We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location.. Friendly staff.. Great service..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Canasta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Canasta
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location.. Friendly staff.. Great service..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I've travelled to Capri many times in the past few years, and from among the hotels that I stayed in (ranging from a B&B to a 4-star hotels), Canasta is the best one in every respect - great value for money with the excellent location, friendly and very helpful staff, great service offered, tidy room(s), nice buffet breakfast with the possibility to order the custom-made dishes - thanks to my very favourite member of the staff (Oksana). Will definitely stay there again and will recommend this lovely hotel to all my friends who'd travel to Capri.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irena77539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    85
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
43
228
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The staff at Hotel Canasta were extremely friendly & helpful & spoke good english which was a big benefit to us.
We had the best in-house coffee and breakfast on our tour of Italy and France at Canasta.
The rooms were huge & it was great to be able to spread out again after staying in so many cramped european hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if you can. All rooms are good but there are beautiful views from the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

After the crowds of Venice, Florence and Rome, we were thrilled to arrive at the beautiful, clean, and serene Hotel Canasta! Pietro is so welcoming and accommodating to ensure that everything is pleasing for your stay. He and his wife have done an outstanding job to make sure that his hotel is the "boutique hotel" of a high standard. The setting is lovely -- convenient walking distance to the town center of Capri, but far enough away from the crowds; tastefully decorated of high quality decor; beautiful pool area; shaded lovely outside patio dining or sitting; clean and organized. The breakfast was delicious and abundant AND they serve breakfast until 12:00pm if you want to sleep in! The hotel is a beautiful space and the owners could not be nicer...the only problem was that we didn't get to stay longer! Highly recommend Hotel Canasta!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I spent a full week at the Hotel Canasta during mid-September. I cannot say enough wonderful things about my stay at this small and cozy hotel. I was very comfortable and pleased with my room, the food, and the staff. They treated the guests like family. The rooms were extremely clean with beautiful tile work and comfortable furniture. Pietro, the hotel manager, was almost always there at the front desk with a smile and willingness to help. The morning breakfast was a feast and pleasantly served by Oxana, a delightful and attentive hostess, making the start to our day always a good one. The hotel cleaning staff were all cheerful and accommodating. I highly recommend staying at this reasonably priced, well located, and "feeling of home" hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my first visit to Italy and Capri was on the tail end of a trip that started in Venice the week prior. The Canasta Hotel in Capri is in a quiet location that will get you away from the street crowds of Capri that fill up the streets when the morning ferrys arrive. Pietro the owner with his wife are excellent hosts, the morning breakfast was excellent, the room comfortable and clean. After having been in the country for a week and needing a change of pace, this was the perfect location. Pietro's advice on what to see and local restaurants was excellent.

Room Tip: I believe rooms 24 and 25 have views of the sea..ask if this interest you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to canasta recently as part of our honeymoon. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel.

Great location just outside the main strip, great room and good facilities at the hotel. However what really made it so special was the quality of the staff and the service. Everyone was so friendly and the owner constantly provided fantastic location recommendations for both things to do and places to eat.

Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed for a week at the Hotel La Canasta in September and can not recommend it highly enough. Pietro was extremely helpful, and there was not an inquiry nor a request he could not handle with dispatch. The breakfast buffet was delicious and Oxanna who refilled our coffee was warm, friendly and a joy to see each morning. The rooms were spotlessly clean, roomy, and full of beautiful tiles. The location was great -- far enough away from the square to be quiet but still centrally located. The Hotel for Capri was a great value. If you are lucky enough to snare a reservation here, don't think twice, just grab it and thank your lucky stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#10 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#15 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canasta

Property: Hotel Canasta
Address: Via Campo di Teste 6, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#5 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#8 Family Hotel in Capri
#9 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canasta 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Canasta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canasta Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing