We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our week at Tirrenia Roberts B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tirrenia Roberts B&B
Ranked #30 of 43 Capri B&B and Inns
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our week at Tirrenia Roberts B&B”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending seven days at Tirrenia Roberts B&B on the Island of Capri during the first week of October and thoroughly enjoyed it. The property is tucked away on the upper hillside overlooking Marina Piccola. It's about a 10 minute walk up to the main piazza in Capri and about a 5 minute walk down to Marina Piccola. At any point along those well-paved routes are spectacular vistas of the island and the Mediterranean ocean.

The B&B is a converted two story home with 3 guest rooms, all quite different from one another. There is one room down with ensuite bathroom near the pool and two rooms on an upper level. One of the upper rooms is large with a bathroom across a hallway and the other room is smaller with ensuite bathroom. The B&B has spacious grounds including a pool overlooking the Mediterranean and beautiful vegetation.

We stayed in the upper small room at the end of a hallway making it very private and it was roomy enough for a week's stay. The room had a locking amoire for clothes storage and valuables in the room. The queen-size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a shower stall with plenty of hot water and adequate room for “getting ready”. There was also a small balcony with a partial view of the ocean. Our room was cleaned daily by very friendly staff. Continental breakfast was served each morning in a lower level dining area where we were treated to fresh bread, yogurt, juice and coffee.

An unexpected highlight of our stay at the B&B, however, was our time spent with the owner Costanzo. He was born and has lived most of his life on the Island of Capri (how lucky is that!). He could (and should) write a book on the recent history of the island. We had many memorable evenings sitting and talking with this incredible gentleman who speaks Italian, English, German and French. He had many recommendations for restaurants and places to visit and never steered us wrong. Our stay was so much more enjoyable because of our time spent with Costanzo.

All in all we had a fantastic time on Capri and would not hesitate to return to Tirrenia Roberts B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Anything bad you read about this place is untrue. We spent 5 days here and it was truly awesome. Views are great, bedrooms are large. Our friends stayed at another more expensive hotel down the road and our room was twice the size of theirs. Eva was the most fantastic host and layed out a nice breakfast every morning. No one bugged us and we had plenty quiet time by the pool. Even though it has quite a few stairs to climb, it wasnt a hassle, even though I was pregnant at the time. Thank You for a wonderful time Eva. From Janine and Paul

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This guesthouse is well worth a visit on what is an expensive island. Owner will guide you on how to get around the island is very friendly and welcoming.

Very clean, very adequate rooms and well positioned with added bonus of swimming pool. This guesthouse is good value for money and comes recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collaroy Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

In total agreement with the last review. We booked this having seen the view and the pool on the website. Having travelled around many areas in Italy for over 6 weeks, the stairs etc didn't phase us much, better than many I've stayed in.
The room was pleasant but agree with the lack of privacy. The owner lives in the next room and as you have to leave your room and cross the hall to the bathroom this can be a bit off putting. Also, the room we had shared the balcony with their living area and he did come and chat to us when we were just chilling out. Asked how come we were back so early and what our plans were for the evening etc. I'm sure he's just being friendly but it was a bit too much.
He's very helpful with things to do and advice but a bit overpowering making sure that you have your days itinery before you leave for the day and questioning you on it when you return. I got the feeling he didn't approve on the day we came home early and spent the afternoon relaxing by the pool.
The restaurant he recommended was OK, but no cheaper or better than some others we found.
Capri is lovely and worth a visit, and you do need to be extremely careful when you book as locations can be very difficult to get to but I think I'd pay a little more for a hotel and be ensured the peace and privacy we would have liked.

  • Liked — Pool and view
  • Disliked — Owner and proximity to owners living areas
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennig3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

My boyfriend and I decided to go for a 7 day break in Capri and chose Tirennia Roberts B&B as we were looking to save a few pennies due to booking a bigger holiday to Peru in October.

If you are looking for a romantic and fairly private location then this is possibly not the place. Although the setting of the B&B is beautiful with a decent size pool and view over the sea, you will get little privacy at this B&B. The owner is very friendly and extremely helpful but also always present and lives in the same house as you will be staying.

The room we were given was large, with good a/c and a balcony overlooking the sea, but the bed was simple and the walls were thin so sometimes in the afternoon it was impossible to enjoy a siesta due to conversational noise from the adjacent owners living room.

The garden was beautiful with a very clean swimming pool and plenty of sun loungers.

The breakfast was simple - bread with butter and jams although I think this may be the tradition in Capri.

Location wise it is probably a 20 minute walk from the main square in Capri. It's an uphill walk but actually never bothered us as it was pleasant to walk into town and back after an evening out.

Overall I thought the B&B was good, but if we were to go again we would definitely book into one of the hotels where comfort and privacy would be guaranteed. For readers using this review it may be worth mentioning we are both 32 and fairly well travelled.

Do contact if you would like more information

  • Liked — Clean pool, beautiful view over the sea
  • Disliked — lack of privacy, simple bedroom,
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Gnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We just stayed for two nights in the new part (Eva's house) of the area. What a great place. Yes, you need to be fit to reach the Villa on the Via Mulo, yes, it is a small B&B... but apart from that it is absolutely wonderful.

You get a brilliant view of Marina Piccola, a very well maintained pool with sun chairs and a great deck as well as a large breakfast for € 110. And the best of all is Eva's hospitality, she really makes you feel home and tells you the best options for your day. This is one of the best kept secrets of Capri... Enjoy...

Still I understand the last review, if you can just stay in your room (due to bad weather) you will be disappointed. However, this is just bad luck and probably true for any place...

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pannano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2005

We just got back from a wonderful honeymoon to Italy. We stayed at Tirrenia Roberts for 2 nights (originally booked for 3). The b&b is a 15 minute walk from the funicular down some stairs, and down a walking path. Our room was cheap (90 euros/night), it had a queen sized bed with a balcony looking over the pool, and then to the ocean. We had our own bathroom, but the walls were moldy, making the bathroom smell bad. It rained a lot when we were in Capri, so we spent some time in this room, and we were wishing that we were somewhere a bit nicer. This room would be great for someone going to Capri and just needing a place to sleep at night. The owners are friendly and helpful with things to do around town. I would reccomend this room to someone who would spend minimal time there. I dont think I would stay there again. Reasons: moldy bathroom, long uphill walk back with heavy luggage, somewhat far from town.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diva La Canzone del Mare
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#38 of 41 in Capri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Casa Augusto
B&B Casa Augusto
#9 of 43 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Guest House La Piazzetta
0.1 mi away
B&B Casa del Solitario
B&B Casa del Solitario
#22 of 43 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suite Elegance Belvedere Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirrenia Roberts B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirrenia Roberts B&B

Property: Tirrenia Roberts B&B
Address: Via Mulo 27, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Capri
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tirrenia Roberts Bed And Breakfast
Tirrenia Roberts Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing