We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good pasticceria”

Pasticceria Giovanni Scaturchio
Ranked #5 of 90 Bakeries in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Very good pasticceria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very good but not to die for.
We stopped for some sfogliatelle, which were tasty (but not THAT delicious) and went inside to buy them to eat on the go. Service was patchy even at the counter, and we witnessed a local lady having a real go at them for delivering such poor service.
Everybody says this is THE place to go to for sweets in the centre of Napoli. The location is certainly amazing (and 2 steps away from our hotel, Decumani Hotel de Charme, see review) but I'm not sure I would necessarily go back. Maybe I just don't have a sweet-enough tooth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    487
    141
    68
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top quality, and prices to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a little cafe with outdoor seating in a nice square in the old part of Naples. The almond granita and sfogliatlla santa rosa were fantastic, but quite expensive at 4 euros each one. An overall nice place, fantastic food/drink great location and good service, just expect to pay well for the priviledge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bgrima16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oh the sfogliatelle...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Mamma mia! How could something as simple as pastry and sweet cheese taste so damn good?! My friend and I were lugging our suitcases across town to the port and decided to take a snack break at this beautiful little pasticceria where we were served efficiently and politely. We both opted for the sfogliatelle, on recommendation by our Napolitano friend. The hot pastry was flaky and crisp, the sweet ricotta filling creamy and rich. It pretty much made for a cheesy touristy moment where we both just closed our eyes, smiled and sighed 'mmmm' in unison as we savoured these delights in the middle of a small cobblestoned town square in the heart of Napoli.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Coffee and cake with terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Came here for breakfast (coffees and cakes) August 2013. The waiter took our order and brought only the drinks, not the cake. After trying to catch his eye for about 15 minutes and asking about the cake, he pretended to acknowledge our existence and then proceeded to bring food and drink to others who arrived well after us. The only difference between me and the other customers was the fact that I am Chinese. I ended up going inside to get my own cake and I complained to the owner who said that the waiter did not speak English. However, that was not an excuse to repeatedly ignore us and we also asked for things in Italian and pointed to the menu and the waiter nodded and repeated the name of the cake to confirm the order twice - but then,without reason, did not bring it to our table. The cake was nice but the whole experience was spoiled by the attitude of the staff here. The waiter was shockingly rude and offered no apology at all when it was very clear that we were unhappy. The drinks are expensive which one would expect in a central location but if you are not white or Italian, then don't come here because you will not be served with the same respect or attention. Sadly, this cafe does not seem to recognise like most other European countries that this world is made up many different nationalities and that perhaps, non Italian people might have money to spend too. There are much better cafes than this one who don't treat certain people like an inconvenience and who don't have attitudes from the Dark Ages.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
153 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Chocolate Nirvana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We clearly went overboard, finishing our filling lunch at Sorbillo (see separate review) with a quick stop at another "must" in the old part of Naples. Passing by the gelato (not an easy thing to do) and the other pastries, we spied the specific object of our desire - a dwindling tray of unnamed, untagged divine morsels known as ministeriale - dark chocolate discs filled with a lighter chocolate mousse and laced with liqueur. They are small but oh so rich that the few bits it takes to savour or devour one walking around lively Piazza San Domenico Maggiore was quite enough to bring the broadest of smiles to our faces.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasticceria Giovanni Scaturchio also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Pasticceria Giovanni Scaturchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing