We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Capri
from $79.62
More Info
from $79.62
More Info
from $877.00
More Info
from $103.85
More Info
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
81
55
28
23
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
55
28
23
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue grotto island tour takes about hours euro discount nice boat trip total tour purchasing tickets small boat separate charge per adult beautiful coast marina grande boarded the boat high tide great tour hour trip the cliff
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 221 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018

The tour is a basic, a no frills trip around the entire island of Capri. The boat is comfortable and the site are amazing. BUT, we could not understand any of the descriptions due to the poor sound system. We were on the upper deck and the guide talked as the motor was running. Even with the motor off, all we could hear was static.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank SharonY1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Our boat ride took around 2 hours as we went around the island. The blue cave was not open that day but as other rewviewer said this is not the best provider if you want to visit the blue cave.
This provider was ideal for us who wanted to see the island from the boat and we didn't have much time.
The caption stopped at various spots and briefly mentioned the name and moved on.
We did enjoy our boat trip and would recommend it to other visitors.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Payman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

My husband and I and my sister and brother-in-law visited Capri on Saturday, September 22, 2018. We were staying in Sorrento, and had taken a day trip to Capri, primarily to visit the Blue Grotto, as the experience sounded like it was going to be magical. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, and doing our research, we knew that Motoscafisti and Laser were the two boat tour companies that offered boat tours around Capri that included stops at the Blue Grotto and that gave passengers a chance to take the rowboat ride into the grotto.

We bought our tickets for the Motoscafisti tour, which included the stop at the Blue Grotto, from a woman wearing the Motoscafisti uniform, and who took our payment in a local shop not far from the pier. We were assured that our tickets included the stop at the Blue Grotto. (We later heard that we should have bought the tickets directly from company staff at the pier, but we don't believe that had we done so, it would have made any difference in what ultimately happened.)

The boat tour around Capri was fine, but the captain did not provide any explanation in English of anything that we were seeing, except sometimes just the name of the feature, and sometimes not even that. As such, it was really more of a ride around Capri, rather than a "tour." One of the passengers on our boat became seasick about 1/3 of the way into the trip, and she moved to the back of the boat, where she remained unwell for the balance of the trip. This may have played a part in what happened later, but we are not sure, as no explanation was ever provided.

The boat approached the Blue Grotto toward the end of the trip. We slowed down, the captain got on the radio, spoke with someone, and then continued driving the boat past the grotto, and onward to the pier where we started. We asked the captain if we were not supposed to stop at the Blue Grotto, and he said that we were not stopping, with no further explanation. I (mistakenly) asked him if it was because the seas were rough, and he yessed me. We were livid.

When we returned to shore, we immediately went back to the woman who sold us the tickets. We asked her if boats were going into the grotto (as far as she knew, yes), and if the seas were rough (not that she knew of). We then asked her to please explain why our boat did not stop at the Blue Grotto. She pleaded ignorance and told us to go talk to the employees from the boat. At this point, it was after 3pm, and we had to board a 5pm boat back to Sorrento (as that was the latest boat available).

I walked to the Laser Boat Tour counter (Motoscafisti's competitor), and asked the gentleman if boats were entering the Blue Grotto. Yes, they were entering, he said. Are the seas rough today, I asked. No, the seas are fine, he replied. After Laser's staff heard me declare to my party that Motoscafisti staff had lied to us, they told us that they could take us to the Blue Grotto, make sure that they got us in, and could get us back in time to get us on our boat to Sorrento. Not wanting to walk away without having the Blue Grotto experience, and knowing that we were not going to have this opportunity again, we laid out more money for the Laser Tour tickets. Laser made good on its word, although it was busy at the grotto, and we had to wait a good long time to get on a rowboat. We made it back in the nick of time, and got our boat to Sorrento. Oh, and by the way, guess who was waiting to get his passengers into the Blue Grotto ahead of us? That's right...the same Motoscafisti captain who refused to give us the experience we paid for.

Was the Blue Grotto experience worth all the time and money that we spent for it? I still feel that it was an amazing experience. The problem is that, because Motoscafisti staff never bothered to even explain why we didn't stop, failed to offer a solution when it was clear that we were upset that we passed the Grotto by, and claimed ignorance when we confronted them after we got back to shore, the amazing Blue Grotto experience is now tainted with feelings of bitterness and anger that we were taken advantage of. This company should be ashamed of itself for ripping people off the way it does.

Date of experience: September 2018
4  Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Motoscafisti di Capri, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear customer,

all I can say is that we ALWAYS give a FREE ride to Grotta Azzurra if our island tour does not stop there for any reason (generally because of long queue).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Avoid at all costs. Will sell you tickets for Island Tour plus Blue Grotto but not stop at Blue Grotto. Avoid this company.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank mbm39cornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

While me and my gf were in Capri we decided to go for the 2 hours-trip offered by the motoscafisti of capri.
The weather was awesome and so it was the captain.
He brought us around key points on the Capri coast providing details of the places in italian and english.
Money wise it is a bargain as for only 17 euros you can enjoy a nice boat trip on a glorious sea making yourself a bit of an explorer.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Devid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews