We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good for the view ”

Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant
Ranked #207 of 3,642 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Ferdinando
Description: Caruso Roof Garden, top Restaurant of the Grand Hotel Vesuvio, is an elegant setting for fine Italian cuisine, with al fresco dining on an adjoining summer terrace overlooking the Gulf of Naples. Reservations are mandatory and can be accepted only with a maximum advise of 14 days.
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

The restaurant opens at 20:30. It was a bit late but maybe that’s Italy. Service is okay. The waiter forgot to bring us plates when we wanted to share dish. At the end, we needed to use the plate for bread. The food is not exceptional. The price is okay. It costed 93 Euro for 3 courses and one drink. The view is wonderful as the restaurant is at the 9/F so it overlooked the castle.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Rachel-from-PLUTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 431 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

My first introduction to the prices here was at the bar. The smallest Coca Cola imaginable (100 cl) , to be drank by my 10 year old son, cost $9 euros. Wow.

Nonetheless for our last dinner in a two week Italy trip we decided to dine at our hotel in a restaurant that Michelin had written up.

To be sure the food prices were higher than anything we had seen in two weeks in Italy. That’s fine, I thought, for a finale dinner which was sure to be great.

Only it wasn’t. My bucatini, with fried zucchini, peppers, onions and tomatoes, was delicious indeed. And my wife’s catch of the day was nicely with garden-tasting grilled veggies.

But.

I was skeptical of an appetizer dubbed spinach quiche with onion sauce. Surely it must be something special. Nope. Just a lukewarm slab of egg and stuff that you’d find in a dozen breakfast or brunch buffets.

The sparkling wine aperitif was a nice touch but there was no amuse bouche. Surprising since we had gotten used to this at virtually every restaurant that charges much less. Just a basket of bread that no one explained to us so we would have to find out on our own which were vegetarian and which weren’t.

The desserts were entirely unremarkable and so were the kids penne with tomato sauce. Fine but not more.

The service was friendly but it seemed only skin deep, not the type of warmth to which we had gotten used.

I hate to sound so negative because as mentioned above some dishes were very good. But at these prices, with the abundant competition, you should deliver something special. And this place didn’t.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Thirdcircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

We walked to Caruso after the opera and had a very good meal. Quality traditional 5 star hotel service. Good views over the small marina and castle.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

The view is the only thing this place has going for it. Drink prices are exorbitant and service is the worst we’ve experienced so far. 2 drinks cost us nearly 50 euro!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank GiaTruPyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019

This restaurant sits on the roof of the Excelsior hotel and open for lunch and snack , in terrace area , there is an nice indoor area for dinner. ( chilly and windy for the night in May ) . The view is spectacular , 270 Naple. The service is superb , the menu is simple and elegant . The wine list is adequate .Violet prawns carpaccio , fresh and sweet , Agnolotti with lobster sauce too die for , finish with the the turbot ,and Lemon cake Sorrento style ,

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 69tiger888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing