We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Napolitan treat”

Osteria La Chitarra
Reserve with
Osteria La Chitarra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #182 of 2,914 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Pendino
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Napolitan treat”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was a perfect place, near our hotel, to eat typical Napolitan food. They didn't speak English which made the experience even better! Good wine and food. Recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkhmNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    81
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable, ate here twice during our trip”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant was one of the closest to where we were staying but due to its location on a side street down some stairs it took a little finding on our first visit.

When we first arrived there was only one table occupied, by a large group of French tourists, but soon after we turned up, another couple (also toursits) and then another table of locals arrived. The resatuarant is small and charming so with four groups it felt nearly full.

It seems to be family run, and the staff don't speak English, but the menu was easy to follow and to order from. We so enjoyed our first visit and trying the typical dishes of Napoli that we returned on our last evening in Naples as well. The sorts of dishes we had were - polpetto (meatballs), pork prepared in various ways, cod, risotto in the Sorrento style, fagioli soup, linguine and local-style fried green vegetables, which sounds simple but tasted devine.

It was the most expensive place we ate, but given the quality of the food and wine, and comparing it to what we would pay back in the UK, it seemed extremely reasonable. The menu comments that they believe in 'slow food' and the speed of progress was leisurely but not overly slow. It seemed consistent with food being freshly prepared to order. On both evenings we were there the chef came out and spoke to customers (at least those who spoke Italian) about the food. Our waitress, who appeared to be the owner, was very friendly and even remembered us on our second visit which was nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surreyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favourite”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

One of the reasons I keep returning to Napoli. Absolutely delicious food, good house wine, a cosy setting and friendly owners. I thought it couldn't get better than the pork dish of last year but even that was outdone by the AMAZING pork rib this December. I wish this restaurant was in London.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank arturo_aquaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly, great food”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Family restaurant with very friendly owner and staff. Food was excellent and reasonably priced; recommend pasta-fagioli soup.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank heidiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average food, average price”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Average food, average price. I had better food in Naples. A small clean restaurant near Corso Umberto.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Chitarra also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Osteria La Chitarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing