We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Friendly”
Review of Il Portico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Portico
Ranked #38 of 48 Capri B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2012

So if you can afford La Minerva, by all means go there but for a warm introduction to an island that can seem pretentious at times, start here. The reviews of Il Portico are correct, rooms are basic, spotlessly clean and truly comfortable. The first impression as you enter the room will not blow you over but once you've settled in, had an outing or a good night's sleep, then this hotel will slowly charm you. The views from the rooms are like that of a country retreat and having breakfast with postcard perfect sea and mountain views is idyllic.

No breakfast will not be to everyone's taste, packaged biscuits and pastries, but there was a good offering of teas and fresh cappuccinos. Yes the location is central given that you walk everywhere in Capri, ahmmm...attention the walk down to the Marina is relatively easier than the "hike up" to the Piazzetta from the hotel, which is about 123 steps, we counted and passed loads of other out of breathe tourists on our daily treks, worthwhile views though. But ultimately it is Antonio and his wife that make this place what it is. Antonio provides all the information that you will ever need to have a great visit to the island. He is informative and friendly but always discreet and unobtrusive. Don't think I've ever met another person who knows so much about their country. Just ask him and he'll tell you, and if he doesn't know something, he'll find out and let you know.

Il Portico is small and cozy with all the hospitality and charm of a B&B but the privacy and feel of a villa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3OLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

I don't give many properties 5-stars on TA. I'm a picky traveler. While Il Portico may fall short of meeting the expectations of travelers looking for a 4 or 5 star Luxury experience, it will exceed the needs of any traveler looking for clean, affordable rooms with super friendly/helpful hosts.

From the time we initially rang the bell at the gate, Antonio and his beautiful wife Alessandra were as hospitable as hosts could be. They were available on the property from roughly 8am-8pm to assist us in every way possible, from recommending restaurants, to helping us navigate Capri's public transport system. They were amazing in every way possible.

Getting There
The B&B is located a 15-20 minute uphill walk from the large port (Porto Grande) - do not even think about trying to walk it with luggage. The taxi ride was only 5-7 minutes. Our taxi for five people, including five bags at 2 Euro each, cost us 21 Euros in total including the baggage fees. Alternatively, if you are traveling light, you can take the bus heading to Capri Center from the port to the bus stop commonly referred to as "Staiano's Garages". From there, walk three minutes down the steps back towards the port at you'll see the hotel on the left.

Location
The location is good, it's about a 8-10 minute walk to the city centre, also known as La Piazzetta. It is an uphill walk, so be prepared for steep steps. For those tired of steps (we were after 7 nights in Positano), there is a bus that stops near the B&B and goes to the city center for 1.80 Euro. The buses in Capri run every 10-15 minutes and are very reliable compared to other areas of Italy we visited.

Rooms & Amenities
The hotel rooms are small to medium in size and quite basic. Our room had a double bed and a nice terrace overlooking the sea. The door leading to the terrace has shutters that roll down which makes it great to sleep in for those folks who prefer total darkness. Otherwise keep all the windows/doors open and take in the sea breeze. The bathroom is small and clean. The TV is a 13-inch throwback to the days well before flat-screens were conceived – though there are hundreds of channels on the "Sky TV" network, we could only find a few in English. With that said, no one should be spending too much time watching TV in Capri.

Hotel Amenities
The included breakfast is a very light breakfast, don't expect more than toast, jam and coffee. Internet is 5 Euro per stay and very reliable. There's a very modern computer for rent in the lobby that has internet, headphones, microphone for communicating with folks back home as well as a small vending machine with water, cookies, coffee, etc. It's a very secure place, we often left our door unlocked since there's a few gates that keeps outsiders from gaining entry to the property. The outside courtyard is great for passing the day, staring at the sea, very peaceful.

Final Recommendation
All in all, we had an amazing stay and would return in a heartbeat. If you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for a clean, quaint and comfortable room with amazing hosts, look no further!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. Room #1 has a slightly better view than Room #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Packinmybags8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with Antonio and his wife for a few days. Location down a small walkway a five minute stroll to the heart of capri. Ocean view room was lovely.
Superb facilities with wifi, comfort, air conditioning. Clearly the owners care
We re talking meticulous everything.
And perfection at each turn. Breakfast on the terrace was sublime.
If you want to feel like you're living in your own villa. Come here. If you want friendly advice and care and Zero pretentiousness. This is the place.
Advice, help, laughter, and friendship
Are what makes me strongly suggest you visit. Tell them the picky Malibu writer sent you.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malibutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at Il Portico for 2 nights. Antonio and Alessandra are very friendly and very helpful. The B&B is a bit tricky to find at first, and like most of Capri, involves negotiating lots of steps. The views are awesome, and the setting tranquil. We had a room on the first floor, which was very basic, clean and quiet. The beds were adequate, but we woke early as soon as the sun filled the room because the curtains are thin and do not keep out the light. Overall, we rated our stay as 'Very Good'. What would have made it excellent would have been a fridge in the room, or a shared fridge, to keep drinks cool, light blocking curtains, free WiFi, and a breakfast that was more than just out of packets. The breakfast patio, however, has a great view.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JockPrivateGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at Il Portico for 2 nights 19-21 of May 2012, our experience could not be better, great B&B, great views and super-great hosts. Antonio introduced us to the hidden parts of the Capri and his friendly recommendations were great and gave us the opportunity to feel as local.
Charming, beautiful and prices are decent.
thax Antonio
R&K
Israel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Antonio and Alessandra make your stay wonderful. The view from our room (room #3) was the best! When we needed a cab or any recommendations they were there for us. I would highly recommend Il Portico. For the comment about accessibility, the whole island of Capri is very hilly and be prepared to have sore legs and ankles. My parents have some mobility issues and with being so close to the bus and taxi stop it was no problem. Much easier than staying in Anicapri or the Piazzetta.....Great value and we had a wonderful wonderful time.

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 have the best views! Great for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

PROs - views, value, host, breakfast patio
CONs - difficult to walk to


We found hotels and B&B's on Capri to be quite expensive and were happy to find Il Portico which was quite reasonable in June. Antonio was such a great host - very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were adequate - nothing fancy but comfortable and beautiful views of the sea. Wouldn't recommend for someone who has trouble walking though as it is literally on the side of a hill and you have to use quite a bit of steps both ways.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 'A Pazziella
Hotel 'A Pazziella
#28 of 40 in Capri
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#29 of 40 in Capri
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palatium Mari
Hotel Palatium Mari
#32 of 40 in Capri
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.0 mi away
Aldarogi
Aldarogi
#1 of 11 in Capri
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fortino B&B Capri
Fortino B&B Capri
#32 of 48 in Capri
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Portico

Address: Via Truglio 1/c, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Capri
Price Range: $94 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing