We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of La Campagnola

La Campagnola
Ranked #222 of 2,902 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pendino
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Had actually gone into another place which was recommended as the best in town in one of the well known travel guides. On seeing the waiter there pop a nice looking starter into a microwave we walked out immediately and came across this place just up the road.
Had very friendly and helpful service with good recommendations from the selection written on the blackboard on the wall.
After great antipasta ended up with an excellent grilled fish dish, accompanied by some very nice local white wine. Would certainly go back.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    452
    163
    84
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great authentic restaurant”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Good food, no menu, but a great authentic feeling!
We walked passed, dipped into this restaurant and had a great dinner. Only locals, an authentic evening.
They asked "Pasta or no pasta" for the primo and "vegetable, fish or meat" for secundo.
In the end had a great pasta and rabbit stew.
They don't have beer glasses (drink from the bottle) and the cofefe had to be fetched in the cafe on the other side of the street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElCid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“All about turnover.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Dinner here was not a good experience. The food was decent, but they continuously push you to finish so they can seat another group. They brought out our first course a few minutes after the our appetizer (we weren't even halfway finished) and then tried to take our unfinished appetizer plates. The guy who clears plates is extremely over-zealous. As soon as the last piece of food left the plate they took our plates, gave us the check, and actually asked us to leave so they could have the table. We were not there very long. I understand that they want to make as much money as possible, but people should be allowed to eat their dinners. This is not a pizza place, it's a full multi-course restaurant. We went there for an enjoyable dinner, not to shove food down our throats and leave. Don't bother unless you're in a big hurry.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Polpetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great if you like being treated like cattle.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I've lived in Italy for more than two years and this was my only truly bad restaurant experience yet. The food was okay (nothing worth waiting in line for, especially considering the price) but the wait staff was so eager to turn over the table they tried to clear our dishes before we'd finished eating. And when we didn't finish our wine fast enough they actually asked us to leave because they had customers waiting. We'd been there no more than an hour. I almost never write reviews but I was so disappointed with La Campagnola I needed to speak up! This restaurant is completely overrated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“real Neapolitan cuisine”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This trattoria is tucked away in the historic centre of Naples. The dining area is small but the welcome and service from the host is big. The pleasure he derived from serving us a mixture of local anti pasti was truly delightful. This is no frills dining but if you like the authentic rather than the pre-fabricated then you will enjoy this excellent restaurant. Meal (3 courses) for 4 adults inclusive of wine (2 carafes) and digestivo was around the 80 euros.
One thing to note is that the menu is in Italian, no English subtitles and the host has limited English.But don't let this deter you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Campagnola also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Campagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing