We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inside - dodgy entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #24 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and would go as far to say that we have never stayed in a hotel with such great hotel staff. They were always happy to help, approachable and smiling - perfect.

We had a great room with a jacuzzi bath. The room was always cleaned thoroughly and the whole hotel was well kept. The breakfast room was beautiful, the walls and ceiling were elaborately decorated but do need a little restoration to be returned to their original brilliance.

The hotel is located just off spaccanapoli, which meant we could easily get to the seafront and the station. Be warned though the entrance to the hotel is not what we were expecting. The hotel is set inside a building with dodgy-looking-graffiti-covered entrance. Take the small run-down lift up 2 floors and then you are in the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abigailcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Despite a few hiccups....we would stay there again.
The hotel has a great location right in the centre of Napoli at a walking distance of many sites. Its central position also put you in the heart of the atmospheric Napoli with a fairly shaby entrance and a dodgy lift that makes you first wonder where you are landing. Then you arrive at the reception at the first floor of this old building and everything is charming. The central attraction of the Decumani hotel is the dining room, which needs a bit of conservation work (Oh my god, did they really PIN a flag to the old walls and its golden decorations...noooooooo!) but offers a grand setting for the breakfast. The breakfast was simple but nice.
The rooms are large enough to accomodate a family with a child and the bathroom is comfortable.
We had a few misadventures...first after arriving , droping the suitcases and rushing to see the town, we were asked upon our return in the evening if we would mind changing rooms to free ours that was the only one with facilities for handicapped. of course we agreed wondering though if they could not have managed this better? but hey, they graciously offered us free access to the minibar to thank us so... Then the second night the air con broke down and it got a bit stuffy in there in the middle of the Italian summer... When we told the reception the next day, we had no surprise, no apologies, just a "ah ok, we will call the maintenance"... ah, ok...that's fine then...for the next guest!

but hey...overall, we did have a good experience and loved the location, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinesharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This quaint, off the beaten path hotel is definitely a charm. it is in the old historical area. it is easy to get around from here. The staff went out of their way to help us figure out an issue we had with a tour we had booked.They recommended a great pizza place, assisted with getting us one laundry done, and finding our way around. Our room was spacious and had a nice balcony looking out on to the neighbourhood. Do not let the appearance of this area fool you. It has some amazing things to see. It's air conditioned too.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view. The neighbourhood is amazing. Don't be fooled by the appearance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was one of the best hotels I have ever been to. The location of the hotel is very good and the harbour and other points of interest are not far by foot. The location is very good en I felt very safe in this neigbourhood. The hotel is very beautifull and I think you can't find a better room to eat your breakfast than in this hotel. The hotel looks like the picture we saw on this website. Our room was very nice and we had airco which worked perfect. Our shower broke on the first day and it was fixed immediatly. We had no problems and the airco worked all the time. The rooms are very nice and clean. The bathroom was also very nice and very clean, which is important. The staff was very kind and helpfull. We were treated like a royal family. They were available all the time and they helped us a lot with taxi's, directions and information about the city of Napels. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I will certainly recommend this to all my friends. This was really the best hotel I've come across.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BThomas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of our trip to the Amalfi coast in may before going back home. The hotel is situated on the first floor of an old palazzo with a nice entrance hall, a stunning breakfast room and nicely renovated rooms with all the convenience of the 21st century. There is still quite a lot of work to do to get the building refurbished but it is worth the effort! We had a very warm welcome when we arrived by Federica who took care of us the two days we have been to Naples. The room was nicely decorated, with comfy beds and a nice bath room. The old town of Naples is really close, just a few footsteps away and the staff is very helpful to show you the way to the sights and nice restaurants. The breakfast was very nice, especially the coffee ;-)). Great location, great staff - a great place to stay in Napoli!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tokaleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is really central, service is excellent and the place has great character. Don't be put off by the entrance. . .old small lift with graffiti on walls is in total contrast to the splendid interior. Area is very safe for walking too. very cheap minibar in room and good wifi. Only negative for me was the very firm bed. . I like a soft mattress. Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank anne7877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Decumani de Charme is a lovely little hotel in the historic district of Naples. Carlos was amazing in assisting us to find the parking garage andget is settled. Our room was average size for Italy, but decorated with antique furniture that suited the ambiance of the old building. The hotel itself is beautiful, and situated in a lively and vibrant community near the university.

Overall, our experience at this hotel was fabulous and I'd recommend it as part of a trip to Naples.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickelodeon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
#11 of 185 in Naples
1,273 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,209 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,112 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#9 of 185 in Naples
531 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 185 in Naples
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#16 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $103 - $731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing