We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing Food & Decor”

Trattoria Avellinese
Ranked #1,921 of 2,898 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mercato
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Depressing Food & Decor”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Terrible food, terrible decor. You will be depressed and wondering how you ended up in this place. It was recommended by the Mercure. It was late at night and it was the closest. Most horrible experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank allamanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    89
    33
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not Great.”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I chose ravioli from the menu - it was not available. Had a very average spaghetti. Not a great place but reasonably priced for what it is.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rogclarke36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wine €4 a bottle, lovely sardines- good simple food”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Lovely small restaurant with no airs and graces but very good food, simply presented with excellent cheap local wine. WE loved the sardines- many starters will do 2 people. Seemed much quitter that the busy restaurants on the square but well worth getting away from the crowds and despite little english we kept going back and were rarely disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tchumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

I came to this restaurant with some friends. The location of the restaurant is very good. However, the restaurant is a complete disaster. We had to wait for 45 minutes after ordering and the restaurant was nearly empty. The waiter was tryning to trick us proposing us bottles of water instead of free water.
The food was awful and I was still hungry after...
Do not come in this restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kiko92100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Poor - don't bother.”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The atmosphere here was cold along with the food. The food and wine was very cheap, but my lasagne lacked quality, taste and heat! Ordered a side dish to go with it, and this was the smallest portion of fries i've ever seen eventually arrived, 5 minutes after I had finished my main course. All in all, this place felt more like a functional cafe, rather than a restaurant.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Avellinese also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Trattoria Avellinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing