We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice!”
Review of Hotel La Tosca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Tosca
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best choice!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our all-too-short stay at Hotel La Tosca was a pleasure from start to finish. The rooms were spotless and spacious; the breakfasts on the terrace very nice; the staff was welcoming and friendly. Ettore is a treasure! He helped us make the most of our stay on the island, and all of his recommendations were spot on. We shall return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmlampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    123
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
130
425
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oss, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for 6 nights by E-mail. Very fast response. The hotel is very nice. Large and clean room with terrace. Simple but good breakfast. More than enough and very good cappucino.
Just a few minutes from the city centre. Good tips from Mr Ettore for walking trails.
Very recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobR5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were told by several people to plan to stay in Sorrento, and I decided to stay in Capri instead, and just visit else where. I am so glad I did this! What a wonderful stay we had in Capri, and I can't say enough about our gracious and helpful host Ettore. The hotel location was perfect, and our room was spacious for 3 of us, with a nice balcony attached. It was very clean, and staff were very friendly. We are now addicted to croissants and cappucino's! Capri is a special place, and if you take the time to explore, there are little hidden treasure's that maybe only the locals know about. We had wonderful dinners, and found the deli that served the best salami and cheese we have ever tasted. The beach is accessible by walking, but it is more of a long hike, and I would recommend taking the bus to get to the beach. The transportation of the cable car, and easily accessible to other areas to visit. The only downfall is that Capri is very expensive to shop, but we stayed an extra night than planned because we loved it so much here. Thank you Ettore!! You became one of my son's best friends;)

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of the hall and sea facing. It seemed to be quieter. Otherwise you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hiteclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice little hotel with a few rooms, the place makes you feel like home. The location is good a few minutes away from the piazza by foot. Very clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Ettore welcomed us very nicely, helped us organize our trip and reserved for us at great restaurants on the island. He definitely made our trip easier :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RZleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good airy rooms, elegantly furnished. Central location in Capri. Superb attention and help by hotel staff, even remembering to send me a "how to find us" description in the morning on the arrival day. Especially nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dag N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just spent 3 nights with Ettore at La Tosca and cannot say enough good things about him, his staff and his hotel. It's in a great location just a few minutes walk from the main square and his very clean and very quiet. But the best part is Ettore. He's a real "people person" who treats his guests like family. It's almost like having your own personal concierge as he has grown up on Capri and knows exactly where to send you for the best value and quality as far as restaurants and virtually any activities. We want to go back...now!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I just came back from a three day trip in Capri, where my friends and I, in an effort to save a bit of cash on this expensive island, opted for a "cheap hotel". What a nice surprise this was! The hotel is clean, perfectly located, tastefully decorated, inexpensive, and very pleasant. Ettore gave us reccomendations, was very helpful when our train and ferry tickets, and was a very patient interlocutor (he speaks good English, but we preferred practicing our Italian). Let me insist on how convenient the location is. A definite plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 41 in Capri
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tosca

Property: Hotel La Tosca
Address: Via Dalmazio Birago 5, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#2 Business Hotel in Capri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#3 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quite and simple atmosphere and the warm hospitality are the main characteristic of this small, cozy hotel that it has been completely renovated and equipped with new comfort. From the wonderful terraces that overlook the ancient Monastery of St Giacomo, you will have an impressive view of the Faraglioni rocks and a completely relaxing holiday. Located in Capri center.Free wi fi and free use of Ipad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tosca Capri
La Tosca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing