We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of rotavirus infection”
Review of Jap-One

Jap-One
Ranked #272 of 3,596 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 18, 2018

My counterpart acquired severe rotavirus infection after dining at Via Calabritto site this Thursday Nov 15th . Check your staff cooking sushi

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
Thank YuriDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 532 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

Might sound bizarre dinning at a Japanese restauran in Napoli. We where amazed by the quality of the food. Especially all the raw fish plates. The restaurant is small and tables limited. No view but I repeat fantastic food. Waze gets you there easily and maybe even necessary to get you there by taxi. No pun intended.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Adventurer727777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

We paid a fortune for a simple sushi and soup. We have been parked in a separate room for half an hour before to be served. The food was good, but the price so high that I did not enjoy it enough.,,

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank filr2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

Hype. Nothing but hype. Ambiance is nice, music good, service garbage and food just ok. Save yourself the trip and over rated food / over priced food and go to Honzen. Way better for and significantly better service.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tschniddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016

we met a fancy napolitano in the train from firenze to rome, and when we told him we planned to go to Bari, he asked "what for?", so i said "pesce cruto" (raw fish) and then he said, yes, ok, but for raw fish I only go to jap-one, which is "FFFANTASTICCO". it's been a week since that and now we arrived in napoli, so, to give a break to the endless stream of great italian meals we've been having, and without knowing anything else about jap-one, we headed there tonight.

the excessive personal and overall extravagance of the place (including a few i-pad menus) –which has three different locations on a winding alley in chiaia, a fancy fashionista neighborhood– made us think of a previous, similarly bad, experience in a pseudo-fancy japanese restaurant in chile: in fact, good japanese dining often goes hand in hand with decor and attitude that matches the simplicity and honorable approach to ingredients ruling over the edible preparations!

but we had made a reservation and thus were directed to an empty dining room across the street, where we sat and checked through the menu. the prices were quite high (a carpaccio with a few thin slices of 4 kinds of fish was 40 Euro, and it had olive oil!) most of the rolls featured "japanese mayo" and various other sauces, and oh, of course, "philadelphia cheese", so we chose to stay with sashimi; since the place was obviously not following any rules of austerity, we decided to go simple and test the quality of the raw ingredients.

after placing our order, the music (some kind of awful international pop song that went up to a bothering level) made us ask the waiters (a boy and a girl with "good looks") if we could go across the street and seat at the bar, in front of the chef. they agreed, and we sat right in front of the fish counter, with the chef at work right behind it, where we immediately started seeing stuff that wasn't right.

a sous-chef next to the main chef (who seemed to have been the owner and mastermind of this jewel) was making rolls with way too many ingredients and leaving them ready, glup, "for later". some of these rolls were filled with the ends of the fish fillets that the chef cut off and tossed to the side while cutting paper thin slices for the 40 euro carpaccios. a cook came with a bucket full of battered fried fish that just sat there, getting cold, waiting for eventual orders. it certainly seemed the place was going to get full, and nobody cared about having the food prepared in advance, which is simply unacceptable in a sushi restaurant (specially not a cheap one).

the chef handling of the fish was directly disrespectful, he just handled it as if it was what it was: dead fish. he had a pile of salmon right in front of us and seemed to be choosing the freshest one, turning them around and then tossing the unused chunks back onto the pile.
several fish in the fridge looked discolored, dry and plain old, and it was. judging for the blandness and watery (un)flavour of some of these fish cuts we suspect they had been refrigerated for a long time, if not directly frozen.

the salmon and tuna were bland, with a slight bitter aftertaste, the other fish were plain and tasteless. the only good stuff on the plate was a tiny amount of minced fresh sweet prawns (directly for the local fish market, i assume), which made a stark difference agains the other stuff.

our sashimi special (40 euro) came on top of a large bamboo leaf that the chef cleaned with the same wet cloth he used before to wipe his hands and work-counter, sitting among mountains of tasteless shreds of cucumber and carrot (a largely used resource at not-so-good japanese restaurants). the wasabi was like mustardy saw-dust, the soy sauce was bad, there was no pickled ginger (which is supposed to be eaten between pieces of different fish to clean the flavour off the mouth) and an extra bowl of rice was overcooked and mushy. we had a goma wakame seaweed salad that was ok, (but c'mon, that hardly needs any preparation!) and a plate of mixed tempura that, again, contained too little and too flat to justify the 20 euro pricetag: three mid-size prawns, two pieces of zucchini, two cuts of yellow pepper and two pieces of carrot.

too many untrained waiters (the waiter who brought the sashimi plate named each fish pointing at it with her pinky finger so close that we thought she'd touch it!) to justify the impossed 10% for service.

the chef, even though we were seating right in front of him, didn't look at us a single time, not to greet us nor to check if we were happy with his fare (we felt he knew that we were looking at his every move, and dissaproving). the chef was japanese (or at least, running a sushi place, he must know what he's dealing with, even if he's paulista from libertad) SO HE MUST KNOW how much of an insult to japanese cooking tradition he's serving to his clientele. sumimasen chef, but, you are shameless!

oh, and last, but not least, the public seemed to belong to a club of unaware sushi neofites showing off their cuffs & bags, rejoicing on the fact that they can afford to throw their money away for some pretentious-mediocre food while listening to justin bieber. TO BE AVOIDED AT ALL COSTS.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank mujerymarido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jap-One also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Jap-One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing