We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch after boat tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lo Smeraldo

Lo Smeraldo
Ranked #19 of 122 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch after boat tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

After a wonderful boat tour of Capri with Gianni's Boats we were recommended this restaurant. We were immediately shown the fresh fish of the day and the one suggested that was grilled perfectly. The staff was very helpful, the view great. highly recommend this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jppjrcemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    69
    22
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not sure what is better - the service or the food but both are INCREDIBLE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We can not say enough about the food and staff at Lo Smeraldo. We stayed at 2 different hotels and both recommended this restaurant. We were SUPER IMPRESSED! In our 20 days in Italy - our spiny lobster with spaghetti and cherry tomatoes was undoubtedly the best... and we ate A LOT of food that we LOVED!! Nino and the staff are super friendly and made great suggestions on the food. THE FOOD!!! SO VERY FRESH and tasty - I can go on and on! We got there and they set up beach loungers for us on the deck and we sat there for a couple hours - they noticed us packing up and set our table for us as we went up for lunch. Everyone is all smiles and was truly an amazing experience. We know we'll be back to Capri and this will be our first stop!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CherieR803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lo Smeraldo is a memorable experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We came here on the recommendation of our hotel, which is affiliated with the restaurant/beach club.
As we arrived at sunset, Nino and the staff wisked us to the table to take a picture of us before we missed the sunset! Nino presented the platter of the catch of the day, and introduced me to the lobster that would be my dinner! We went back the next afternoon for a glass of prosecco after a fun day of Capri touring. We even spent the following day at the beach club lounging in the sun and relaxing in the swimming area. The staff was so friendly, we were all hugs when we finally had to leave Capri.
The fresh food was good and the views spectacular, but the staff made the experience a wonderful memory. It was much more than a dinner at a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NYRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lo Smeraldo has it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I and another couple just returned from Naples Italy. Twice during our holiday we took the Ferry over to the beautiful island of Capri and both times we ate at Lo Smeraldo. First, you can't beat it's location right on the water and right in the middle of the downtown. (also right behind the ferry ticket booths.) The food is so fresh - they bring a cart with the catch of the day right to your table. On our visits there was lobster, tuna, turbot and much more which they will make any way you want. They also have an extensive regular menu and wine list. The staff was exceptionally welcoming. A special shout out to Fabio who took such great care of us.

On our second visit we took advantage of their private beach club. The only negative is I felt the additional costs were excessive (15 Euro per chair) especially considering that we spent a considerable amount on food and wine on both occasions. I would recommend that the chairs be free of charge or at least discounted for restaurant patrons.

Overall this is was an amazing experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerShari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location for a restaurant. The food was good but pricey, although it seems the rule in Capri. They have access to a sea pool from the restaurant that can help to refresh you while you wait for your food. The staff was super, very helpful and friendly with tourists.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Smeraldo also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Lo Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing