We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time splendour and excellent service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior Parco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Parco
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old time splendour and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The amazing Hotel Excelsior and their wonderful staff. This is how you should be treated when you are on holiday :). This hotel/island wasn't on our original agenda however we had to leave our previous hotel due to poor service etc and we were so glad we did.

The only room available that night was the loft room which has a limited view - rather than leaving this detail as a surprise, we were informed of this up front before we committed to staying, which we think is fantastic service. Regardless of the limited view this is a beautifully decorated and cosy room.
I forgot to mention that we were met at the harbour and driven to the hotel, lovely. When they found out it was our honeymoon, a bottle of bubbly and canapes arrived, which we proceeded to savour whilst relaxing on the terrace in the jacuzzi, looking out to sea at the amazing views. We managed to pull ourselves away from the jacuzzi (mainly due to a thunderstorm, fantastic lightning) to make it to a lovely dinner at Le Panoramique, I think.

The next day breakfast was a feast for the eyes, the nose and the palette. We were given appropriate sightseeing recommendations for the limited time we had in Capri and finally we were picked up and driven to the port for our departure.

This is not an inexpensive island, but worth a weekend stay, and if you stay anywhere stay here, you'll be happy you did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    105
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
134
679
27
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

The most amazing place, I have to say ALL the staff were amazing.. So friendly very helpful and couldn't do more for you. I highly recommend staying here and will return when I'm back in Capri. The rooms were impeccable and the breakfast had everything you could ask for. Thank you thank you Fiona

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I were booked at the Excelsior through our travel agent, we thanked her a million times over - it was the best hotel we stayed at in Italy on our trip. The wonderful driver from Excelsior, Andres, will pick you up from the port. We were greeted at the beautiful property of the Excelsior by Viviana, a kind soul, a breath of fresh air. Her warmth on the day of our arrival was so inviting in the beautiful white, marble lobby. There are only 11 rooms in the hotel, so the staff treat you as if you are staying in their home, they are so personable and more than happy to help you and answer any questions. This small, boutique hotel will make you feel all the more special in comparison to staying at a large hotel. Our room was beautifully, tastefully, decorated, charming, clean and spacious. We had a large balcony on the 2nd floor with amazing views of the ocean, lounge chairs and jacuzzi tub. The breakfast that is offered was by far the best breakfast that we had in all the hotels we stayed at. Again, the staff are friendly, non-evasive and will get you anything you need. The gardens outside are beautiful and picturesque. The driver, Andres, took us to the port or town whenever we wanted and would pick us up if we called him, as long as it was before 9pm, otherwise you can take the bus, very easy, for 1euro and change. The bathroom in our room was beautiful and clean, lovely tile work, comfy robes and slippers for guests to utilize. The location of the Excelsior is in the middle of the mountain side, positioned in the middle between the port and the town center of Capri. It's best to utilize the driver-service of the Excelsior or take the bus after 9pm to get to the port or town center. We walked from the town center to the hotel one day and it was about a 15-20 minute walk on the main, narrow road, versus a 5 minute drive. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It was the most accomodating one we stayed at in Italy and we found ourselves comparing our stays at other hotels - the breakfast, the bathroom, the view, the shower - with the Excelsior. You won't regret booking your stay here!

Room Tip: I would ask for the second or third floor levels so that you can take beautiful photos of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PisanoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were met at the harbour and taken to the hotel. Our rooms did not have a sea view - but that was purely because they were on the ground floor. They looked out instead onto the hotel garden. The rooms were lovely, plenty of room with their own sun lounger, table and chairs just outside. The shower was fantastic! The breakfasts were lovely, plenty of choice and we also had a lovely meal on our first evening. The staff could not have been more helpful, even down to providing us with sandwiches for the journey when we had to catch the early morning ferry back. The view from the roof is gorgeous and my friends also enjoyed the roof-top hot-tub! The hotel courtesy bus saved us a fortune in trips to and from the harbour, Capri and Anacapri. All in all, a lovely break in a lovely hotel on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have a beautiful view, although it is not as easy to see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Lovely small hotel on Capri. We were upgraded to a sea view terrace room with outside hot tub. Absolutely fabulous. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Wonderful breakfast selection of great quality local produce.
Comfortable rooms with only one thing letting it down - great bed linen was let down by no mattress protector. Slightly shocking for this calibre hotel.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Splash out for terrace room with jacuzzi. Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here on October 2, 2013 in a deluxe room sea view terrace and private outdoor Jacuzzi, euro 256.00 per night. For Capri, I supposed it is a good value... we had a extremely large balcony and terrace that had a table, chairs, lounge bed and even a jacuzzi tub. Note, you have to fill the jacuzzi tub yourself with water. We didn't have time as we were only there one night.

The location is a bit far from the main town area via walking but only a five minute drive via their shuttle service There are no times for pick up and drop off so we ended up taking the shuttle from the hotel to the main part of town (including back to the ferry) but sadly had to take a cab back which was Euro 15.00 despite being so close. I don't recommend walking since the streets are quite narrow and folks drive quite fast.

Breakfast was average, as was the service. The check in personnel were lovely, giving us tips on where to stay and dine... however, we came to the patio area for a drink before dinner and no one served us. They saw us, but we were just ignored. Not sure what the disconnect was.

Clean, spacious rooms, and easy booking process. I found that hotels in Capri you have to send a request via email and wait but here it was a simple process

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiiansiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aynho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Excelsior Parco for 2 nights in October and we'd like to move in forever. The staff and the service were both amazing. Viviana is probably the nicest woman on earth and she couldn't do enough for us. We were also very lucky to receive a free room upgrade on arrival, but I promise this is not what made our stay for us. I'm sure if we had stayed in a cupboard the wonderfulness of the staff and the fabulousness of the building would have meant I'd still have given a 5* review. Go there as soon as you can.

Room Tip: If you can afford a room with a view, then do get one. Capri is all about its beauty, so why not e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 331Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.3 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 42 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Parco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Parco

Property: Hotel Excelsior Parco
Address: Via Provinciale Marina Grande 179, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Capri
#2 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior Parco 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two thousand years ago, an Ancient Roman residence, as testified by the column dominating the entrance to the hotel. At the start of the 20th century, a Liberty style villa, the chosen refuge of artists, intellectuals and all those looking for an exclusive hideaway. In 2006 a complete restoration and renovation transformed the building into a boutique hotel in which to experience the traditional hospitality of Capri's most elegant villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Parco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Parco Hotel
Excelsior Parco Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing