We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find”

Ristorante Buca di Bacco
Ranked #10 of 120 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Boston, MA area
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A nice find”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place was recommended to us by our hotel. What a nice find! We ate here all three evenings we were on Capri. One evening I had a very delicious white fish with a lemon/orange glaze/sauce. Remarkable! Then the other two evenings I had pizza and a pasta dish. The interior is just average. Only one window, but the food is reasonably priced and delicious. One goes here for the food, not to people watch. One pays a lot for a restaurant where you can people watch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlderMom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    271
    77
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food but book the window table!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We discovered this restaurant toward the end of our stay in Capri in June 2013 and dined twice there. We liked the relaxed and comfy atmosphere about the place. The food was of high quality - from the first meal to the dessert and that is the reason we give a 5-star-rating. It's a pity there's just one table by the window with a wonderful view over the island and the sea, which makes dining experience even more enjoyable. So it's better to book this table in advance!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Suggested but...”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

...I would not return to eat there. Food decent: pizza on the average, fried fish a little bit under the standard. Most of all the portions are poor. Very poor.
Place would be nice, but they have small tables and only one of them is facing the only windows in the room, so the view is far from sight from every other table.
Being in Capri is not that expensive but for sure you do not pay what you eat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gildor1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special. ”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here as restaurants were limited on Tuesday nights and close to the end of the season in Capri. The place wasn't anything special and we weren't even sure we were at the right place at the entrance as the owner wasn't that friendly. The place was so awkwardly quiet and needed music. I had the pasta bolognese which was really tasty and my husband had the shrimp risotto which was hardly that. The shrimp risotto tasted more like a bowl of rice with curry and absolutely drenched in olive oil. We probably dined at over 2 dozen restaurants in Italy on our honeymoon so we get the Italians like the olive oil, but this was simple uneatable. Stick to something rather simple like the bolognese if you choose to eat here.

Helpful?
Thank MrsPalacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Book now”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

You will probably need to book to eat here or be at the door as it opens but its worth it. Lovely ambiance, fantastic service and great food at a very reasonable price (at least for Capri). Probably best to get some directions before you start looking for it though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Buca di Bacco also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Ristorante Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing