We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style AND substance - best hotel in Italy I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #9 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Style AND substance - best hotel in Italy I've stayed in”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We loved staying here for our first Christmas away for more than 10 years. From the pre-arrival requests (airport pick up and dinner reservations) to the welcome drink ( which was so yummy we had one every night). All staff we met were courteous, friendly and really wanted to help whether it was restaurant recommendations, directions or weather predictions.
The hotel is well located in the midst of the historic part making shops, sites and restaurants easy to access. I tried to sport the unsavoury types mentioned in another review but only spotted official car parking fee collectors.
We loved the decor in the hotel, from beautiful white and soft bed linens, purple velvet comfortable dining and lounge chairs to the Hand rail ( check it out) witty style.
The wi if worked, the breakfast was simple and delicious and the shower had descent pressure. The only small gripe is that being Italy there are no kettles in the bedroom and as there's no restaurant nowhere in the hotel to have a hot drink (apart from breakfast) it meant we went without. Finally - Barbara is as everyone says - terrific.

Room Tip: Ours was at the front of the hotel but we didn't notice any noise- the double glazing works
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    388
    66
    18
    9
See reviews for
158
738
58
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you are the type of person who wants to stay in central Naples and would like a comfortable base while doing so then this is perfect for you. As far as the rooms go it has most of the trappings of 5 star accomodation, but the hotel lacks the 5 star extras (spa, gym etc.) you would probably never use anyway if you are the sort who wants to explore a vibrant city centre. As such it is both excellent value for money.

As far as location goes, it was in the middle of the old town and within walking distance of many of the city attractions and also the train station when venturing further afield. If you are planning on spending time in the city, rather than just travelling to the various attractions outside, I think it is excellent as the more northern areas are rather hilly and difficult to navigate and the port area is very hectic (all Naples is hectic, but the centre is so in a good way).

The receptionist was charming and very helpful (she knew all the best pizza places nearby and where to buy tickets for a Napoli game... I think I fell a little bit in love). The room was modern, well styled, clean, had plenty of storage and an a excellent en-suite. As it wasn't busy I got a free upgrade to a larger room but all the rooms are to the same standard and are generously sized. The breakfast was a continental buffet which was exactly what was needed before setting out for the day. The bar in the evening gets a special mention as the bar man was very friendly, the bar comfortable and the service was excellent; it is an ideal place to start the night's festivities.

All in all it was very comfortable, ideally located, had all the amenities for a city break, had friendly and helpful staff, and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a completely renovated Hotel. It's located in Naples downtown close to many local shops and churches. The surrounding streets are home to the Christmas market (Nativity scene) which connects to Spaccanapoli and Via Tribunali in the Centro Storico. This Hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the Port of Naples (for both cargo and passengers)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agusparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

From the moment we walked in we felt welcome, especially with the welcome drink! The first thing we found out was that our standard room was upgraded to a superior room because we had mentioned our honeymoon earlier while booking. Barbara, the receptionist, gave us restaurant recommendations and directions, inclusive of suggestions for what to order. The bartender served us drinks with yummy snacks and was very friendly. The staff looked after our bags while we spent the day in Pompeii. Between the service, the location (20 min walk or 5 minute cab ride from the Naples Central Station) and the clean / tasteful environment, the Decumani is no doubt a great experience. And the comfort of the beds was fantastic. Their bar and lounge is not to be overlooked either!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SawyerDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The staff at this hotel are really nice and very helpful. The twin room my daughter and I stayed in was a good size, with comfortable beds and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was clean and modern. In fact, despite the initial impression you get from the rather run down neighbourhood (or should I say, run down city), the hotel is thoroughly modern in both accommodation and decor.

The welcome drink was a nuce touch and the breakfast was good, if not outstanding.

I would certainly stay here again if I ever returned to Naples.

Room Tip: Don't worry about views - it's inner city Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynetteMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
412 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

No way around it, Naples is a grungy city and the historical center is no exception. However , in my opinion it is the best base for touring Naples, so you want a safe, comforting hotel to stay at. Also Naples is the perfect base for Pompeii and Herculaneum if you don’t plan to explore the coast. Palazzo Decumani is a fantastic property. It is within easy walking distance of the important sites as well as just a few blocks from the most famous pizza places.

Modern and sophisticated decor. We booked a large double room overlooking the square (200 euros/night). and had a very large, well appointed room (#204). Two big windows with shears and blackout blinds for sleeping. Lots of storage, large bureau and built in armoire, although could use a few more hangars and none are removable. We always bring a couple of hangars with clips so we can use a travel streamer in the bathroom for wrinkles. Good desk for working, extra chair and upholstered bench. Absolutely no street sounds or Vespas vrooming with the windows closed. Good lighting. Mini fridge, safe, robe and slippers. The hotel uses the typical European key system where after swiping the key card to enter the room, you insert it into a slot to activate your power. Great for energy conservation, but in the age of cell phones, tablets and we still use rechargeable batteries for our good camera, it means that nothing gets charged unless you are in the room. So, if you need to charge batteries and/or devices during the day, get two room keys so you can have power in the room when you are out. You can always up the temperature so as not to run the air conditioning all day.

Great marble bathroom. Between sink counter and window ledge, lots of space for toiletry bags. Nice array of soap, shampoo, bath gel, etc. No laundry line. Really nice thick towels which are changed every day. One negative is that hand laundry takes the longest to dry I've ever seen. At least 3 days. The room has excellent climate control so a bit surprising that the humidity is still so high that clothes don't dry.

Barbara at the front desk was particularly helpful. Everything from making sure we were street smart before leaving the hotel with purse and camera to dinner and tour reservations. Very nice bar serving drinks and coffees and you get one complimentary drink. However, the freebies kept coming. One night we ordered coffee and they brought little desserts on the house, another night we had a drink and got espressos on the house. Breakfast buffet had lots to choose from including cold cuts, a free form puff pastry quiche, persimmons , kiwi, fresh berries and yogurt and lots of baked goods.

Unreservedly recommend this hotel. We took the train, so didn't have to worry about a car, which is the way to go if at all possible. The neighborhood looks sketchy but everything looks that way in Naples and because you are right in the heart of the action, the streets were filled with people day and night including an elderly man who sat on a chair across the street for most of the day and got his espresso delivered by the corner coffee shop each day! We felt very safe there and walked to almost all the restaurants without concern. But get an Italian data plan for your smart phone so you can use map apps. as much as you want so you don’t get lost.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Had three nights at the Hotel Palazzo Decumani and were truly delighted by it. It's a little tucked away and not easy to find but once you do, one is in for a treat. Good size rooms which are very tastefully decorated and well appointed - big beds, lots of wardrobe space, stylish bathrooms and plenty of toiletries. The hotel in fact indeed beautifully laid out and we particularly liked the full length spiral staircase. Breakfasts are both hearty and tasty and we particularly liked the bar in the evening where they provide a lot of exquisite treats with your drink - so much so that it is tempting to stay and just snack away all night! Salvatore the bar manager is a delightful man (and will share his ideas of what to see in Naples with you very readily) whilst Barbara at the desk is very pleasant and highly efficient. We were so glad that we stayed here - it turned an enjoyable visit to Naples into a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Property: Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing