We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful introduction to naples!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #26 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
north italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful introduction to naples!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I absolutely loved the area the hotel is in - it's the quintessence of the old city of naples! Surroundings seem shabby, run down, until you take a peek inside and catch a glimpse of elegance and charm. The staff went out of their way to help us with any little request, from ordering in sandwiches when we were too tired to walk another step, to checking out all the options for a hop to ischia. Rooms very clean and comfortable. The breakfast room is amazing, but the quality of the breakfast itself needs tweaking. Easy to find the best pastries in the world anywhere in the area, though! A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmfNorthItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    621
    122
    54
    23
See reviews for
345
878
68
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is truly a surprise find in the heart of old Naples. When you arrive you are in a very run down square and your heart sinks, inside it's a different world. Apparently, they are waiting for planning permission for a complete restauration. The reception staff are very helful and the rooms clean and well presented. Note, for those who like a firm bed, you're in luck. My only quible is the breakfast. Every morning they ran out of the basics such as fruit salad. I'm not a great fan of cheese and meats for breakfast but how many cakes can you eat before your body cries out fir ruffage. In fairness they tried to help but like a lot of properties in Italy, coping with the GFC, when the allocation runs out that's it. Inside you are treated to the charm of 300 year old splender. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property but get up early for the fruit salad!

Room Tip: Book a room not facing the little road as it gets very noisy with all night revelers and Vespas. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Perfect location for walking to everything. It isn't a particularly pretty area but the friendly, helpful staff and the charm of the hotel itself set the tone. It is real and we felt completely safe. Federica even walked us to our first restaurant, after recommending it, on her way home after her shift! Carlo was the perfect host checking us in and giving us directions, etc. We had booked for three nights and sadly our flight from the US got us into Rome too late to go on to Naples. We emailed them and they kindly canceled our first night for us and did not charge us!

Room Tip: Room choice is always personal. We like quiet, pretty and large enough to relax. View if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Don't be disheartened by the entrance of the hotel which looks like a back alley illegal gambling joint. But then, most of Naples is crumbling and grimy, a shock to the unprepared.
Inside, Decumani Hotel de Charme is lovely and welcoming, with huge quiet rooms and a gorgeous dining room where breakfast is served. The staff was outstanding and ready to help in any way possible. The hotel is within walking distance of most places a tourist would want to visit, but it is quite inaccesible. We got lost trying to get back to it several times, and taxi drivers never seemed to know where it was.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YaacovG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is well located near the Historic centre of the city and looks much better from the inside, which has significant character. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff made the stay very pleasant and easy to manage. Our room was good, but a little stuffy, with a shared balcony which impacted a little on privacy. Good breakfast in a grand dining room. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms with balconies facing the courtyard are brighter, airier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel (ignore the outside look) with very friendly staff. In the center, everything you need for a city trip nearby. Clean rooms, mini-bar prices very low and good breakfast. Large bathroom and no noise from the outside. Without doubt a place to return to!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelmaVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Decumani, but really cannot understand how it could possibly attain such a high ranking (#2 out of 195 hotels in Naples) on Trip Advisor!

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the atmosphere was calm. The hotel is situated in a relatively quiet part of the historic centre of Naples, and is relatively well located; but very hard to find – indeed! Once we found the hotel we walked up to reception rather than take the rickety-looking elevator. The stairs up to the reception could be described at very best as: 'shabby chic'!

Our (standard) room was clean, comfortable and simply furnished. The bed had a nice, firm mattress, but there wasn't a choice of pillow types. As experienced by some previous reviewers, we were unable to control the air conditioning temperature to our satisfaction. (It looks as though the lower and upper settings are controlled centrally – possibly to reduce extravagant energy consumption – a common feature in Italian hotels. Luckily for us the nighttime outside air temperature was not too high; and there were no mosquitos around, so we could sleep with the windows open.)

As has also been mentioned in previous reviews, the shower drainage needed attention; and we had to cut short our showers to avoid the waste water overflowing and flooding the bathroom. This really shouldn't have been necessary. Our room was very quiet and overlooked a rather scruffy courtyard. Our balcony had a lot of pigeon droppings – and it seemed as if cleaning the balcony is not part of the daily cleaning regime.

The breakfast room is delightful, but the breakfast itself was uninspiring. This is typical of Italian hotels, and it was a shame that they didn't offer any of the wonderful Neapolitan pastries found so easily in bars in the vicinity. The orange juice at breakfast was awful – I do wish hotels would up their game – and just scraped a 4/10 on the 'UKTripAdviser' OJ scale!

The hotel had no bar, and would not really be a great place to hang out if the weather were bad. There didn't seem to be any restaurant in the immediate vicinity (although I may be wrong about this) – but there are plenty within a 10-minute walk or so.

The Decumani is a really nice place; and I would stay there again. It has its 'oasis in a crazy place hidden gem' sort of charm, and the staff are very pleasant – and hence I've given it a 'very good' rather than an 'average' rating – but it really does beat me how it got such a high ranking on TripAdvisor.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Property: Decumani Hotel de Charme
Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#17 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing