We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the independently-minded independent traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a fine example of what a small, city-centre hotel should be like. It's great location in an old part of Naples makes it perfect for strolling out and exploring. Unusually, for such a location, the hotel has parking.The rooms are very well furnished, with comfortable beds - thankfully not following the lamentable internationall trend for hotel beds that are like rocks. Our room had a balcony looking out over the little piazza and yet was not at all noisy. The only quibble is the breakfasts, which could be better. However, this failing was more than made up for by the very helpful staff and the particularly good bar manned by Salvatore, a genius among barmen. In the few days we stayed there he gave us a masterclass in local wines and food, for he not only serves drinks, he cooks succulent amuse bouches (please forgive the French!) to match them. He also makes fine cocktails - the prosecco with crushed wild strawberries is a must. One last word of thanks to the front-of-house person (apologies for not taking note of her name) who tracked down the taxi in which one of our group dropped her iphone on the way to the airport. The taxi driver duly returned to the airport in the nick of time, waving the phone out of the window. Who could ask for more? Viva Naples and the Hotel Piazza Decumani!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Decumani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

On our way from Procida to Rome in mid-May - we stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Decumani in the heart of old town Naples. I'd stay here again.

The interior of the hotel is lovely. We had two rooms (206 and 207) for a quick two night visit to the city.

Both rooms were nicely appointed (big comfortable bed, refrigerator, cable, flat screen TV, and safe) with high-end toiletries and soft robes and slippers in the on-suite bath. Room 207 was the bigger of the two rooms with a huge bath and walk-in closet. Wifi (free) was not as dependable as I expected in Room 207 unless I stood by the door for a stronger signal.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful (they even added postage my postcards for free). The small bar is worth a brief visit before going out at night. Breakfast was included.

You can easily walk (15 minutes) to the National Archaeological Museum to view the statues and mosaics from Pompeii. It is also very close to the Cathedral di Napoli which is well worth a visit.

Old town Naples is a busy place - filled with people and cars. Lots of shops and restaurants within a few minutes of the hotel. We paid a flat rate of 10 Euros for a taxi from the port of Naples to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwgcontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is one of the nicest places I've stayed. We needed a break from winter and stayed for a long weekend at around £80 a night. The room was LOVELY with the tallest ceilings I've ever seen. The breakfast was never ending, and the room it was in was an amazing museum piece.

We chose the hotel from its ranking in Trip Advisor, and this many reviews can't be wrong. Boy oh boy are they keen to show off Trip Advisor's ranking, as it's plastered on many walls as you walk into reception. But I'm glad to follow the reviews, and it paid off nicely.

Naples as a whole is a fascinating place with trouble and also beauty. It's such good food, more relaxed than the north, but edgy at the same time. The hotel seemed like a nice hidden sanctuary from the craziness of the city below...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and had a very nice and spacious corner room. A complimentary drink voucher was given to us and we made use of it, and in doing so got to chat with their friendly barman - and went back every evening to have a drink before dinner and a nibble of their complimentary canapes.

The staff on reception were so-so, not particularly friendly or helpful but certainly weren't rude or unhelpful - they just paled in comparison to the barman!

Some nice local restaurants nearby, can't remember their names but the barman recommended them all to us.

Although we were warned about personal safety in Naples we both felt safe here and wandered around without any trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielle4red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We visited Naples for 2 days at the end of June. Hotel Palazzo Decumani was a fabulous hotel - the rooms were spotless, great decor, great location. The bartender was a fantastic, friendly gentleman who served us his special Bellini drinks and incredible appetizers. Location is really great for getting around.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was a great experience for me in Naples.Location superb,staff so friendly and helpful....one of the cleanest and well presented hotels I have stayed in.Breakfast ...superb.Will stay again and recommend to friends.It makes such a difference to a trip to be so well looked after.

Room Tip: Clean,great furnishings and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illzite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Nice place to stay in Naples. Everything was good or I can say SUPER! The room was clean, well done, new forniture everywhere. The hotel staff made our vacation. Thanks so much we can suggest this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulamariarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,465 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,038 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Address: Piazzetta Giustino Fortunato 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80138, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $146 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing