We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!”
Review of Al 53

Al 53
Order Online
Ranked #87 of 3,599 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Visiting Al53 was a good surprise!
We found this on trip advisor and even if most tables were booked, we were lucky. This looked as a place for locals. The service was excellent, same was the food and vine. The antipasti was huge!
The price was half what you pay along the Amalficoast. Do not be cheated by the modest rooms- the vibes are excellent!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank 268mortens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2019

We ordered some mussels in pepper and lemon (no lemon, pepper swimming in the water) as a first course and a fritto misto second both to share. All food was delivered at the same time by typical old school leering "you like?' style waiter. Then when I paid by credit card they converted the bill to dollars and upcharged 3% without permission; I never convert and haven't seen a restaurant try this in years. Go somewhere else and get some pizza.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff_Al_53, Proprietario at Al 53, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,
al momento del pagamento non ci siamo capiti. Purtroppo le lingue differenti io parlo l'Italiano, tu la tua lingua non hanno reso comprensibile il mio discorso.
Potevi rifiutare la transazione. Potevi dirlo alla cassa. Potevi richiedere lo storno del pagamento.
Non trovo giusta la tua recensione. La trovo non vera ed offensiva. Perchè non hai guardato prima di digitare il tuo pin oppure password ? Perchè non hai visto bene? Perchè te la prendi con me ? Bastava che tu non accettassi di pagare con la carta di credito. Buona fortuna. Alla prossima. Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

Total waste of time and money. The chef does know his job. Waiters are not respectful. We ordered food and drinks and both were not upto standards. Simple requests like providing olive oil were not adhered to.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank rajasekhri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staff_Al_53, Proprietario at Al 53, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,
il giorno che tu sei venuto, sei stato servito da un o cameriere che non parla bene le lingue straniere, quindi non ha capito le sue richieste. Non capendo bene le tue parole il mio cameriere si è trovato in difficoltà e le cose non sono andate bene. Ti chiedo scusa. Ho diversi cameriri che parlano bene le lingue straniere, ma erano impegnati su altri tavoli. Ma tu sei stato servito da un cameriere che non parla le lingue e questo è stato un errore di cui ti chiedo scusa tanto. Spero che tu ci perdonerai ritornando nel mio ristorante. Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Staying nearby so I stopped in for lunch. The house wine was excellent and I also enjoyed the pasta. All in including sparkling water....14 Euros. Great value and good sized portions.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 4Mindfulness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Bases on the good reviews on TA we went to this restaurant, but this all was disappointing. The quality of the food was far below standard. No fresh meat nor fish. All covered by plenty of sauces. House wine tasted like lemonade. We can recommend many restaurants around piazza Dante but not this one.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al 53 also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Al 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing