We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, reasonable B & B”
Review of Hotel La Tosca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Tosca
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice, reasonable B & B”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Owner & staff very helpful in suggesting walks, activities & restaurants. Rooms are clean, continental breakfast includes great cappuccino served on patio. Good option if you are looking for budget price hotel in a very good, quiet location. If available, get a room with a patio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    123
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
129
423
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at La Tosca for three nights at the end of a month long trip in Europe. We went to Capri for some rest and relaxation and that's exactly what we got. From the moment of inquiry Ettore was the most gracious host and very quick to respond to our questions. He recommended a hotel for us to stay at in Naples, provided car service for us early in the morning to get to the airport on time when leaving Naples, helped us secure a late-day, self-driven pleasure boat ride around Capri and recommended the best restaurants for us to eat at, D'Evino being a must-eat when on the island.

Our room, #50, overlooked the monastery, the island, plus had a view of the sea. It had a big terrace with a table where we ate breakfast at no extra charge and relaxed in the beach chairs in the sun. It also had a small couch which we really appreciated as it gave us more room to spread out. The bed was very comfortable and we didn't hear a peep from other rooms or the hall when in the room. The bathroom was a perfectly acceptable size and the water pressure was perfect.

The price of this room was beyond excellent for what we got and we were happy to enjoy a walk to the beach to go swimming since the only thing we didn't get at La Tosca was a pool. It has a great location, close enough to the centre but not too close as to be noisy and made us feel a bit exclusive being off (literally a minute off) the beaten path.

We loved every second of our visit here and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Capri.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the halls are quieter as if it's raining breakfast is served in the lobby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemarie_bouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge
Level Contributor
315 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Sadly, we were only able to stay for two nights as we attended a birthday party for a wonderful friend. Oh, if we could only have stayed for a week (or more!). Ettore was so easy to work with and so very accommodating from our very first contact. E rest of the hotel staff was equally kind and helpful. Our room overlooked a garden with an large apricot tree! The only sound we heard was around 8:30 each morning when we were treated to a magical flute concert by some nearby resident! The location was perfect - just minutes from the Piazzetta ( the central square of Capri) and partially overlooking the faraglioni - it was just lovely. We would not hesitate one minute to return to La Tosca - great hotel and great value! Mille grazie a tutti!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

La Tosca was the perfect place to stay in Capri - and at a very reasonable price. Easy walking from the top of the funicular railway that runs from the ferry port to the centre of Capri. Room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast on the terrace was excellent, with views to die for! Ettore was extremely helpful with suggestions for walks, restaurants, getting around, and sights to see, and even valuable information about travel to Naples. We would not hesitate to stay there again, or to recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stay here for a reasonable well located hotel in Capri. Ettore is the friendliest italian ull ever come across who know this island in and out. this hotel is well managed with small and homely staff. Me and my wife travelled in April'13 and really enjoyed our stay here. it is 5 min walk from the main clock tower piazza.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShantanuRaizada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel La Tosca is a wonderful hotel made even better by the staff. I travelled to Italy with my husband and our two children who are in their 20's. I emailed
Ettore for a reservation and we had a perfect quad room wih an amazing view. Ettore gave us ideas and recommendations of things to do during our short stay and we were not disappointed. I was not feeling well the morning of our departure and the staff brought me breakfast in bed! I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel and I hope to come back myself.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great hotel in Capri: in the heart of Capri, the rooms are clean, big and very quiet. And the owner gave us tips for our short stay on the island.
The breakfast on the terrace with a wonderful view on the see is a must have.
We'll have to come back...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtbrunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 41 in Capri
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tosca

Property: Hotel La Tosca
Address: Via Dalmazio Birago 5, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#2 Business Hotel in Capri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#3 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quite and simple atmosphere and the warm hospitality are the main characteristic of this small, cozy hotel that it has been completely renovated and equipped with new comfort. From the wonderful terraces that overlook the ancient Monastery of St Giacomo, you will have an impressive view of the Faraglioni rocks and a completely relaxing holiday. Located in Capri center.Free wi fi and free use of Ipad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tosca Capri
La Tosca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing