We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent service”
Review of La Residenza Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Residenza Capri
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Capri is just amazing, and this hotel it's a confirmation.
When we arrived, the concierge offered us a drink, and gave us the keys of the room, which was ready, despite we arrived some hours in advance.
The room is large, not huge, but it's very romantic, offering an outstanding view on Capri's Faraglioni, one of the most amazing naturalistic scenarios.
The hotel has an excellent position, right in the centre of Capri, next to La Piazzetta, just next to all the boutiques, bars and restaurants.
A specific mention for the service: Excellent, we have asked for a private boat tour of the island, and they provide us with a personal skipper, boat and fresh fruit, one of the best experience of my life. They have also booked a fantastic restaurant as a break from the tour. Really great, they set a standard for what Excellence should mean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripper7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 558 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

We arrived with a globus tour and it appeared globus were the only customers staying. The views were wonderful. The pool was not in working order even though it was the middle of June, the phone in the room did not work so we did not receive our wake up call. The man said he could knock on the door in the am when we complained for the second time the next day, I am not sure why he could not have suggested that the night before. The phone was never repaired. The pool was closed both days and we would have loved to have had a swim. The day staff was very polite, kind with great smiles. The man who worked evening to am was rude. If I stayed here again, I would ask questions prior to arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmcWaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed here as part of Globus Tour "Best of Italy". I liked this hotel. Good location. Views from patio terrific. Great air conditioning in room !!! Nice place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DDDBS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We really liked it at this hotel. Everyone was friendly and the meals were very good.
The only complaint I have (and it's minor) is that the walls seemed a bit thin and we could easily hear the people in the room next to us. Otherwise, we would stay here again in a minute. The hotel is beautiful and located in a great spot....if you go out the front door, turn right, then another hard right at the bottom of the hill, you can travel a path that takes you to the "switchbacks" that go down to the water....and an incredible view.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SteveDHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

La Residenza is in a good location with superb views. Our first room 109 with sea view had dirty bathroom tiles and a rusted shower screen, and several broken floor tiles. We advised reception so that they could clean the bathroom tiles, but they did not do anything, until we showed them the photos the next day. They then advised us we would be upgraded a day later to 307 which was completely different, see photos, yet the balcony area was shoddy - see photos again. Breakfasts were disappointing with no fresh fruit just tinned peaches and jug of orange juice with white flimsy plastic cups. We ate in twice for evening meals, our first evening meal on Saturday was great, the second evening meal on our last night was a disaster. They had booked a 'gynae' conference in and upon arrival for our special last night dinner, we were asked to eat elsewhere. After complaining to the manager, they fitted a table in - yet it was uncomfortable gate crashing a conference dinner! Information was difficult to get, we had to ask for everything. It was noisy at night with the noise the security blinds made with guests opening and shutting them at all hours during the night. The staff were very friendly at all times, but it was just like staying at Fawlty Towers. The cleaning ladies did their very best, but against very poor hotel maintenance they were defeated. This hotel was mainly empty, apart from 2 coach parties arriving for a one night stay during their Italian tour, and a gynae conference on our last day. It was not suitable for British holiday guests staying for a week. The bar area was always empty and lacked atmosphere. It did not compare to the 4 star standards of other hotels in the area, and we feel we overpaid on this basis despite booking a so called 'deal'

Room Tip: Book top floor with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DIANNE07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel is located right off the path to great (expensive) stores and a 2-minute walk to the main piazza. It's also a 5-minute walk to beautiful gardens with fantastic views of the water. The hotel has a very spacious lobby and lounge - with a great pool set-up. It also has a nice patio with lots of trees - very relaxing to have a drink or just to sit. We got a basic room - so no balcony - and the room was pretty small - but it was fine for the 1 night we were there. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mbuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Okay place with gardens in front, and nice pool. There is quite a difference between rooms, even those that are next door to each other. I came in a group of of about 10 and the front desk totally messed up the passports. We had to go around and check each other's passport to find our own. The restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#28 of 40 in Capri
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 40 in Capri
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 40 in Capri
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza Capri

Address: Via F Serena 22, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Capri
#21 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range: $184 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Residenza is located just 220 yards from the Piazzetta, Capri's central square. It offers a large sun terrace with swimming pool and peaceful grounds with palm trees.Set in the heart of Capri, La Residenza is surrounded by the town's most popular shops, bars and restaurants. The port of Marina Grande is 5 minute drive away for ferries to Italy's mainland. All rooms are air conditioned and come in a range of styles. They feature a minibar and satellite TV and some have a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Guests have free Wi-Fi in public areas and a buffet breakfast served each morning. The restaurant serves a varied menu of Italian and international cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Residenza Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing