We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and lovely staff in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #27 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

As other reviewers have pointed out, arriving at the Decumani Hotel de Charme can be a bit of a shock. It's in the heart of old Naples and we were unprepared for the graffiti (such a shame!) and general rundown state of the surrounding buildings, and the entrance is a little hard to find. However, the hotel occupies the second floor of what was a 17th century palace and once you step out of the lift, you enter another world. Our room was delightful - spacious, with a very high ceiling with what appeared to be original decorated beams, and quality linen on the large and comfortable bed. We loved the fact that just feet away across the street, Neapolitan locals carried on with their everyday lives.The breakfast room is extraordinary and the breakfast - especially the delicious fruit salad - very nice. We also enjoyed being able to buy a bottle of wine which was brought to us to drink on the terrace one evening. The location is great for exploring, with some lovely restaurants nearby and we were so please to be staying here rather than, for example, a hotel near the 'new castle' area down by the port or near the railway station. I particularly want to mention the hotel staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. My husband had phoned from the train to let them know we would need help finding a doctor as soon as we arrived as I was very unwell, and we were assured this wouldn't be a problem. Federica, especially, was very helpful in directing us to the emergency department of a nearby public hospital, advising that this was the quickest way to see a doctor. (The hospital was an experience in itself, but this was the right advice as I got the treatment and medication I needed and the medical staff were very kind). For the rest of our stay, all the staff (even those I hadn't seen before, so it must have been a bit of a talking point!) asked after my health. We received lots of good advice (again from Federica, but I'm sure all the staff are just as helpful) about nearby restaurants and highlights of the local area. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and wish the owners and their team every success as they further develop this amazing building.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Global1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
There are newer reviews for Decumani Hotel de Charme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is a warm, welcoming oasis in the heart of the old town which is lively and fun but also seedy in parts. The hotel is on the 2nd floor of an old residence, with a lift to take you to the hotel. Despite being in a very noisy street, the room was extraordinarily quiet, with a comfortable bed and bathroom. The shower would be a tight squeeze for a bigger person. Breakfast in the fully restored 17th century reception was a delightful way to start the day. The breakfast was a simple continental one with excellent coffee. A very reasonably priced mini bar, a big room safe, and a lovely terrace are welcome touches. While the hotel shares the entrance area with other tenants, I am surprised that they haven't taken any initiative to clean it up as it is not a good first impression to find a dirty lift and smashed window. A fresh coat of paint on the lift and staircase would improve this greatly. The staff are very helpful and made sure we had an enjoyable stay. All in all, the hotel represents excellent value for money. This was my fourth time to Napoli and it will be my last. I will find a different entrance point to return to the beautiful Amalfi coast. I don't fall for the same trick twice but a different scam has spoilt each arrival; a curse on all you unscrupulous taxi drivers and fake parking officers of Napoli.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here in June 2014 for the Naples leg of our multi-city Italy vacation. We ran into several people on tours that stayed at other hotels in Naples and non of them were in the historic part of town. It made all the differnece on our Naples trip. The staff at the hotel are absolutely top notch. We struggled to find the hotel in the old twisting narrow streets of Naples but were 'rescued' by the hotel when one of the staff walked out and met us to guide us to the hotel. GPS is challenged with the traffic restrictions, narrow streets and tall buildings. The old historic part of Naples is definitely the place to be. Most of the large chain hotels are in dirty graphiti ridden industrial parts of town with not much to see or do within walking distance.

The beautiful historic building in which the hotel is located was the best hotel I've come across in Naples. The quiet comfortable and beatufiful hotel has the most curteous and helpfpul hotel staff I have ever met. Naples is a bit quirkly but this is definitely the place to stay on a trip to Naples. The outdoor patio was nice to reax on in the evenings too. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricSmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is tucked away on a small street, only a few blocks from all the action on the Spaccanapoli (a street that divides Naples in two). The interior is elegant, bright and cheerful. The staff was very helpful. The room was modern, comfortable and quiet. One small problem with the shower head hose - it leaked, making it a little awkward not to get sprayed in the face.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I cannot fault this hotel - it really is a lovely place to stay with what can only be described as the most attentive, professional hotel staff that I have ever met. The hotel is quirky in that it is set on the second floor reached by an elevator. Nice open reception area where you are greeted and provided with a city map and full directions to the best attractions in Naples (including the famous Pizza houses). Set in a perfect position for exploring the city, the room was very spacious with an excellent en suite and a shared balcony and included all home comforts. The bed was big and comfortable with nice quality linens; towels were new and large. Breakfast is buffet style, very good and is served in what must be the nicest breakfast room ever. Large old ballroom with an elaborate ceiling....The only downside for the hotel was the fact that the parking is 500 metres away in a multi storey car park. After saying that we would come back here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff at this hotel are absolutely wonderful.

We arrived and suffered some difficulty finding the hotel. A member of the staff literally came to us and led us to the hotel!

The orange juice! Don't skip it!

Additionally, the location of this hotel is perfect for walking around the historical district of Naples. We felt comfortable and safe in this area. We ate at a lovely restaurant suggested by Decumani Hotel staff that was just down the street. Puccinelli.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindySmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a little gem of a place. Right in the best part of Naples you can walk to many of the great squares and streets. I had a clean modern airy room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet after the mayhem of the streets. I will be going back!

Room Tip: Ask for the location of the best pizza restaurants. They know where they are.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnytunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
#11 of 185 in Naples
1,237 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,040 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#18 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $125 - $1,161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing