We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Portico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Portico
Ranked #27 of 42 Capri B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

The excellent ratings on Trip Advisor heavily influenced my wife and I in our choice of Il Portico for our recent visit to Capri. We were not disappointed. In fact, everything mentioned by previous reviewers; the bright cheerful room, terrace with a view of the Med, fine breakfasts and great location were all there in spades. But most outstanding, as they reported, was Antonio who helped us plan each day with valuable tips, directions and advice and greeted us on our return anxious to know if all had gone well. There are a lot of choices to make if you stay only three days on Capri and his advice proved very valuable in making the best of our short visit.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are well worth the extra cost and the upper floor works best for an unobstructed view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    39
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
83
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

What a beautiful experience from a beautiful couple! Il Portico is a small B& B close to the Centre. What sets it apart from the rest is the amazing customer care from the owners Antonio & Alessandra. There is just nothing that is too much trouble for them. You feel like you are 'home from home'! It's the little details that makes a big difference. Like making sure there are always nice cold bottles of water in the fridge which you can help yourself to! Rooms are spacious, clean and with great sea views of the Grande Marina. You are close to both the Grande Marina and the Centre. Antonio is great guide! This was our second time in Capri but thanks to him we discovered some gems which were not in the guide book. Breakfast is served is a beautiful floral terrace with great views again of the ocean.
If you are looking for an affordable nice accommodation in Capri I would highly recommend Il Portico. In fact, It's the best B& B in Capri! Grazie Millie Antonio e Alessandra!

Ps. Don't forget to take your well earned honeymoon! You're welcome in London anytime!
Ama. (London)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ama2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

My second time in Capri. Myself and my girlfriend love the island. This time we discovered new places thanks to Antonio and Alessandra. We had a lovely room with a terrace. Was clean, big and close to the famous Piazzetta. Antonio and Alessandra, the owners, are the most caring people. I work in retail and I have never experience such a perfect level of customer care. Thanks to Antonio you don't even need to buy yourself a guide. Antonio has advised us on every subject. From where to eat to every walk and places to get married as weare planning our wedding in Capri. Will come definitely be back. Thanks Antonio for the lovely time.

Domenico

Room Tip: Pick the room with the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domenico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Capri is enchanting, and this hotel made us feel at home - we wouldn't have wanted to leave! We had a nice, comfortable, noiseless, clear, room, with a spacious bathroom and a big terrace. Furniture was essential and equipped with everything we needed. The cleaning service was impressively good. Breakfast was basic and good, offered in a terrace surrounded by flowers, with a beautiful sea view. The owners, Alessandra and Antonio, were very kind and helpful to us, always ready to give suggestions and advices on activities to do, restaurants, and places to visit in Capri. Great accommodation in a perfect context! PS Don't rent a scooter at the port - talking with Antonio, we've found a better choice afterwards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuditta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I found Il Portico on this website and booked simply because of the comments people made on the site. I stayed at the hotel for three nights with my family.

The hotel was very clean and had everything we needed. It was close to Capri centre as well as to Marina Grande, which was very handy to visit other places in the island. I was very impressed by how organised Antonio was. We didn’t plan much beforehand, however, Antonio told us where to visit and where to eat etc. We followed all his recommendations and had a fantastic time in Capri. I would recommend this hotel especially it is your fist time visit to Capri. All the comments people made here are true and I was so glad that I chose this hotel. Capri itself is a great place to visit but the stay at this hotel really made our stay very pleasant!

I highly recommend anyone who wants to have great time in Capri.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We spent four nights here while honeymooning in Italy in May. Everything you read on tripadvisor is 100% true - Il Portico is absolutely gorgeous and Antonio is wonderful! We had visited Sicily, Rome, Venice, Sorrento, and Milan and this hotel made Capri our very favorite. Most stay in Capri for the weekend, but we were thrilled to have been there for four nights. We were welcomed by Antonio upon our arrival, and taken to our spotless room overlooking the water. The view could not have been more beautiful! We enjoyed a lovely breakfast prepared and served by the Il Portico staff each morning on the patio. Their cappuccinos were the best we had in Italy. Antonio helped us with travel, transportation, and restaurant selections - and everything was right on. We especially loved Lo Sfizio and Il Solitario. I couldn't recommend this hidden gem anymore. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAA12582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. All I have to say is : BEAUTIFUL
The view from the hotel was breathtaking, our terrace looking over the ocean was amazing and the rooms were clean and the staff was so welcoming, caring, helpful and nice!!! Perfect place to stay if you are looking for a relaxing time but still close to all the exciting places such as Marina Grande and Capri center.
Antonio was so patient and helpful with his advice for every occasion. He recommended us restaurants, sightseeing spots, gelato places, bars, shopping areas, and all of them were the best - our stay couldn't be any better. Fair room prices for Capri.
I strongly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appleallergy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.0 mi away
Aldarogi
Aldarogi
#1 of 9 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Musa B&B
La Musa B&B
#16 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Casa Augusto
B&B Casa Augusto
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Soleluna Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Guest House La Piazzetta
0.2 mi away
Fortino B&B Capri
Fortino B&B Capri
#31 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Portico

Property: Il Portico
Address: Via Truglio 1/c, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing