We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capri Tiberio Palace
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Had been there when it was Marriott, it seems it has gone downhill. Service for breakfast wa s poor. At 600 to 800€ a night one would expect exceptional service, this did not happen. Our junior suite had a good view and was a nice room. Really overpriced compared to quissisano.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephensos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    94
    38
    16
    18
See reviews for
66
405
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Positano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

hotel was recently redone....decor impeccable, staff very helpful, warm and friendly.....magnigicent spa, great restaurant....terrific breakfast with full menu. we had dinner in the restaurant and the food was amazing.

great location for shopping and touring the island. concierge very helpful...

would highly recommend this hotel.....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stupid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We arrived late in the evening via ferry from a long day of travel of planes and trains through Italy. We were utterly exhausted as it was day 21 of our trip abroad. Everything changed the very moment we were greeted by the staff at Capri Tiberio. All at once, we were whisked off and up towards a starry sky on a funicular ready to begin our new adventure on the breathtaking island of Capri. It was late so we could not see or appreciate the beauty of our surroundings, but when we arrived at our hotel, we were taken back at the pure luxury and extravagance of our choice of accommodations. The hotel itself is tucked back a bit from the city center, an easy jaunt, but just far enough away to feel special. To enter the opulent lobby, one will begin to appreciate just what is to come. When we arrived to our room it was nothing short of magnificent! Everything was quite extraordinary from the sumptuous decor to the lavish bath...the most perfect setting one can imagine for the Island. The next morning we awoke to the most perfect day and had a magical four night stay enjoying all the beauty that Capri and Anacapri has to offer! Definitely take the time to explore the island in depth. We took the death defying bus ride to the other side to visit the enchanting Blue Grotto and then rode the chair lifts up to the tippy top of the island to take in the amazing views. Later, we walked the 800 ancient Phoenician steps back to marina...a thrilling experience! So many wonderful memories from lemon cookies to hours spent gazing into the deep blue sea. I cannot wait to go back, and believe me, I will be a most beholden guest at the Capri Tiberio Palace Hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gallerygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here on our honeymoon for two nights. When we got off the boat a friendly host was waiting for us with a sign to greet us and happily took our bags and gave us tickets to funicular. When we walked into the hotel we were greeted with a friendly host who offered us fresh lemonade and cold towels. Although our room was not ready they offered for us to go to the restaurant or pool to relax until it was. They graciously upgraded us to a bigger room and had champagne and snacks waiting for us. The room was beautiful with a gorgeous balcony. All the employees were friendly and attentive including the man at the pool, bartender at the lounge/bar, and wait staff at the restaurant even early in the morning for breakfast. They recommended great restaurants and sent us to an amazing private beach for the day. Overall, our experience at Tiberio was bellisima!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slander529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights in one of their 'prestige' rooms with a sea view at 600 euros per night. It's a good looking hotel with a funky design comparable to some of the Stark hotels in London, nick-nacks, pillows, books and structures painted funky colours.... Everyone was so very friendly but pretty soon I realised it wasn't going to be the 5* deal. Many of the staff were very young and very good looking, out of work actor-model types. No one I saw was over 35. Half of them were excellent and half of them were laughable and the features of the hotel, the pool (a whirlpool tub basicly) for example aren't what you expect.
The porter who took our bags from the Marina gave us enthusiastic but incorrect directions to the hotel and we went in circles when if we had gone to where we thought it was we would have found it. Checking in hot and bothered the receptonist seemed surprised when after 5 mins we helped ourselves to the warm lemonade she hadn't offered. The room was small - no surprise on Capri but I had to sit on the bed to get from the balcony around the desk and it faced the second courtyard of the hotel which seemed to house the staff area or long stay apartments as it was full of balconies of washing and people aking their own fun drinking on their balconies. The bed was excellent but the rest of the furniture looked a little cheap. At breakfast, the male head waiter in pink lipgloss was too busy being lovely and charming to us to get anything done and I never managed to get my coffee although that's all I wanted. My boyfriend was unable to have either butter or salt...they couldn't find it...I left after 30 mins and went to a cafe. The next day I ordered coffee to my room instead but cancelled the order after almost an hour. In contrast the pool staff and bar staff were so helpful it was a delight and the room assistants were obviously doing their job very well as everything was immaculate, nothing over looked.

Overall, for the price it was a joke. They've missed the mark and spent all their money on the things most guests don't care for, expensive wallpaper in communal areas but haven't made anything of their best features like the grand old staircase. I've stayed at several hotels on the island with fewer stars- at half the price and had better rooms, service, pools and breakfasts.
So this seems like what it is. An old Marriott that has been badly attacked by a make over team and mostly staffed by eye candy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallysooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

My husband and I had trouble finding a hotel in Capri, and a friend reccommended Tiberio to us and we booked it without knowing what to expect.

I must say it really was a charming hotel, super clean rooms and great location. It is situated right in town.

They also have a computer in the lobby which is great and the front desk is very helpful and nice.

Aurora and villa verde are great restaurants and good ambiance.

Overall, I highly reccomend this hotel!! Its a great choice!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaboki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just finished a 4 night stay at the Capri Tiberio with my boyfriend. The hotel was great. We stayed in room 320 (Premier room category)...probably the smallest of the Premier rooms but by far one of the best and largest terraces the hotel has to offer. Most of the hotel's terraces are in the shade but ours was full of sun and fantastic views all day. Good things about the hotel: friendly, helpful service/staff; nice buffet breakfast with omlettes made to order, super clean rooms with turndown service, excellent location - maybe a 7 min walk to the Capritown square...you really couldn't beat the location - not right in the middle of all the action so you got peace & quiet at your hotel but you didn't have to take a taxi, Funiculore or walk for 30 minutes up steep hills to get to the action. Bad things: Very little areas to improve: gym should be bigger (1 treadmill?), add wifi access in the rooms, pool water is a bit cool - heat it! Hotel threw in a welcome amenity of a complimentary 45 min massage at the Spa Chakra. Nice touch!
Capri: go to Aurora restaurant; Da Paulino restaurant; the sunset at the lighthouse; the new beach club (associated with the Capri Palace hotel) near the Blue Grotto (swim through the Grotto after they close it to boat traffic); walk Via Tragara; drinks/sushi at the Quissiana; La Fontalina beach club (30 euro per person) or the one right next door for 18 euro; for nightlife, go late & hit Number Two, La Clocha and Anema y Core (fantastic times)! Skip the Baniero Tiberio beach club (not associated with the hotel). Finally, hire a boat at the Marina Grande if even for a few hours and go around the island, go to the Blue Grotto...it's worth it and much better than the public tours.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyNYCTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Tiberio Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Tiberio Palace

Property: Capri Tiberio Palace
Address: Via Croce 11/15, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Capri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#5 Family Hotel in Capri
#9 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capri Tiberio Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mediterranean soul appears in the optical white used for the accessories, essential and linear, and for the shutters which mark the facade, as well as in the rich Mediterranean plants which decorate the terrace and lobby of the Hotel. When you cross the threshold, you immediately feel you are a guest at the house of a great traveller, richly endowed with reminiscences, feelings and objects. Each space is taken up by seats, niches, mirrors of everyday familiarity, and in each corner, there are libraries for the guests to page through.Eclectic and carefully chosen fittings are to be found in the Lounge and Living area, a mix between Design, memorabilia and vintage items, seen through a new approach based on the use of 50s and 70s optical inspiration fabrics which confer a relaxed yet very high level style on the place, with corners to relax or converse in and reading areas organised in small and comfortable "alcoves". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capri Tiberio Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Tiberio Palace Hotel Capri
Capri Tiberio Palace Hotel And Spa
Jw Marriott Capri
Marriott Capri
Capri Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing