We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it. Would go again.”
Review of La Residenza Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Residenza Capri
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Capri. What a place. The Hotel leaves a little to be desired. The room leaves a lot to be desired but it was OK. We had a three bed, room. We could hear every word from the room next door. Which was a little unsettling considering we had a child with us. Don't look up when you go in as the light fittings are covered with insects at least we hope they were insects and not mould! There was a connecting door which luckily was locked from our side. Luckily we sort of knew the people next door. Well we met them a couple of days before! The Bathroom was so small and mouldy.No Tissues, sanitary packs or cosmetic packs Leaky shower too. We had a balcony but didn't realise that everyone and anyone could use it too. That was a shock when we were sitting there minding our own business and then people just walked on in. Very odd that bit. Breakfast-don't bother-nothing much to offer. But on the whole I would definately go again. Different room with quiter walls. The view from our room was spectacular.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is quite. Don't know how you do it but just try. And check out the mould...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaharls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for La Residenza Capri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 544 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

In showing a friend Itlay we went to Capri on a whelm without bags thinking we would only go for the day. Once there we decided to stay for the night...having no reservations and being 1 day before New Years Eve finding a hotel was difficult. Something everyone should beaware of is that almost all of the hotels shut down after the main season. We walked to 4 hotels of which all were closed including the one I had looked at on the internet the day before that had said it was open. Finally we found someone who suggested the La Residenza and thank goodness she did. We walked in and discovered a very lovely hotel with a friendly staff. There were two available rooms. The one we ended up with had a beautiful view of the water. The room was small but very nice and had a balcony that we enjoyed coffee on the next morning. I found the price a little steep but considering we just walked in at the last minute I guess it was par for the course and it did include breakfast in the morning. The only problem we had was the temp of the room. Although it was Dec. 30 it was not that cold but the room was to hot and the only recourse was to sleep with the door to the balcony open. It was very quiet most of the night and we were on the 3rd floor so we felt safe. Had we been any where else would not have be able to do that. All in all it was a beautiful stay and I will reccommend friends to the hotel and I would also return but next time I will make a reservation and hopefully get a better price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank csgcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

"Hotel La Residenza is the best kept secret of Capri!! From the Staff at the front desk to the ladies who clean the rooms, to the gentlemen in the Wonderful Restaurant, one cant go wrong. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. And best of ALL the Price, The Location and the Pool & Piano Bar at Night!! 5 Thumbs UP!" Raphael T Harris

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raphael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there, on a tour with Globus, in November 2011very nice hotel, the room was average, nice view, we were the last customers they were closing for the season. We had dinner, it was ok, but the service at dinner and breakfast was not good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bedondaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I go to Capri annually, and I always stay at La Residenza. It's very reasonably priced, considering the prime location. The lobby is beautiful, and the staff is wonderful. They have a very nice, relaxing pool and a sun terrace that overlooks an amazing view where one can soak up all of the Mediterranean sun desired. The rooms are very adequate with plenty of closet space, and of course a room with a terrace and view is very much worth it. If one can afford a suite, the bathroom/shower is very modern and large. They serve a good breakfast in a beautiful dining room. I think it is the best value on the island.

Room Tip: A room that overlooks the poolside with a terrace if available is worth the extra.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LInda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and felt that we got very lucky with the location of the hotel. Situated not too far from the cable car to be annoying, but not too close that you feel engulfed in crowds of day trippers to the island. Great views of I Faraglioni from our room, and also on finding out it was our honeymoon we were upgraded and there was a bottle of prosecco waiting for us. Room was spacious and clean, as was the rest of the hotel, though decor could do with updating. Great bar, ably-manned by Pasquale who took good care of us. All staff were thoughtful and helpful. Lots of sunbeds on a raised 'sun terrace' but not next to the pool itself which doesn't get a lot of sun. Beds are definitely on the hard side.

Was a great and comfortable base for us to explore Capri.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stunning location...walking distance from the funicular..the lobby looks so modern and clean..the rooms however are a little faded and tired. Our balcony (not all rooms had them) had furniture..and was a lovely place to relax. The curtains didn't meet so didn't block out all the light. The fridge wasn't working and it took three requests before anyone came to check it. Breakfast was ok..the milk isn't fresh as there are no cows on the island..it isn't always on time either..we queued up two mornings waiting for it to open..the pool was lovely and there was a huge sun deck with lounges above the pool..nice place to catch the sun...overall..this is a very expensive island..definately worth a visit..so I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on the higher floors with furniture!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaUnitedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#29 of 40 in Capri
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#19 of 40 in Capri
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 40 in Capri
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza Capri

Address: Via F Serena 22, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Capri
#21 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $144 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Residenza is located just 220 yards from the Piazzetta, Capri's central square. It offers a large sun terrace with swimming pool and peaceful grounds with palm trees.Set in the heart of Capri, La Residenza is surrounded by the town's most popular shops, bars and restaurants. The port of Marina Grande is 5 minute drive away for ferries to Italy's mainland. All rooms are air conditioned and come in a range of styles. They feature a minibar and satellite TV and some have a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Guests have free Wi-Fi in public areas and a buffet breakfast served each morning. The restaurant serves a varied menu of Italian and international cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your La Residenza Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing