We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth finding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #26 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth finding”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Really nice hotel. Hidden away up a narrow alley and then up a tiny old lift to the 2nd floor. Good value with very helpful staff. Well located for central Naples.

The hotel is much quieter than I expected and seems to be well insulated from outside noise. In any event Naples, despite its notorious traffic, is much quieter than parts of the UK. You only rarely hear police or ambulance sirens. You don't get many groups of drunken youths shouting in the street at 2 am. Despite the airport there is not much aircraft noise and you certainly don't get hundreds of low level helicopter flights across the urban area night and day like in London.

The offficial white taxis from the airport will get you near enough to the hotel but don't try to walk with luggage from a rail or bus stop, as the narrow streets and alleys are cobbled and very difficult to roll your suitcase along.

One reason why places are difficult to find is that brochures for anywhere in the wider Naples area don't show views of streets or building frontages (except high up above 2 or 3 meters) This is because all vertical surfaces at street level are covered in graffiti (even some churches). It is very offputting to visitors and I don't know what cultural reasons are behind it. However, it does NOT mean that the area is as prone to violent crime as would be the case in 'edgy' districts with a lot of graffiti in the UK. In particular the district around this hotel is partly a student area (uni nearby) and we never felt threatened.

Air pollution is bad in the narrow crowded alleyways. There is a constant stink of Vespa fumes combined with high strength tobacco. Neapolitans all seem to smoke. Fortunately they do usually comply with the new rule against smoking indoors in restaurants etc. The same cannot be set of any regulations Italy might have about road safety and helmets. Most of the Vespa riders are unhelmeted, even sometimes having small unhelmeted children hanging on. In the crowded streets our taxi driver narrowly avoided colliding with a speeding motorbike on which were two unhelmeted men plus a large dog, sprawled across the seat in front of the driver. It's a fascinating contrast to our ElfnSafety regime in the UK.

When you're not carrying heavy luggage, it is quite feasible to walk to the central station or a main bus stop to get cheap public transport to Pompei, Herculanuem or Vesuvius. Be warned that not many tourists manage it, because you are certain to be spotted on the way by taxi touts who will tell you that the bus or train is cancelled. In fact the buses and trains, while not always on time, are in other aspects reliable and you certainly don't need a taxi, especially not the dodgy ones the touts are peddling, to get to Pompei. Note that if you want to go on to Vesuvius, we found that when we got off the train at Pompei, the men in the official looking kiosk by the train platform assured us that the bus to Vesuvius had been cancelled for lack of custom - this was plausible as it was a cold showery day in February. But we found the real bus ticket office was a short way away, opposite a restaurant which was indeed closed for the season, but the bus and its real ticket man was working and only 10 euros return.

Also be prepared for beggars in and around the main rail station. This is just like home except that (unlike in London) you can't easily tell who is a street person out to scrounge some money and who is a respectable commuter who happens to be by the rail ticket office at the same time as you. Everyone in Naples, including the touts and beggars, dresses smartly, always fashionable casual.
Incidentally we saw no one in a business suit and no one who looked obese!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newbiereporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    629
    128
    59
    24
See reviews for
353
893
71
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

It is a very good hotel and very very nice personel that do what ever they can to make you happy and feel at home.when we arrived we were given a room but how much I tried I could't connect wifi and on the next day when we complained about it ,they gave us a two floor room that was very spacious and easy to connect internet.but the negetive point was it's breakfast that was not good and without any variety and this hotel is in the old twon but it is surronding was a little bit fearfull because it is in a very narrow alley that is a little dark but little by little I got used to it.
But the hotel staff were fantastic and give all the information you need with nice smile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fara046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Although difficult to find if you arrive at night because the street light obsures the hotel sign, it is very clean, charmingly decorated and worth the effort. Our taxi dropped us off in the nearby small square so we had to walked about 2 minutes up the tiny cobbled street. But there is a courtyard that belongs to the hotel and if the taxi knows how to find it, you won't have to walk in the street.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and will do their utmost to help you find the sights you wish to see. Breakfast is great too, served in a huge salon of faded grandeur.
Safe area even if the graffiti is rather prolific. The taxi from the airport is a good idea as its quite a walk from the Metro if you are dragging suitcases - cost 20 Euros.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolGeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

First off, don't try to walk, take a taxi. The hotel would be extremely hard to find. You can insist the taxi charge you the correct amount which the hotel will tell you (expect an extra charge for luggage). Then don't be put off by the small elevator you take to the hotel. Once you are there, it is spectacular. You will be treated very well and the accomodations are extremely good. The breakfast is served in a palace ball room that you can drink in with your coffee. It is so conveniently located in the historic center that you can explore easily. Public transportation is very good to the more distant sites. The crowds on the public transportation services are very intimidating. Wear a money belt for sure here. We were hit by the "vespa attack" on the street near the museum (tried to snatch our tablet and broke it in the process) but that in no way dimmed our Naples experience. A lot of Americans say "don't go there (to Naples)" but if you listen to them, you will miss a real treat. What a city and this hotel is such a nice oasis. The people at the hotel gave us the statement we needed to make a claim on our travel insurance about it and were very helpful. If you like history, this city is for you. It really is very close to a Roman city. Many streets are the same configuration as in ancient and medieval times (including the one the hotel is on) and then you also can view the facist times with all the building efforts Mussolini gave the city. We spent so much time in the city that we didn't get to see the region much except for Pompeii which was fabulous. Again the hotel is one I strongly recommend. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We only saw ours and it was great. It had a balcony over the street. The TV had several English la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Decumani Hotel de Charme is one of the loveliest hotels we have stayed in. From the moment you walk into the hotel you are transported back to an 18th century palazzo, particularly in the magnificent breakfast salon with its original wall and ceiling decorations. Our "De Luxe" room (206) was beautiful with antique furniture, sumptuous fabrics and plenty of space including a comfortable sitting area.
Nothing is too much for the hotel personnel who combine professionalism with friendliness and go out of their way to look after guests. The hotel provides five stars service at three stars prices, all with a personal touch.
Breakfast is typically Italian with good coffee, excellent country bread, pastries, juices, fruit, yogurts, etc. Everything was fresh and of high quality.
The hotel is perfectly located in the historical part of Naples with the best pizzerias (Gino Sorbillo, I Decumani, de Matteo, Vasi, etc) and trattorias (Di Carmine, Campagnola) within a ten minutes' walk as well as museums, churches, palaces, etc.
We loved Naples and the Decumani Hotel de Charme (which deserves its name) and our 4 nights stay was too short for all the things to see and do in Naples. We hope to come back soon to this lovely city and stay in this magnificent hotel.

Room Tip: The "de luxe" rooms are well worth the extra cost. They are twice the size of standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for only one night. We were not ready to leave! The bed was incredibly comfortable, the room spacious and the bathroom huge! The front desk helped us with directions to nearby attractions, and we had no problems walking to get pizza and shop. Breakfast included fresh fruit and coffee as well as donuts and bagels. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Decumani Hotel de Charme is ideally situated in the core of the historical center of Naples. Using it as a base, one can walk in reasonable time to most, if not all, of the major and minor sites of the old town. For example, a leisurely walk to the National Archeological Museum takes about 20 minutes, and 20 minutes in the opposite direction will take one to the Castel Nuovo. To walk to the train station also takes around 20 minutes. Historical, religious, and artistic sites of interest abound on the hotel's very doorstep.
The staff of the Decumani Hotel de Charme are welcoming, willing to assist the traveler at length, and delightful hosts.
Breakfast is abundant, and served in the grand room of this former palace which dates to the 17th century.
The property is extraordinarily well-kept, clean and fresh everywhere. Housekeeping must be congratulated for a job well-done.
On the down side, something must be done about the lighting in the room, as it is impossible to read with the lighting provided (Room 202). Another flaw of this room, at least, would be the fact that the upper floor is occupied by families with small children who tend to run rampant quite often, but, thankfully, not at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
480 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Property: Decumani Hotel de Charme
Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#17 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing