We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #9 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A really great experience. Our room was attractive, clean and comfortable and the service was excellent. We received a welcome drink, which was served to us with complimentary appetizers. Our breakfast the next morning was fine, including the coffee (which surprisingly isn't the typical Italian hotel's strongest point). I've stayed at three or four Naples hotels, including some that were much more expensive, but this was the best by a wide margin.
Our experience began when we tried to drive to the hotel, only to discover all the streets had been closed off for an event. Once we'd explained our situation some friendly street cops waved us through and we made our way with no more traffic to contend with. Driving a car anywhere in Naples is not a good idea, but trying to drive on the streets around this hotel is just plain crazy, as I found out after it was too late. Everyone's friendly though, and I never lacked for help as I tried to navigate down too-narrow alleys past parked motorcycles and scooters and shop displays.
The Palazzo Decumani is on the edge of a gritty working class neighbourhood that really comes alive at night. The man at the bar of the hotel recommended a pizzeria for dinner and getting to it turned out to be an adventure in itself. We had a great time working our way up and down streets filled with brightly lit shops and pedestrians, none of whom were going anywhere in a hurry. We ended up stopping for drinks at a small badly lit bar ran by a cocky 20-something who was ruled by his 80-something grandmother. Their wine was okay, their olives were fine and their friendly hospitality was outstanding (the food at the pizzeria didn't disappoint either!).
Overall, a wonderful time. This is the place we'll stay on our next trip to Naples.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petercam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We did have a very good experience in this hotel. Good location (old tow, is what we look for) even if had some problems to get there by car (often occured in Italians old town). Staff has been very helpful and gentle on infos we requested about surroundings. Rooms are comfortable and large, whitish and relaxing in a not-so-relaxing area. Breakfast can be slightly improved.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed four nights in November after requesting a twin room, high up, preferably with a balcony and were allocated a doubled bedded, small room overlooking a fire escape on the first floor.. After complaining and told no other rooms available, we mentioned Trip Advisor and we were given a slightly larger room facing the front on the third floor which was found to be surprisingly quiet.. The location of the hotel is excellent for central Naples, the decor of the rooms very pleasant.and the welcome drink and snacks good. Breakfast, whilst generally.fine, was identical each morning, and when items ran out, were not replenished. The restaurant staff we found to be welcoming and very good. Unfortunately, with one exception, the same was not found to be true of the reception staff who are in desperate need of customer relations training. Whilst our room was generally well cleaned, the bathroom was sometimes given only a cursory.wipe over and the hotel stairs remained in need of vacuuming for the duration of our stay. These are relatively minor issues and easily resolved, but hotel management does need to be aware of a certain complacency, but notwithstanding, we would still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abandbarbseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed one night and the staff was great. Upgraded our room, got us train schedules, called our hotel for us in another city, went above and beyond. Close to the older part of the city (within walking distance). Can't remember the name of the street, but it is the one where you can buy all the manger scenes. The room was large, we had a suite. Can't say enough about the staff, also a free drink in their bar. Walk to train station about 20 min. Wouldn't do it at night though, as in most parts of Naples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is a real gem. Situated in the heart of old Naples, right next to the markets, and within walking distance of many of Naple's tourist attractions, it is a quiet oasis in a loud, bustling and alive area. Large, spacious rooms are beautifully clean and airy. There is space all around with high ceilings and a large central staircase. The breakfast buffet provides a rich array of foods which include fresh fruit and pastries along with freshly made Quiche and a selection of meats and cheeses. A bar opens after 6 in the evening. Staff are warm and friendly, and we felt welcome and able to ask for help with anything ranging from recommended sights to nearby restaurants. It's the little touches which count, and a plate of biscuits served with a cup of tea in the bar after a hectic day was really appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely weekend stay, central location (but very "Naples..."), good room, very helpful staff, great breakfast. Wouldn't be ideal for a very long stay but perfect base to see Naples from. Would stay again unhesitatingly

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moosecroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The location is great. In the old part of Naples. Naples is noisey and dirty (in a good way) The hotel is clean, quiet. We found really fun reataurants and coffee shops close by. Breakfast is great. The bed and bathroom was great. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 185 in Naples
1,504 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,159 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,071 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 185 in Naples
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $139 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing