We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality!”
Review of B&B Casa Tonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Casa Tonia
Ranked #144 of 766 Naples B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The B&B is located in a nice area of Naples, in the Chiaia district. The B&B is actually an apartment and the guests have both their own room and their own bathroom. The guests share the kitchen, and this makes the atmosphere very warm and nice. The host, Federica, is one of the most wonderful people I have ever met. She is a real Neapolitan woman: warm, kind, caring, lovely. She treats you as a sibling, and she is always there when you need her. She fills up the kitchen with a lot of "merendine" :), and I simply love them. I think I got some weight there :D. The rooms are very clean, and you have your own privacy. There can be some noise from the street, but that is part of the Neapolitan life experience :D. I will stay there again next time I go to visit the amazing city of Naples.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

Casa Tonia's building is situated on top of the hill and the units are on the 5th floor of the building (elevator equipped). The room given to us has a balcony that provides a magnificent vista. The B&B is clean and well maintained. it has a washer and dryer that you can use. Our host, FEDERICA, is the BEST AND MOST GRACIOUS. She makes you feel like you never left home. When in Naples, CASA TONIA IS DEFINITELY THE PLACE TO STAY.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, the view is simply breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davehwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The best family-like hospitality! FEDERICA IS THE BEST & NICEST HOST!!! Very knowledgeable and helpful. The only thing I would say is DO NOT DRIVE!!! Drivers there are horrible and parking is worse!!! We drove in the rest of Italy, Switzerland, Germany, Belgium, and France for our trip without a problem but ran into some there. There is a parking lot across from the hotel but it can get packed if you come around dinner, between 8-10pm. All in all, the only problem is with the city not the hotel, recommending to ALL travelers!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Can thoroughly recommend this lovely little b&b. Really good area, safe and within walking distance of good restaurants. Wonderful landlady, Frederica, so helpful and friendly. Clean, tidy, very comfortable rooms and easy access to the city via the local station which is within easy reach. More like having your own apartment in Naples. Rooms look out onto the bay. I wish Frederica could always be my land lady and thanks for picking us up and delivering us back to the airport!

Room Tip: There are four rooms and really depends if you are a singleton, couple or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very happy with my stay here. It is a bit of a walk to get to some of the main attractions, but it's also a whole lot safer than places to stay that are closer to the attractions. You can get to public transport from here and there are some good restaurants nearby. The owner is Incredibly kind, I couldn't have asked for better treatment. It felt like being at home. Just make sure you write down the address well and find a way to call them when you arrive. The front is not well labelled and I would've had a terrible time getting in at night when I arrived without their phone number written down. All in all a great stay with a nice view and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Located on the top floor this B&B offers spacious, clean rooms and warm friendly service. We booked through trip advisor on shor notice, 3 days before arriving and Federica, the owner, went out of her way to accommodate us, including sending her son to the airport to pick us up. Our room had a private balcony with dizzying views of the sea, access to a full kitchen, wireless internet and washing machine.

Casa Tonia is in the Chiaia district a few short blocks away from both the Cumana and Met trains. The building has a large courtyard, glass elevator and beautiful plants in the stairwells. There is a helpful guard who is happy to offer directions. Directly outside the building is a park, pizza shop, deli, bank and cafe so all my needs were met within 100 meters.

Napoli, and Casa Tonia were the highlights of my trip. Certainly the best place I stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigglesgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at the Casa Tonia B&B at the 2nd half of March. Having read some reviews beforehand on TripAdvisor, we booked 5 nights at the B&B. After that we were going to spend a week somewhere surround Naples (in Sorrento, Inschia or etc). However, after couple days which we stayed at Casa Tonia B&B we decided to spend all time at this place. So finally we stayed at Casa Tonia B&B 13 nights and I think I can estimate it quite objectively.
We had a great stay. Here's a breakdown:

Rooms: Rooms are not large, but adequate. The rooms are typically decorated – white & minimal, but pleasant. Bed linen as well other anything is clean. There is a kitchen with stove (you can make tea tonight) and refrigerator (you can put some food in it). Nice bathroom and small balcony.
View. I think it is necessary to note this point especially. The view from the balcony is fantastic – on the sea, Capri, Posillipo hill, citi’s roofs of and etc. We are from northen country and for us it was very interesting to look at many various gardens with palms and flowers.on the roofs. The B&B is situated at the 5th floor – there are no any buildings at the other side of street. So once again I guess the view from Casa Tonia is one of the best in Naples.
Breakfast: Typical Italian style. packaged croissants: good coffee, milk, packaged croissants, honey, nutella. You can eat it at any time in the kitchen or in the room. We usually took trays with coffee and croissants to the room and put them on the small table near balcone. We opened competelly balcony’s doors and enjoyed our breakfast, fresh air and nice view.
Location: The Casa Tonia is situated area of Naples named Chiaia. It is very nice and safety area. There are few food shops , café, bars and pizzeria within 5 min from the B&B. There is small supermarket on the way to the metro Mergellina (10 min by walk from The Casa Tonia). Mergellina Metro Station provides direct connection with Piazza Garibaldi Railway Station - 4 stops. In other direction in 10 min you will get a funicular to Vomero area. By the way, in Vomero besides famous Sant'Elmo castle and Certosa cloister there is not bad small street maket “Antignano” where it is possible to buy not expensive clothes and fruits.
About 10 min by walk you can get the seafront and Mergellina port (as I understand in March you can go from here by boat to Ischia island only but during season I think there will be more directions). However, according the recommendation of our hostess we visited Ischia from Pozzuoli port by ferry. I think it was very good suggestion.We took train at Cumana train station which is situated about 300m from Casa Tonia B&B. to Pozzuoli (duration by train about 20-25 min., Naples city tickets are valid there) From train station Pozzuoli 5 min by walk to port where we took ferry to Ischia. The price was about 10 euro/person/one way. The weather was near 17C but we as many others sat down at the high open deck and enjoined beautiful views for Prochida island, Pozzuoli harbour and etc during our trip. Ischia is very We came back to harbour of Naples (not to Pozzuoly) by ferry also. However, I can say that this back trip was not so interesting so as the ferry went from Ischia to Naples rather far away from coast and we could not see much.
Service: Service was excellent. Federica and Marco took care of everything professionally. Both of them are very kind and friendly persons speaking in good English.
Overall: We were very pleased with our stay at the CasaTonia B&B and if we have possibility to visit Naples again we will definitely stay at this B&B again.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank val1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Chiaia
Casa Rosa
Casa Rosa
#359 of 766 in Naples
38 reviews
San Ferdinando
B&B Attico Partenopeo
B&B Attico Partenopeo
#5 of 766 in Naples
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiaia
B&B Franca
B&B Franca
#265 of 766 in Naples
200 reviews
Hostel Mancini
#6 of 221 in Naples
333 reviews
Chiaia
B&B Casa Mira Napoli
B&B Casa Mira Napoli
#51 of 766 in Naples
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Casa Tonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa Tonia

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 114 cap 80121 | Largo Saverio Mercadante, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 766 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: $67 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B Casa Tonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Casa Tonia is located in downtown Naples, in the elegant district of Chiaia, Mergellina central area between Posillipo and Piazza Plebiscito. The structure is strategically linked: Cumana railway, at 50 meters from the B&B, allows you to reach, in just two stops, the historic centre of town, with the famous Decumani and St Gregorio Armeno, the archaeological museum, the … read more. Cathedral and all our churches and most famous historical sites; in the opposite direction, the same railway line is one stop from Fuorigrotta area where is located the Mostra d'oltremare, home to numerous fairs and competitions and the Stadio San Paolo, reaching in Bagnoli, headquarters of Citta ' della Scienza and stage of the America's Cup sailing. The Bed and Breakfast is located near the main shopping area of Via dei Mille, with its most prestigious boutiques and a few kilometres from the port of Mergellina, where there are daily departures for the islands of Ischia and Capri and the charming town of Sorrento, Amalfi and Positano. From Casa Tonia B&B it is also easy to reach the American Consulate on foot. The bed and breakfast offers single, double room for single use, double, triple and quadruple rooms with private bathroom. The rooms are equipped with hairdryer, color TV, heating and ventilation, each with a balcony from where you can enjoy a splendid view on the island of Capri, the pier of Mergellina and Posillipo Hill; the kitchen is at your disposal if you wish to eat meals at home, maybe purchased from the renowned "gastronomia De life." The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, ensuring you a successful stay in Naples. structure organizes on request a shuttle service to the airport, the railway stations of Naples, Beverello Harbour. The shuttle service is not included in the price. Garage Europe, located in front of the bed and breakfast and 12:0 am open. apply a Convention of 10 € per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your B&B Casa Tonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing