We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value on pricey Capri”
Review of Hotel Canasta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canasta
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good value on pricey Capri”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the Canesta for 3 nights at the end of June and we were not disappointed by this lovely hotel. The location is perfect for Capri centre, the breakfast is very good, the rooms are beautiful and very clean and we found the staff very helpful. We had some very good advice on walks to do around Capri and had a daily morning update regarding the Blue Grotto and whether it was open or not. I would offer one word of warning, we booked through Venere and it wasn't made clear by the website that our room didn't have a view. This is not the fault of the hotel, I would just check when booking through a third party site.

Room Tip: Don't have room 20!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat_Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    88
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
233
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Rooms are good-sized. We had balcony rooms, which were wonderful. Fantastic views.
The breakfast is the best we had in Italy (IMHO), but the staff must wonder where we put all their coffee.
Pietro was really kind and helpful. I think he’s there 18 hours a day.
Nice swimming pool. Beautiful décor. Really conveniently located (easy access to town, but off the main drag).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendu101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stumbled upon this hotel on trip advisor and loved Pietro very blunt responses to the negative reviews. First off. Anyone who has a negative comment about this place cannot be pleased! We absolutely loved it here. Large rooms, beautiful views, great private bathrooms, pool..etc. I could go on and on. But it wasn't the hotel that made our stay so amazing it was the owner Pietro. From minute one that we walked in he made us feel relaxed and important. He was pleasant and funny. He gave us tips on what to do around the island for the short amount of time we were there. He also suggested a great restaurant that the locals enjoy. This hotel offers breakfast til 12pm. We overslept as we were so comfortable in our room. (The blinds are electric! !) But Pietro kept breakfast out til 1230 just for us. And even offered to make more eggs for us. We absolutely loved it here and wish we could have stayed longer.
Tips:
When you get into marina grande it is best to take the funicular for about 2EURO. it will take u up to capri but then you will have to walk a bit to get to this hotel. (Still worth it). Or you could opt to take a private taxi .. DO NOT pay more than 15EURO!. This will also bring you up to the main plaza of capri. Still you will have to walk.
While u are there:
Drink the limoncello
Go to Anacapri
Check out the blue grotto
Get lost for a bit
Visit a beach (beautiful but they are not sand, they are rock)
Sit on ur Terrace in your hotel given bathrobes and enjoy a bottle of wine

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Perfect location, frendly and helpul service, nice rooms and some with excellent views over the sea and Certosa. Cosy swimming pool to relax in between the wanderful walks offered by the island . Excellent price for value. Breackfast (served up to 12.00, which was an extra bonus) on the patio was an exellent way to start the day in Capri.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable. The view is the real difference and, correctly, you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunaD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This B & B is a gem! The accommodations are in a great location, close to the piazza. There is beautiful ocean-view pool and the full breakfasts were delicious - including fresh pastries and cappuccinos every morning. Most of all, the owners were very hospitable hosts. I was travelling on my own in Capri and Pietro went out of his way to be exceptionally helpful in suggesting great, reasonably priced restaurants outside the Piazza, he made several helpful suggestions of hiking trails, beaches, and many other off the beaten path sites to see, as well as assisting me in making my connections back to the mainland. I highly recommend staying at Canasta for your trip to Capri.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ky y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

First of all, the location is excellent because it is very close to Piazzetta, restaurants, and, at the same time, the street is very quiet. The room is big, very clean, decoration is nice; the bed, pillows and sheets are of good quality; remote control motorized blinds, which make the room perfect for "sweet dreams"; the room was so quiet that we haven't heard nothing during our stay; the bathroom has a good size, a good shower; the towels were big and of good quality; there were many toilet ammenities, slippers and nice robes. The breakfast was very good, with many options, including fresh fruits, home made croissants/cakes and a generous cup of cappuccino (the best of our trip to Italy/Malta!). The owner, Pietro, is also very generous. As it was our wedding anniversary, he gave us a room upgrade. Besides, he is very kind, a very nice person, who helped us whenever we needed, always with a sincere smile on his face. Thanks, Pietro! Unfortunately, when we checked-out, you were not there for us to say goodbye, but for sure we will come back in the future and stay in your lovely hotel. Fabiano and Denise

Room Tip: We have stayed in room number 15 and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a few days on our European honeymoon. We loved it!
Very nice pool area, lovely breakfast, excellent wifi.
This hotel is in such a great location down a little road away from the hustle and bustle of all the tour groups, but only a minutes walk should you want to venture out.
We very much enjoyed out stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank georgsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#11 of 41 in Capri
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#13 of 41 in Capri
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canasta

Property: Hotel Canasta
Address: Via Campo di Teste 6, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#8 Family Hotel in Capri
#12 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canasta 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Canasta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canasta Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing