We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dream come true”

Da Gioia Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 123 Restaurants in Capri
Price range: $38 - $89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've been going to Da Gioia for the past 2 years. I go to Capri almost every single Friday during the spring, summer & fall, and I would never let a trip go by without making my way to Da Gioia. In the winter time I literally find myself daydreaming about the food here. We usually always start with the simple tomato salad, or the caprese. My favorite dishes to order here always involve seafood, because it is some of the freshest you will find on the whole island. My 2 favorites are the frutti di mare pasta and the pasta with mussels and scaglie di grana cheese. The pasta is made fresh in house, and the menu has a wide variety. It is a little pricey, but it is worth the splurge.

Located on the Marina Piccola, it is a short hike from the more touristy center of Capri town. You can either take the scenic Via Krupp down to the beach or you can take the stairs down. Da Gioia has a huge patio terrace to dine or sun bathe on. Underneath the restaurant, there is a small private beach, with sun loungers for rent. Giuseppe and the other boys that work there are always friendly, and for Italy, the service is impeccable. I highly recommend trying Da Gioia, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bambinaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    15
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pesaro
Level Contributor
221 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“lovely place and good food, not to be missed!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

lovely place and good food, not to be missed! the food served is very good, the position of this restaurant at Marina Piccola is very nice. I do recommend it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank eo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Steep fees”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Got stung with an 8 euro "capisco" cover fee which could be an expensive bowl of bread or the extra coin in their pocket. Food was good, and the staff friendly enough

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TSBlakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Freshest fish, stunning location.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This Marina Piccola restaurant & beach club  is in a simple  setting full of character. This open air restaurant is literally on the sea in a beautiful location & you can hear the waves lapping under the deck.
There are views of the cliffs, the sea & the yachts, with tenders arriving to drop people off at Marina Piccola in the distance.

The lovely walk down Via Krupp adds to the anticipation of a good meal.


Fish is the main event here- they only serve the freshest seafood & fish. The octopus melts in your mouth.

Prices are reasonable for Capri and it is open for lunch every day, and in the high summer months it is open Friday/Saturday/Sunday evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LDN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Meal of our Trip”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The only reason this is rated so low is due to lack of reviews. it is in Marina Piccola and you wouldnt run across it without knowing where to go. it is a GREAT ocean view. Directly on the water. WONDERFUL service. The food was amazing and so reasonably priced! We had the fried appetizer and the zucchini was so tender. We ate at Il Gerano the night before and this was so much better and about half the price!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gioia Restaurant also viewed

 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Da Gioia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing