We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy Naples Hotel Oppoisite the Port”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Romeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Romeo Hotel
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Trendy Naples Hotel Oppoisite the Port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Lovely Design Hotel with high attention to detail. Rooms were quirky and cool, and we had a view over the Port. The location is great if you want to get a boat the Amalfi Coast or nearby Islands and only a short walk to the nice parts of the City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear CatR22,
thank you for your review and for your positive comments.
It’s pleasure for us that you have appreciated the proximity of Romeo hotel to the historical and city centre, and to the harbour. On your next visit we will be happy to arrange for you a special day trip to Positano, Capri, Amalfi, Ischia,….!!!
We hope to see you here again!
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    218
    105
    42
    34
See reviews for
111
498
26
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I checked into the Romeo Hotel in Naples on October 5 2012. First of all the hotel is in a delapidated section of Naples near the port. There is not a sense of safety or class in the area surrounding the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and very modern however. Our first night was complicated with the fact that there was some concert going on at the Port across the street. There was booming music until 1230 AM which did not allow us to sleep. The next morning we were faced with no hot water. There was a boiler problem apparently but only certain floors affected. We had a cold shower that AM and was assured by the hotel desk maanger that the situation would be corrected by the evening. We were out for most of the day and evening. We returned late to find out that the room still had no hot water. I should add that this was one of their junior suites at a cost of 550 Canadian per night. The desk clerk at the time was rude and unhelpful until pushed to find a solution for us given that we could not shower. He managed to find us a room on another floor to shower in. We went to see the room and found a cockroach in the shower floor, another insect on the toilet seat cover. The floor paneling was lifted and broken due to water leakage and the ceiling in the shower showed water damage. The hotel sent someone to collect the insects but we decided that the room did not seem clean and we stayed in our original cold water room freaked out by the bugs.

We complained and were offered a free nights accomodation (we were going to stay 3 nights but left after 2) and were refunded the money we had already paid for the 3rd night through Expedia. The hotel also refunded a meal and some incidentals totalling about 270 euros. However we were offered no compensation for the day of no hot water and cockroaches.

There were some good points to the hotel wrt staff. We needed some legal help and the hotel was very accomodating in helping set this up.

However this far from a five star hotel and should be graded around a 3 star. We have stayed at numerous Relais and Chateauxès as well as other members Of Leading Hotels of the World. If given a choice I would pick another hotel in Naples to stay out. Location is poor, hotel is in disrepair wrt the rooms, insects, and poor follow through and repair of a major issue. It is very expensive for what you get. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor. Cockroaches, older disrepaired rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear DavidS,
thank you for your review.
I am so sorry about the inconveniences you described. The problem of the hot water happened suddenly, but we sorted it out promptly. Anyway, we decided to refund you the two additional nights and your extras at our restaurants.
We did not decide to refund also the first night you spent here because our colleague, who arrived in your room to collect the insects, did not find anything (no insects, no cockroaches).
I believe that you used these words because you did not get all the amount back and I am very disappointed about this.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Romeo hotel is a fabulously well designed and well appointed hotel. Unfortunately a few items let it down,firstly it is in a scruffy part of town overlooking the docks, but ideally placed to pick up a cruise ship.
Breakfast was a bit of a letdown for this standard of hotel, and we were put off having dinner by the cost of a very basic lunch.( £60 for a bowl of lamb and potatoes and grilled chicken salad and two glasses of wine)
For the most part the staff were helpful, but our room was without hot water for two nights.
If you are thinking Naples for a holiday go further round the bay to Sorrento which is truly stunning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with work colleagues, and all agreed that the hotel is clean and comfortable, but there are far too many gadgets in the rooms. Switching lights on and off was a major chore, working out where the lights may appear,but more importantly - how to switch them off when trying to sleep!.
Using the telephone, opening wardrobes, plugging in laptops should all be simple - but are somehow made difficult. Even returning to the room proved to be a problem in the very dark corridors (black marble everywhere), until you discover te room numbers are on the floor, not the door!.

Dinner was excellent, though quite expensive, but the price of drinks is far too high.

Staff, particularly in reception, were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Excellent view over the harbour area, which improves higher up the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear nappyrabbit,
thank you for your positive review about our hotel!
Your kind comments about our staff and the services we offer repay us for the work we do everyday.
We hope to see you here again!
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I am reluctant when a hotel adverts a 'highly modern' atmosphere which means to me: too many buttons to open the curtains and control the lights. but I was pleasantly surprised that this was not the case for this modern tower. trendy...yes! but very efficient and cozy. the front desk was always helpful when issues of the connection to wifi (me bad) or wanting ice delivered (gratis) but it was too convenient to the ferries to capri which we took. the port neighborhood seems to in the middle of some renovations for there was some construction afoot. I had room 306 which faces the main boulevard and next to the elevator which caused me some pause but the there was not noise to concern myself with. add the most comfortable bed I have slept in a hotel in awhile. my only demerit I can note is the shower which, if not careful, can wet the entire the bathroom since there is no delineation between the area (hence the modern theme). included was the usual b-fast buffet which was decent and the wifi was strong enough for me to VPN to my home office as well and the U.S. overall, it was modern, cozy and quite convenient to the old district, shopping, and ferries. double claps for this place!!

Room Tip: hard to say since I had the one next to the elevator which was not problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nappyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The reception staff were very friendly and informative. The room was sleek and had lots of gadgets for the curtains, light sensors and so on. However the drinks and food are overpriced and we were shocked at the poor service of the staff in the bar/sushi restaurant and at breakfast. We decided to have a drink at the bar and some nibbles. We ordered cocktails, however the barman had gone missing! The waitress didn't know what to do so offered us a complimentary prosecco instead. In the meantime our tempura was left on the counter while she was trying to locate the barman and since we were the only people there my husband got up and took the plate himself! The waitress was very apologetic and once the barman showed up we got the ordered drinks and a complimentary tempura.
The next morning however we were completey ignored at breakfast despite standing next to a table and asking a member of staff to set it for us. We then cleared the table ourselves and it wasn't until my husband was spreading butter with a spoon were we asked if we would like some cutlery.
If this hotel wants to be one of the better ones in Naples it simply has to do better than this considering the prices they are charging for accommodation and all the extras. I don't think that we would stay here again.
On the plus side we did have good reports of the food from another couple who were also staying here but overall there isn't enough to bring us back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TashR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I can't resist returning to the Romeo on my frequent visits to Naples and Italy. Because of this hotel and it's attentive staff, great rooms and beautiful views of Mount Vesuvio I have made naples my home base for all of my travels through the Italian peninsula. I am a pretty casual traveler but enjoy the elegance of the Romeo from the moment you arrive, throughout your stay and on your departure the fabulous staff of the Romeo make you feel like you have returned home from a long journey.
The hotel is immaculate, the linens beautiful and the bathroom exceptional with a big "American" shower. Many of the rooms have excellent views of Mt Vesuvio and the active harbor which is vibrant with color, boats and ships coming in and out of the harbor. The same view from the small but fantastic pool on the rooftop.
The restaurant is very chic and very fine dining, for those with simpler taste the Castel Nuovo restaurant is just around the corner, it serves excellent local food, pasta, seafood and pizzas. They serve a very nice breakfast in the morning, really more than enough food for a morning meal that will suit everyones taste.
Don't you deserve to splurge a little and stay a few nights at the Romeo, the finest hotel in Napoli?

Room Tip: I prefer the higher floors with harbor views, the may cost slightly mor but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiancarloBuonarroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear GiancarloBoromeo,
thank you very much for your review.
Your words repay us for the work we do everyday to make unforgettable our clients stay at Romeo hotel.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo Hotel

Property: Romeo Hotel
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 45, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Naples
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#16 Business Hotel in Naples
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#37 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Romeo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the famous Japanese architect Kenzo Tange & Associates from Tokyo, Romeo hotel is the perfect balance of modern design, contemporary art and antiques expressed in the highest quality “Made in Italy”. 83 luxury accommodations, an amazing rooftop pool and a 10,000 sq ft luxury SPA, for a memorable experience of luxury and bliss. Romeo hotel’s gastronomic offer includes a refined Sushi Bar & Restaurant in the lobby area and the Michelin Star awarded gourmet restaurant Il Comandante on the 10th floor. An authentic luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Romeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing