We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Kept Secret of Capri”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Residenza
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Messina, Sicilia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Kept Secret of Capri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

"Hotel La Residenza is the best kept secret of Capri!! From the Staff at the front desk to the ladies who clean the rooms, to the gentlemen in the Wonderful Restaurant, one cant go wrong. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. And best of ALL the Price, The Location and the Pool & Piano Bar at Night!! 5 Thumbs UP!" Raphael T Harris

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    155
    85
    48
    28
See reviews for
72
219
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there, on a tour with Globus, in November 2011very nice hotel, the room was average, nice view, we were the last customers they were closing for the season. We had dinner, it was ok, but the service at dinner and breakfast was not good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedondaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I go to Capri annually, and I always stay at La Residenza. It's very reasonably priced, considering the prime location. The lobby is beautiful, and the staff is wonderful. They have a very nice, relaxing pool and a sun terrace that overlooks an amazing view where one can soak up all of the Mediterranean sun desired. The rooms are very adequate with plenty of closet space, and of course a room with a terrace and view is very much worth it. If one can afford a suite, the bathroom/shower is very modern and large. They serve a good breakfast in a beautiful dining room. I think it is the best value on the island.

Room Tip: A room that overlooks the poolside with a terrace if available is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LInda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and felt that we got very lucky with the location of the hotel. Situated not too far from the cable car to be annoying, but not too close that you feel engulfed in crowds of day trippers to the island. Great views of I Faraglioni from our room, and also on finding out it was our honeymoon we were upgraded and there was a bottle of prosecco waiting for us. Room was spacious and clean, as was the rest of the hotel, though decor could do with updating. Great bar, ably-manned by Pasquale who took good care of us. All staff were thoughtful and helpful. Lots of sunbeds on a raised 'sun terrace' but not next to the pool itself which doesn't get a lot of sun. Beds are definitely on the hard side.

Was a great and comfortable base for us to explore Capri.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stunning location...walking distance from the funicular..the lobby looks so modern and clean..the rooms however are a little faded and tired. Our balcony (not all rooms had them) had furniture..and was a lovely place to relax. The curtains didn't meet so didn't block out all the light. The fridge wasn't working and it took three requests before anyone came to check it. Breakfast was ok..the milk isn't fresh as there are no cows on the island..it isn't always on time either..we queued up two mornings waiting for it to open..the pool was lovely and there was a huge sun deck with lounges above the pool..nice place to catch the sun...overall..this is a very expensive island..definately worth a visit..so I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on the higher floors with furniture!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaUnitedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandhurst, berks
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Capri and were very pleasantly surprised on our arrival! The reception area is very light and airy, the staff very helpful, the pool and sunbathing area- great after a trek around Capri! The room was just the right size and felt very authentic Italian, bathroom was fine. Breakfast was good for a continental although staff did seem a bit preoccupied with the pushier guests!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great room, great view, super clean. We had a window in our shower that looked into the bedroom and out the large windows/doors to a great view. We had a huge balcony that overlooked the pool. Our room had a vaulted ceiling with a ceiling fan. Also had great AC. The hotel had a spacious lobby with comfortable seating. Good breakfast too.

Room Tip: Great rooms, most with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Goads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#15 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#27 of 41 in Capri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 'A Pazziella
Hotel 'A Pazziella
#28 of 41 in Capri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Vega
Hotel La Vega
#30 of 41 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residenza

Property: Hotel La Residenza
Address: Via Federico Serena 22, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Capri
#25 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Residenza is located just 220 yards from the Piazzetta, Capri's central square. It offers a large sun terrace with swimming pool and peaceful grounds with palm trees.Set in the heart of Capri, La Residenza is surrounded by the town's most popular shops, bars and restaurants. The port of Marina Grande is 5 minute drive away for ferries to Italy's mainland.All rooms are air conditioned and come in a range of styles. They feature a minibar and satellite TV and some have a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea.Guests have free Wi-Fi in public areas and a buffet breakfast served each morning. The restaurant serves a varied menu of Italian and international cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Capri
La Residenza Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing