We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Ettore makes sure you have a fantastic time in Capri” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Tosca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Tosca
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mr. Ettore makes sure you have a fantastic time in Capri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved our time in Capri, and one of the biggest reasons is the guidance of Mr. Ettore. He helps everyone as much as possible suggesting them where to go, what to do and what to eat. He has so many contacts in capri - whenever we discuss a restaurant, he just calls the place right away (with the phone number already stored in his head) and makes a reservation for us. His suggestion are nearly always good, and customized to what kind of experience you like. And he really takes care of his guests.

The hotel itself is good, but not excellent. The rooms are basic and slightly small, but they are clean and contains everything you would require for staying there. The location of the hotel is very good - its 5 min walk from the main piazzetta and is very near to the Garden of Augustus (which has beautiful views of faraglioni rocks and the via krupp).
The biggest weak point is the breakfast. It just has some bread, butter/jam/honey, juice and coffee. And it gets boring very quickly. We didn't try, but if you are coming here for a longer stay, you might want to ask Mr. Ettore if there is a good cafe for breakfast around (there are a few cafes not far, so it might work).

Given the price, I think this is the best place to stay if you are in Capri, and are interested in exploring Capri. This place is definitely not meant for a holiday where you stay in the hotel and relax all the time.

On a side note, Capri itself is an excellent place to go. Beautiful views, lovely streets and great places to eat and drink.

Would definitely want to come back to Capri, and stay in Hotel La Tosca again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmanGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    120
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
120
409
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel for the value. Ettore is the highlight--the owner and island native, he knows the right places to go to avoid the tourist hustle and bussle. He adjusts his recomendations to what you tell him you like to do. The hotel is, as advertised, one star. Simple, clean, basic breakfast included, but very fiendly and you feel almost like you're staying in someone's guest house. All of Ettore's recomemndations for food and places to visit were spot-on.

Additionally, book direct with him. He communicates quite well via email, and is extremely responsive, which helps keep your costs down (avoids the hidden / embedded booking fees with other services). He will explain the process of getting to the hotel also quite well--for the first-time visitor to Capri, he de-mistified the logistics :)

The rooms are simple--the ones with the balcony add alot more space. The beds are fine, although hard, towels a bit rough, but the A/C works like a charm. Of course, on Capri, you want to be out-and-about, not hanging in your hotel :)

Ettore, thanks!!

Room Tip: Take a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swisspugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a lovey 2 night stay at Hotel La Tosca. Ettore was extremely helpful in ensuring we had a lovely time in Capri. We were offered a different room to the one we had originally booked - and it was fantastic, with a great terrace and view! Ettore gave us great advice on what to see and do and this really made our time in Capri one to remember. There are lots of pretentious places there - but this was not one of them. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0nd0ner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights this month. It was a great stay! I will break it down as best as possible. The real reasons to stay here are for the customer service and the price. Ettore is amazing! He is so friendly and will help you plan your stay if you ask him. If you don't, he will let you come and go as your please. We made sure to ask him what we should do and see while we were on the island and were not dissappointed in what he suggested. Upon arriving in Capri I wasn't sure we would like it because the port is packed with tour groups and cruise ship vacationers. All the stuff Ettore suggested brought us away from the craziness and let us explore the beauty of Capri. The beaches and views he suggested as beautiful.
The hotel is more of a bed and breakfast, not hotel. The rooms are very plain but very clean! And the bed was comfortable. So if you need plush towels and feather pillows this is not your place. If you are looking for an affordable, friendly, and clean place to sleep this is the place! You can't beat the price. I would 100% stay here again!
Location is great too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

La Tosca is a delightful place to stay. Our room was simple and clean - the roof terrace is a lovely place to have breakfast or to sit any time and enjoy a drink and the view. All of the staff were extremely helpful and informative and spoke excellent English. Highly recommended if you want a friendly and unpretentious base to explore this beautiful island.

Room Tip: I think the sea facing rooms are larger and have a small terrace (and more expensive) -our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our stay on Capri was fantastic thanks to Ettore at Hotel la Tosca. We were upgraded to the private apartment with terrace, and it was very spacious and clean. The view from the breakfast terrace near the lobby is breathtaking complimented by fresh pastries and espresso. Although we were only on the island for 1 night, Ettore was more than helpful in suggesting things to do. In fact, we were only able to accomplish a few things on his long list while we were there. For dinner, Ettore recommended Buca di Bacco. He offered to make reservations, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that our reserved table was next to the (only) window with an amazing view of the port. It was the best view of any restaurant while we were vacationing in Italy. Complimentary lemoncello was served to us when we returned to the hotel from dinner. It should be noted that our vacation also included Rome & Naples, and La Tosca was the most inexpensive hotel we reserved, which was a surprise considering how touristy and expensive some things on the island can be. Also, directions to the hotel were provided in an email prior to our arrival, and there were signs on the streets pointing toward the hotel, which made finding the hotel very easy, especially since navigating the numerous and narrow streets on Capri can be confusing at the beginning of your trip if you've never been on the island before.

I would recommend that you have a porter deliver your bags to the hotel, as the hotel is around a 15 minute walk from the top of the funicular. This doesn't seem far, but Capri is a hilly town, and carrying bags up and down hills for 15 minutes can become annoying (not to mention the heat/humidity factors).

Room Tip: If you are going to stay for several nights, we would recommend the private apartment suite (even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We could not fault this hotel. Very good value by Capri standards, and exceeded our expectations for a 1-star hotel. Simple rooms, but the overall quality and standards of cleanliness are high. Breakfast on the terrace is a delight, and Ettore and his staff do everything possible to ensure that all guests have a very enjoyable experience. Location is great, although not easy to find for the first time. Would not hesitate to return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.4 mi away
Capri Wine Hotel
Capri Wine Hotel
#2 of 42 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Minerva
La Minerva
#1 of 42 in Capri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tosca

Property: Hotel La Tosca
Address: Via Dalmazio Birago 5, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#2 Business Hotel in Capri
#3 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#3 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quite and simple atmosphere and the warm hospitality are the main characteristic of this small, cozy hotel that it has been completely renovated and equipped with new comfort. From the wonderful terraces that overlook the ancient Monastery of St Giacomo, you will have an impressive view of the Faraglioni rocks and a completely relaxing holiday. Located in Capri center.Free wi fi and free use of Ipad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tosca Capri
La Tosca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing