We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian food...”
Review of Hosteria Toledo

Hosteria Toledo
Ranked #733 of 2,897 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $20 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Ferdinando
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food...”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by the staff of Hostel in The Sun.
And it was great!

Their presentation of food was delightful!.. and it tastes better still!
Try their seafood spaghetti, ( Naples is a port anyway!) fresh and light with full flavour.Spaghetti Vongole is also delicious! Light and fragrant. They also have an excellent collection of wines for you to choose.

What makes its even more welcoming is their homely feel and they do not hesitate to share their extra dishes like cakes and Italian starters... without charge! Its a family run business and they are proud of their standards.

Prices for 2 people with wine ( by the glass ) with a primi and vegetables are between 35 to 55 euros ( no coffee or tea).

A small but homely atmosphere with rich dark oak panels, it can be romantic too! They also allow a musician to come in and serenade while you dine! ( tipping is optional, but he does sound like Dean Martin singing " thats amore" ) Easy to find.. they are located at a corner and almost everyone in the neighbourhood knows them.

Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SQcrew77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    269
    153
    104
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy with great hospitality”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A lovely little restaurant which was very personable. It had quite a casual, warm feel about it amd was busy on a Tuesday night. Our waitress took complete care of us and recommended some great seafood pasta dishes. The price was typical for this type of venue in the city we had 1 starter which we shared, 2 main choices, 1 pudding and a bottle of wine which cost us around 65 euros in October 2012. Lovely would definitely recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cathyo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Underwhelming food did not make up for poor service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were underwhelmed by the food at Hosteria Toledo. For example, we were served a roasted sword fish steak so unevenly cut that it was overcooked and undercooked at the same time. And the quality of service did not help: For example our courses were served randomly ( and brusquely) one person at the time, with long intervals in between even though the second floor where we were seated was more than half empty. I am often prepared to overlook the service if the food is good . It was not .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flix_the_Hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If you only have one meal out in Naples you could do far worse than this place”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My favourite meal in Naples was at this place. Proper Italian Trattoria style restaurant with an intimate and friendly atmosphere. Agreat menu and good selection of wine including the delicious "Lachryma Christi" grown on the slopes of Vesuvius.
Plenty of Vegetarian options for my partner and Fish meals for me; I went for the grilled fish which was great. The pear cheescake desert was one of the best I've ever had.
Was quite busy on a Sunday night out of season so It may be worth booking at busier times.
Highly Recomended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The best meal I've had”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Last year my husband and I went on our honeymoon to Italy. When we went to Naples we ask our hotel to recommend a good restaurant and they sent us here. It was the best food we have ever eaten!! We were so pleased that for our one year anniversary we are going to see if they can ship us what we had that night!! I can wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlmendez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosteria Toledo also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Hosteria Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing