wrong doing saying if we didnt want it rare we should have asked. We insisted it was raw not rare and sent it back. The breakfast wasn't any better. We ordered eggs with bacon and mushrooms, which should have come to €13.50, but the bill arrived for over €50. They tried to tell us we had ordered the American breakfast as they had brought 4 bread rolls with it. Only when I showed her the page from the room service menu with eggs alone did she retreat upstairs to consult her manager. She returned 15 minutes later to say we should have explicitly stated we were ordering a la carte. Then the bill had a €5 per person surcharge even though the menu said it would be 15%. Hungry and defeated, we finally gave in and ate our tepid, mediocre and overcooked eggs.

On the positive side the staff were friendly and all facilities were modern.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
10  Thank nckbrdfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear nckbrdfld,
Sorry but I am disappointed about your words, because you did not tell the true!

When you arrived here at the hotel with your friends (a party of 6 people), you had at your complete disposal 2 porters that helped with your several luggages, and not anyone.

Regarding the hamburger you ordered, when you called the room service the waiter asked you “rare, medium or well-done steak?”, you answered “Medium!”. Maybe it was a little bit rare according your taste…so we offered to you the possibility to have another one, but you refused.

As far as the breakfast is concerned, you booked a room only rate so you had the possibility to order either “regular buffet breakfast “or “breakfast à la carte” from our breakfast menu in room. You decided to order eggs, bacon, mushrooms but also juices, yoghurts, pastries and much more from our buffet; in other words you pretended our Buffet Breakfast, which costs €25 per person. Only when you checked the bill, you stressed to the waiter that (according to you) the order was no correct and nevertheless your check was immediately amended.

As you can note, we had at your service during your stay – like every 5 star hotels in the world!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,538 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Parker's
#25 of 185 in Naples
1,134 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo Hotel

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 45, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Naples
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#16 Business Hotel in Naples
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $290 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Romeo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the famous Japanese architect Kenzo Tange & Associates from Tokyo, Romeo hotel is the perfect balance of modern design, contemporary art and antiques expressed in the highest quality “Made in Italy”. 83 luxury accommodations, an amazing rooftop pool and a 10,000 sq ft luxury SPA, for a memorable experience of luxury and bliss. Romeo hotel’s gastronomic offer includes a refined Sushi Bar & Restaurant in the lobby area and the Michelin Star awarded gourmet restaurant Il Comandante on the 10th floor. An authentic luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Romeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing