We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further and stay here!”
Review of Hotel La Tosca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Tosca
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Look no further and stay here!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This place is a real gem. We stayed on the island for 3 days/2 nights and highly recommend this hotel.

1. Great location: Five min walk to main square - very closed - but it's located on a quiet walkway off the main street. A lot of shops and restaurants nearby.

2. Cleanliness and amenities: We stayed in the room with a private terrace. The walls are white washed and the room is super-clean. It's also got a high ceiling so the room feel very airy/spacious. Although the whole room is all bright with a lot of lights/air coming in during the day, we really enjoyed the fancy roll-up mechanical blinds on the window and terrace door that would shut off the morning light and provide a good amount of darkness when we are still zZZz. We also enjoyed the complementary breakfast on the common terrace.

3. Helpful/pleasant staffs: Ettore is the owner of this hotel. We have communicated with him via email throughout the whole planning process of our trip and he is very quick at getting back to us regarding our questions. He speaks English fluently. He is always willing to help us with direction and recommendation. We were given a complementary welcome drink upon arrival and after we unpacked, he happily sat down with us with a map, upon request, and spent a good amount of time giving us an orientation/overview of the island, what we could do/should do, etc. On our last day of staying there, he even made a call to Rome for us regarding our itinerary for the rest of the trip. My sincere kudos go to him and the rest of the staffs who have made our stay at Capri smooth and enjoyable.

Overall, I wanna conclude by saying that when you visit Capri, don't just do it as a day trip. It's got so many things/ sights/activities to offer and it's completely different in the evenings and at night after all the day-trippers have left. So when you do decide to stay here overnight, stay at Hotel La Tosca. I myself would definitely stay here when we come back to Capri again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    122
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
125
417
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel La Tosca was a wonderful experience as is it not only clean to perfection but its within walking distance of any place in Capri yet tucked back in a walking lane away from all the hoards of tourists that come on the island in the middle of the day. The hotel has a lovely deck with tables that you not only use to enjoy your morning cappuccino but the views of the sea and Faraglioni are magnificent. It is a wonderful place to bring a little something to eat and just relax.

The prince of the Hotel La Tosca is Ettore...he is a kind and very helpful owner. He will take his time and show you the best places to hike and what to see. The rest of his staff are always available for any needs you may have.

This is listed as a 1 star hotel but I give it 5 stars...you will not be disappointed if you make the choice to stay here and for Capri is is very reasonable.

Thank you Ettore, Antonio and all for a wonderful stay at your hotel on Capri!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you are lucky enough to spend one or more nights on Capri, you can't do better than to stay in La Tosca. Simple, immaculate and spare of decoration, the heart and soul of this little hotel is the owner, Ettore, and his warm and supportive staff. Ettore wants every traveller to enjoy his lovely island and will patiently explain and in great detail guide you to spectacular destinations. A few days ago, we left the teaming crowds and flocks of tour groups in the glitzy town square behind and enjoyed, in near solitude, places of gob-stopping beauty. When weary and filled with the essence of Capri we returned to the hotel, Ettore suggested and reserved a table for us at a restaurant where the locals gather each evening. We wouldn't think of staying any place else in Capri.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size, so be sure to specify if you want or need one with more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdobbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved our time in Capri, and one of the biggest reasons is the guidance of Mr. Ettore. He helps everyone as much as possible suggesting them where to go, what to do and what to eat. He has so many contacts in capri - whenever we discuss a restaurant, he just calls the place right away (with the phone number already stored in his head) and makes a reservation for us. His suggestion are nearly always good, and customized to what kind of experience you like. And he really takes care of his guests.

The hotel itself is good, but not excellent. The rooms are basic and slightly small, but they are clean and contains everything you would require for staying there. The location of the hotel is very good - its 5 min walk from the main piazzetta and is very near to the Garden of Augustus (which has beautiful views of faraglioni rocks and the via krupp).
The biggest weak point is the breakfast. It just has some bread, butter/jam/honey, juice and coffee. And it gets boring very quickly. We didn't try, but if you are coming here for a longer stay, you might want to ask Mr. Ettore if there is a good cafe for breakfast around (there are a few cafes not far, so it might work).

Given the price, I think this is the best place to stay if you are in Capri, and are interested in exploring Capri. This place is definitely not meant for a holiday where you stay in the hotel and relax all the time.

On a side note, Capri itself is an excellent place to go. Beautiful views, lovely streets and great places to eat and drink.

Would definitely want to come back to Capri, and stay in Hotel La Tosca again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmanGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel for the value. Ettore is the highlight--the owner and island native, he knows the right places to go to avoid the tourist hustle and bussle. He adjusts his recomendations to what you tell him you like to do. The hotel is, as advertised, one star. Simple, clean, basic breakfast included, but very fiendly and you feel almost like you're staying in someone's guest house. All of Ettore's recomemndations for food and places to visit were spot-on.

Additionally, book direct with him. He communicates quite well via email, and is extremely responsive, which helps keep your costs down (avoids the hidden / embedded booking fees with other services). He will explain the process of getting to the hotel also quite well--for the first-time visitor to Capri, he de-mistified the logistics :)

The rooms are simple--the ones with the balcony add alot more space. The beds are fine, although hard, towels a bit rough, but the A/C works like a charm. Of course, on Capri, you want to be out-and-about, not hanging in your hotel :)

Ettore, thanks!!

Room Tip: Take a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swisspugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a lovey 2 night stay at Hotel La Tosca. Ettore was extremely helpful in ensuring we had a lovely time in Capri. We were offered a different room to the one we had originally booked - and it was fantastic, with a great terrace and view! Ettore gave us great advice on what to see and do and this really made our time in Capri one to remember. There are lots of pretentious places there - but this was not one of them. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0nd0ner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights this month. It was a great stay! I will break it down as best as possible. The real reasons to stay here are for the customer service and the price. Ettore is amazing! He is so friendly and will help you plan your stay if you ask him. If you don't, he will let you come and go as your please. We made sure to ask him what we should do and see while we were on the island and were not dissappointed in what he suggested. Upon arriving in Capri I wasn't sure we would like it because the port is packed with tour groups and cruise ship vacationers. All the stuff Ettore suggested brought us away from the craziness and let us explore the beauty of Capri. The beaches and views he suggested as beautiful.
The hotel is more of a bed and breakfast, not hotel. The rooms are very plain but very clean! And the bed was comfortable. So if you need plush towels and feather pillows this is not your place. If you are looking for an affordable, friendly, and clean place to sleep this is the place! You can't beat the price. I would 100% stay here again!
Location is great too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.3 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#7 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 41 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#5 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tosca

Property: Hotel La Tosca
Address: Via Dalmazio Birago 5, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#2 Business Hotel in Capri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#3 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quite and simple atmosphere and the warm hospitality are the main characteristic of this small, cozy hotel that it has been completely renovated and equipped with new comfort. From the wonderful terraces that overlook the ancient Monastery of St Giacomo, you will have an impressive view of the Faraglioni rocks and a completely relaxing holiday. Located in Capri center.Free wi fi and free use of Ipad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tosca Capri
La Tosca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing