We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location with excellent basic accommodation at reasonable prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Villa Ravino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This property is actually just out of Forio on the western side of the island of Ischia. There is a town called Ischia on the island of Ischia. Yes the units are located at the top end of a beautiful botanical garden. Yes the folks who run the place are very friendly and helpful (though not always around). The property is somewhat whimsical with a slight edge of required maintenance... that to me provides a level of charm. However the rooms are very clean, reasonably furnished and very well maintained. We had a very happy time at Ravino. Luca was a great help in arranging things for us. Our room was very clean and reasonably equipped. Only negatives relate to our room location- the stairs to the pool and hot spring-fed spa went past our door so there was some chatter and a bit of a lack of privacy as people went to and fro, and our front (west facing) door with our little patio was in the shade all day due to the large tree immediately in front of our room. Minor things. There is a wonderful terrace facing the ocean where you can watch the glorious sunsets. It's rare that anyone is there so we had our pre-dinner drinks in that location. There are MANY restaurants on Ischia so you won't want for selection. One can also make easy arrangements to see the Amalfi coast, Positano, etc from Ischia. We would definitely return to Ravino. Definitely good value and a nice relaxing ambiance.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south get more sun and are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 160 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Ravino for 11 nights in late March\early April. On arrival on our first evening, Luca gave us a very warm welcome and helped us with our luggage to our room. We ate at the take-away right across the street from the Villa, and ended up eating there many more times during our stay as the pizza and roast chicken were so delicious and a good value. We were able to get a large, basic hot pizza for less than 4 Euros and supplement it with our own salad, etc.

The residence is well-situated just off of the island's main road where the buses come by about every 15 minutes or so. You're high enough above the traffic to be able to relax and enjoy, but it did take some getting used to to walk along as it is very busy and the locals drive a little crazy. From the residence, you can either hop on a bus (but be aware they are often totally overcrowded) or walk into Forio in about 20 minutes. Buying your food (as this is self-catering accommodation) means either two choices (assuming you have no vehicle): you can either buy things in Forio, or walk further along the main road until you reach a little town called Cuotto. There's a fairly well-equipped grocery store there that apparently will deliver if you buy enough things, but we were uncertain how that worked and probably didn't buy enough in one go for them to offer. Just be aware that if you do choose to walk along the main road to the other little town, it is very busy and much of it has no sidewalks. I was pretty terrified, to be honest (I'm from the midwest where we have wide roads, and when they are available, wide sidewalks!) Had we had children, I don't think I would have allowed them to walk along this road as it's more of a highway given that it is the main road of the island. I felt a little like I was playing Frogger when walking along, waiting for a car to pass by before I could go around the car parked on the road. (You can check out Google Streetview to get an idea of what I'm talking about.) Should we stay at the Villa again with children, I think a car would be enormously helpful as you can take care of shopping and avoid walking along this busy street. (Of course, then you have to deal with driving on the narrow, winding streets and the locals whizzing around you on their Vespas!)

We went with a slightly larger room as we wanted to be sure we had enough space, and we were very pleased with how well-equipped and spacious it was. The shower was absolutely fantastic. Roomy and with a nice strong jet of hot water, I really enjoyed using it. We had our own little private patio with table and chairs that looked out onto green grassy space where all guests can sit and relax on sun chairs. When we arrived in late March there were only a few other guests, so it was nice as it felt almost like we had the place to ourselves. If we were to stay at the Villa in the high season, I would possibly prefer a balcony to the ground floor as you would have a bit more privacy.

The best part of the Villa, however, is without a doubt the grounds and the botanic garden. First, a bit about the grounds themselves: The grounds of the Villa are stunningly beautiful, and guests have both a thermal pool with its warm water that flows in fresh every morning and a swimming pool available for use (it was too cold for the swimming pool while we were there). There's also some exercise equipment, though we never tried that out. There are some pretty amazing outlooks down to Forio and the sea, and we watched almost every sunset while we were there. You also have views of the mountains behind the Villa. The botanic garden (you take some steps down from the Villa or you can enter the garden directly from the street) is breaktakingly beautiful and interesting. When you stay at the Villa you can visit the garden anytime for free while it is open, which was a wonderful perk. There's also a lovely bar in the garden where we would sometimes just sit and relax and have a drink.

The owners of the Villa are also what make it such a special place. It's a family-run business, and they seem to genuinely enjoy having guests and chatting with them, and were often offering helpful advice and going out of their way to accommodate their guests. A few examples: Luca drove us down to Forio on our first morning at the Villa as they weren't offering breakfast yet so we had nothing to eat; he also gave us a lift to the Hydrofoil in Forio when we left Ischia, saving us either a crowded bus ride or an expensive taxi.

A few random notes:

Wireless: there IS wireless at the Villa. Nothing in the literature we had read mentioned it, so I assumed they didn't have it, but towards the end our stay my husband noticed a wireless router so we gave it a go and voila - Internet! Could be that they were just installing it, so possibly it's already mentioned in their literature by now.

Toilet paper: we weren't sure whether they provided it or not. They did give us some during a weekly change of sheets service they provide, but we definitely had to buy more as that wouldn't have been enough.

Books: they have a great library of English and German books where you can borrow whatever you want during your stay.

In summary, I would highly recommend Villa Ravino as it is a beautiful, very unique place whose owners make it extraordinarily nice. A final word of caution to those with young children who aren't planning to use a vehicle that the street below is very busy and much of it is with no sidewalks, but as long as you are aware of the situation and prepared for it then it is perhaps no problem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank american_girl_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This family owned residence has very helpful and friendly atmosphere. Service and arrangements are excellent. In supermarket they asked do we live at Villa Ravino and when we said yes, they drive us to the front door of the villa!!!! There is thermal pool at the hotel and it really felt good to relax in warm water after hiking. We were there at November and the temperature was over 20C and sunny, and "winter" price for accommodation was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuvalFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Wonderful setting, did not disappoint in any way. Helpful service in a family owned establishment, great facilities with beautiful garden and pool area. Comfortable - if dated - apartment, but the owners are on to this,and plan to refurbish. Let's hope the character isn't lost. Loved the location with easy bus routes to the whole island right in front, and dinner in the Mezzatorre will stretch the budget, but is well worth it. Would definitely return, and recommend to like minded independent travellers looking for a bit of character and no frills.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superpuma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

An amazing place in a wonderful island. Villa Ravino was perfect to every points of view. Beautiful, quiet, magnificently located (near beaches, restaurants, and public transport) and run with elegance and discretion.
One has the impression of being in Garden of Eden. The Bothanic Garden was an unexpected bonus, in addition to a beautiful swimming pool and a nice and confortable spa. In addition to rare plants and animals, the Bothanic Garden hosts a cute bar and many interesting cultural evening events.
The couple who own Villa Ravino are very nice and attentioned people with whom it is a pleasure to talk about Ischia past and future.
A place rare to find in Italy and elsewhere.
Silvia and Monica

Room Tip: The rooms at the ground floor have very nice private gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilviaF187265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at Villa Ravino with a mixed family ages long with my wife and my 2 teenagers - it was perfect for us all with smimming, spa and plenty of relaxing for us all. Hospitality was superb and the location is perfect to explore the island, but most of all the view from the front veranda in the evenings is just stunning and so relaxing. If you stay here you won't go wrong and do ask for advice on where to eat as Luca has some great recomendations and took time out to think of the right sort of restaurants for us all. We will be definetley returning to Villa Ravino again, soon I hope. Oh yes the gardens are worth a visit even if you decide not to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeM058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I spent 7 days at Villa Ravino, Edith and Pepe her husband take amazing care of the Botanical Garden. The peacocks and all. Chris and Luca their sons are always there for help. Luca and his wife and 3wonderful Children took me to a celebration in Lacco Armeno along with their uncle Wegner. Luca provides great restaurant suggestions and wonderful hospitality. Leno the barman is warm and funny, Anna the massage therapist was great, Olga and Steffi the housekeepers were very nice. I rented a moped one day and cruised the island comfortably alone. The villa has a great Thermal bath as well as a pool. The rooftop sunroof was awesome for sunsets as well as the full moonrise. My apartment was comfortable with a small kitchen and adequate utensils . A short 10 minute walk took me to a small market for veggies and wine. The garden on site is lovely beyond words with peacocks wandering happily. I live in Maui and this garden still brought tears to my eyes..the people were so warm I couldn't have been happier. I am already thinking of when I can return...considering the distance ....it must have been wonderful. It is not a "la tee da 5 star" hotel...it is a charming , lovely, inviting place that remains in your heart....I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Garden view is nice..sea view is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank me11860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isola d'Ischia hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Loreta
Villa Loreta
#1 of 33 in Forio
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Hostel
2.1 mi away
B&B Celestina
B&B Celestina
#1 of 5 in Lacco Ameno
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#5 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
689 reviews
2.2 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
0.5 mi away
Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Villa Ravino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Villa Ravino

Address: Via Bocca 1, 80075, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Isola d'Ischia
Price Range: $56 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Residence VILLA RAVINO, A Family Establishment With Self Catering Apartments Offering You A Relaxing Holiday On The Charming Island Of Ischia. An Enchanting Place Lying In The Heart Of The Mediterranean, An Hour's Sea Journey From The City Of Naples. Renowned For Its Volcanic Origins And Rich Soil, Ischia Offers A Wonderful Climate All Year Round With ischiaUnforgettable Landscapes Immersed In Blooming Flora Of Vivacious Colours, Lemon, Orange, Olive Trees And Grape Vines. Your Days Can Be Taken Leisurely On One Of Ourbeaches Or Small Romantic Bays Looking Out At The Deep Blue Mediterranean Sea. Alternatively You Can Explore Ischia's Historic Villages And Museums Or Take In The Beautiful Scenery On A Walk Or Via Horseback Trekking. An Unforgettable Visit Is To The Beautiful Garden "La Mortella" Created By Lady Susana, The Widow Of Sir William Walton. Here You Can Listen To Classical Concerts.With Our Mediterranean Time-Clock, You Would Have Enjoyed An Afternoon's Siesta And Can Now Shop Late Into The Evening. Otherwise Evenings Can Be Passed Peacefully Watching The Sun Setting Over The Sea Whilst Sampling Fresh Local Dishes And Wines In One Of Ischia's Rest.Nts. Ischia Has Many Religious Festivals Often Resulting In Evening Fireworks And Street Entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Villa Ravino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing