We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Romeo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$188
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$194
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$168
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$181
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$303
$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,216)
Filter reviews
1,216 results
Traveler rating
668
304
132
59
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
304
132
59
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolsushi restaurantmichelin star restaurantwellness suitemodern hotellight switchessmall poolfloor to ceiling windowstop flooramalfi coastpoor locationmount vesuviusport areacorner roomamazing hotelbusy roadvisit naples
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 1,216 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Modern and Luxury Design Hotel right in front of the Beverello Pier from where you can take a boat to Amalfi, Capri Ischia or whereever else you would like to go in the Gulf of Napoli. Just few minutes walk away from main Sightseeing like Castel dell'Ovo, Maschio Angioino and Piazza Plebiscito. Wonderful Pool and Spa on the rooftop. Excellent breakfast. Only 25 minutes away from Naples airport (30 EUR fare if the driver is honest). Friendly Staff. Do not miss a pizza in the Via dei Tribunali only 15 minutes walk away of the hotel.

Room Tip: The Sea view rooms offer a view on the port of Naples, the back rooms are not offering the same view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveladdictLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear traveladdictLugano,
just one word: THANK YOU!

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice design luxury hotel but located in the wrong place! There is not such a thing with "room with bay view". even if you pay higher rate - which we did. It is simply a trap. The room we had after paying an extra faces a wall of an abandoned building on the port where big ships park from repair...no view!!!When queried about the right room with a bay view the only alternative the hotel management proposed is to move us to Suite on a higher floor provided we pay much extra or they offered that we leave the hotel and book something else in Naples (and they will give us refund via e-bookers)... Hard to believe and expect this from a hotel qualified as 5 stars L Hotel. We had to accept the situation.. challenging to find alternatives when you are there only for few days on a WE. Free entry to the Spa was the only consolation!! but who cares...not sure you go to Naples to stay in an underground Spa.. The room was very noisy facing the elevator however we have been told that there is no alternative. This was pretty harsh from a staff in a 5 star hotel!
The other bad experience was on departure day were we supposed to get a breakfast box because our check out is before 7 am.. and the hotel does not offer room service (is this real for a 5 star hotel? not sure what were the criteria for the 5 stars?). But surprise at time of check out it was impossible to get a breakfast box... very disappointing when you know that you made your reservation with breakfast included (breakfast per person is 25 Euros).... so in short: NEVER AGAIN.. I am a very frequent traveler and will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MMG1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Mr MMG1_13,
we are unhappy to read this bad review – what’s more published here twice!!! And please let me explain how facts happened.
Regarding the room, we tried to sort the problem out immediately. As we were fully booked and you did not like the room type reserved, we offered the refund of the total amount of your stay and even we proposed to look for another hotel for you nearby. But your answers was “NO, thank you!”.
As far as the breakfast box is concerned, we are used to offer this service to all our guests, but it is necessary that guests book it at least the evening before – in this way they let our staff organise the service. You required the boxes at the check-out (5 am), and as you can imagine it was impossible to provide them since our kitchen opens at 6 am.
We are very flexible and we work everyday in order to satisfy our guests needs, and we did the same with you and your partner.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were there during the w-e of May 17th. We've booked a double room and to have a more beautiful view, we paid extra for the "Bayview".... we thought...!?!! The only thing we saw from our room was a big building with red bricks!! And behind that building was a huge ship, which fumed black smoke, day and night...Nice...!!?? When we said that we paid more for the bayview, their answer was that this was a room with bayview!!! Or, that we can have a suite with bayview for which we had to pay extra...!! Excuse me...!!?? As a gesture, they offered us a free entry into their spa, which we didn't really care about. We didn't go to Naples to spend time in a wellness...
The second thing was we had breakfast included and on our last day our plane left early in the morning and asked if we could have breakfast in our room. The answer to that was, that they don't have roomservice for that!! What..?!! in a five star L hotel!! So they offered us to take a breakfast basket, which we accepted. And ofcourse...in the morning...they didn't have a breakfast basket..!! The guy at the reception said that he didn't have any note about a breakfast basket! :-(
I asked if he could pay us back the 50 euros, we paid for breakfast and ofcourse the answer was NO..no way! The hotel is really beautiful inside but on the wrong place and not very customer friendly!
Would really never go back...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lovefood a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Lovefood a,
we are unhappy to read this bad review – what’s more published here twice!!! And please let me explain how facts happened.
Regarding the room, we tried to sort the problem out immediately. As we were fully booked and you did not like the room type reserved, we offered the refund of the total amount of your stay and even we proposed to look for another hotel for you nearby. But your answers was “NO, thank you!”.
As far as the breakfast box is concerned, we are used to offer this service to all our guests, but it is necessary that guests book it at least the evening before – in this way they let our staff organise the service. You required the boxes at the check-out (5 am), and as you can imagine it was impossible to provide them since our kitchen opens at 6 am.
We are very flexible and we work everyday in order to satisfy our guests needs, and we did the same with you and your partner.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

First, funny area for a *****L. Second, had to look for someone to help with the car and the luggage. Third, the view from the room is Terrible. We have terrace but can t access it as the hotel uses it to store tables and chairs!!!??? Reason why they put a thick curtain there. Finally, the staff enters the bathroom with her shoes to show us the bathroom amenities. Want to go to the spa? Well, 20 EUR per person to enter unless you buy a 120 eur massage for 50 mins. This can t be serious!

Stayed: May 2013
4  Thank Tatchuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Tatchuae,
I am very unhappy about your review for different reasons.
First of all, the location. Romeo hotel is located in the centre of Naples, and just in front of the main harbour – the ideal location for people who would like to visit the Islands or the Coasts. So…not a funny area! We are very close to the airport and to the train station too.
As far as the car and the luggage matter is concerned, the day (and especially in the moment) you arrived our doorman was busy with a group of guests (and their luggages) which arrived just 5 minutes before.
Moreover, the room you booked, and all other rooms here, do not have any terraces. I think there was a misunderstanding: the place you considered a terrace is a private area dedicated to the staff! Maybe you did not pay attention to the tab “STAFF ONLY”.
Regarding the SPA, as per our policy, we include SPA entrance in room rates if a guest book a suite. On the other hand, we prefer to do not include it in Deluxe room rates in order to keep low prices for these room types.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Romeo for three nights in May 2013. Even though our short stay did not allow us to experience all of the hotel's facilities (pool, spa, two restaurants), I can definitely say the hotel met our high expectations. Its overall design is impeccable and effortless. Attention to detail is evident from the lobby to the room and every area in general. Lots of gadgets surprised us in the room, such as motion-activated lights below the night stands etc. Details aside, our room was beautiful, with wall to wall windows with Vesuvius view, a very comfortable bed, sleek furniture and a great bathroom divided in two areas (sink/toilet and shower). Lots of mirror surfaces made the space look brighter.
Location was another plus, as it's conveniently located near the ferries dock as well as the charming Chiaia district.
In general, I could not find any fault in our experience and would highly recommend Romeo Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FannyV_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews