We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”
Review of Hotel La Tosca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Tosca
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

La Tosca was a wonderful gem amongst the over-priced hotels of Capri. Simple, clean, and charming, the rooms were great. There is a lovely balcony with a great view where you enjoy the continental breakfast. Ettore was a wonderful host, greeting us with a rest and a beverage before we even got all the way up the walkway, and he gave us many tips about the island. They gave us beach towels for the day we went to the other side of the island. The location is in a quiet section so you don't hear any of the main square noise at night or early in the morning.
I would suggest that you pay for the luggage to be transported from the port straight to the hotel as this was a very exhausting walk while dragging all our belongings. But other than that, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue5290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 807 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel La Tosca had an air of quality about it the moment we stepped onto the path to its entrance and we knew we were going to love our stay. Ettore was a fantastic host and assisted us with all our requests ensuring we enjoyed the history of Capri. The room was very clean and spacious with a wonderful large patio and view of the ocean. Our location was close to the clock tower in Capri yet we were a bit off the path to enjoy the quiet quaint beauty of Capri. Ettore's staff were very helpful to any request we made whether it would be restaurant recommendations or cordial conversation. We recommend this B&B 100% and will return on future visits to Capri. Thank you again Ettore and staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isaacmike103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The owner Ettore is a native of Capri and loves his island very much. He truly wants you to love it as much as he does. The hotel terrace had a beautiful view, and thie hotel is located in a quiet part of town. However, if you cant carry your bag on your back, you will need to pay the porters 10 euro to take your bags each way to the port. It would be impossible to roll a large bag to the hotel. Ettore gave us great suggestions of where to go and what to see, and how to get there. we were not overly impressed with the resturants he suggested and think we could have done better on our own. would love to go back again!

The rooms are very basic and small, but a great value. The bathrooms were some of the most updated and cleanest in Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Good location, nice hotel at a good price. Ettore is a mine of local information and an excellent host.
Breakfast is only continental and I could have eaten more - but still recommend it. Ask for recommendations for local restaurants Capri does not need to be too expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RugbymanBebington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were two couples and had wonderful, clean rooms. One with a patio and one without. It rained most of the time but that did not take away the charm of capri. Also Ettore helped us with places to eat and things to see. He and the staff were wonderful. I would recommend la tosca 100%.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a hard review to write. Although there were many things we liked about this property, the apartment was awful. We had booked a room in December and requested a room with a view. None was available and a day before we arrived Ettore offered us the apartment at the same rate. He stated it was next to the hotel and had a terrace. In fairness, we did not let him know the apartment was unacceptable once we saw it. Since we were only staying 2 nights, it did not seem worth it. The apartment is not even basic. The furnishings are in need of repair and the bathroom was deplorable. There was not even a toilet roll holder. Although there was a terrace, it was not a comfortable enjoyable place to relax.
The positive is definitely Ettore. He is a wonderful host. The directions he provided to get to the hotel are detailed and easy to follow. Although a walk with luggage is challenging, it is in a great location. We opted to have the porters take our luggage to the dock when we left and it was put on the wrong boat to Positano. This caused some alarm but worked out ok. Although we spent only a day and a half in Capri, Ettore maximized our time so that we were able to see many sights in a short amount of time. Particularly enjoyed going to Anacapri. We did not see the hotel rooms, which according to the reviews have been renovated, so maybe they are better.

Room Tip: Don't book apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and really pleased that we chose this hotel. Capri is normally VERY expensive for most things but the great value offered by this hotel PLUS the very extensive knowledge of its owner Ettore guiding you not only to the best places to visit in Capri but also ways to make your euro go further was very welcome. It was like having your own resident tour guide and he was always eager and willing to offer advice whenever asked. Location is perfect, next to the Augustus Gardens and Via Krupp, both great to visit and offering stunning views. A short stroll takes you to all those amazing lanes full of restaurants and super stylish shops. On a little further to the main piazza and the funicular train down to the habour area. The hotel was spotless and the room (53) was very quiet and overlooked a small side garden area. Breakfast - breads, jams, juice and coffee was taken on the terrace with lovely sea views towards the Faraglioni rocks. Definitely the place to stay in Capri to make it a more affordable visit at an excellent price and with all the help and attention that Ettore is happy to give. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.7 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#29 of 40 in Capri
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 40 in Capri
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tosca

Address: Via Dalmazio Birago 5, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Capri
#2 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#3 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $88 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quite and simple atmosphere and the warm hospitality are the main characteristic of this small, cozy hotel that it has been completely renovated and equipped with new comfort. From the wonderful terraces that overlook the ancient Monastery of St Giacomo, you will have an impressive view of the Faraglioni rocks and a completely relaxing holiday. Located in Capri center.Free wi fi and free use of Ipad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tosca Capri
La Tosca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing