We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Floridiana

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel La Floridiana
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This review is about two weeks overdue. Most of the streets of Rome are not accessible by car so be prepared to do a little walking (5-10 mins from center plaza). This was my fourth hotel in Europe (in two weeks) but it was the first one that I was told to "leave [my] bags and we will have it brought up." That was an extremely nice accommodation considering staff was attentive to the fact that some walking had to be done to get to the hotel. Then we were given some information on the hotel (breakfast time/info) and then walked to our room (-3rd floor). First impression of the room was "wow, nice." Great natural light, nice antique look with large sliding glass doors to the terrace (with (very little) partial sea view). The room was extremely dated, but well kept. Jacuzzi on the terrace was a nice option (we were told it would be an additional charge to use which I thought was weird considering the rating of the hotel). My husband and I were on vacation so would have considered using it, except it wasn't clean. Restroom towels were rough (bleach causes most towels to lose it's softness, but these towels were rough...). I'm determined to believe that there was something weird about the restroom because it smelled musty (with a hint of urine--eww). Also, every time my husband showered, he got water all over the floor (shower spacing was awkward), and I want to think the hotel staff knew something about the smell because when we left our room, the restroom was twice cleaned while we were out. This is conflicting because I want to give it a good rating for service/attention to issues, but if this is the case, perhaps it should be permanently dealt with? Wifi was free and okay for general browsing--any uploading attempts will results in failure. Overall, the stay was okay/comfortable, though I did wear my sandals to the restroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    198
    66
    35
    35
See reviews for
132
321
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent Location and wonderful service. Rooms could be better furnished but they are good in size and nice, big balcony too so it compensates. Beds could be improved as well but then the price won't be the same.
The best part is cleanliness and a perfect location that allows you to walk everywhere in 5 minutes. The view from the rooms is breathtaking. It is a good choice!.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingRestAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I was travelling alone so I had a single room which was very small. It was fairly clean but I was impressed with how they came in each day to give fresh towels and clean throughout my stay. The pool was lovely, and the staff were excellent. They were all very friendly and extremely helpful with ideas of what to do and being very welcoming. The breakfast was varied and you had a wide selection to choose from. The hotel was located close to the main part of town but not too close so that you would hear any noise. The walls were fairly thin so you could hear some of the louder guests at times. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, but I would book direct as it is cheaper than booking through other websites.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived in Capri mid July (3 girls) and on arrival we were welcomed by the lovely female staff member, can't remember her name. We were told we had been upgraded and we were thrilled, we had paid for some kind of standard 3 person room and were
Placed in a suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, terrace, sun lounges, outdoor al fresco eating area, beautiful antique furniture... Etc we were so impressed with the service and kindness of the staff as well as their helpfulness in regards to getting around me booking things. So so impressed!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friend and I travelled to Capri for a 4 day break and adored La Floridiana. It had the true Italian feel with gorgeous rooms (huge terrace) and in a perfect, tranquil location but within minutes of the main square via a fabulous walk through the flurry of designer boutiques and stunning restaurants. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and attentive. We particularly loved Peppe who spoke perfect English and treated us like princesses. He also makes a very memorable Cappuccino! We'd highly recommend La Floridiana!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed there 5 nights, hotel is very nice, has a nice pool, is close to The Piazzetta. The staff was great, especially Nunzia at the front desk, who was always very helpful and Peppe and the people at breakfast, always ready to serve some good cappuccino.

Room Tip: Room 31 is great, with a nice terrace with ocean view and a jacuzzi. But if you are tall, the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffisva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
268 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

After spending time in Venice (for the Redentore fireworks) and Naples, we took an early morning hydrofoil to Capri. After a nice 50 minutes journey, we landed in Marina Grande. I had researched in detail what were our arrival options and immediately took an open top taxi to the Piazzetta in Capri's main town, costing us 20 euros (2 persons and 2 cabin bags).

Asking from the Tourist Office there, where is Via Vittoria Emanuel? After some 8-10 minutes downhill walk, we arrived at the Hotel Floridiana with the 2 small cabin bags in tow, no problems, it was that easy! Lucky for us, our chosen top floor junior suite, room 68, was ready for check in, nice! Upon entering the suite, we were rather happy with its size, two leather rocking chairs, long and slim balcony with great sea views, huge bathroom with jacuzzi that works etc.

However, two initial problems were found immediately - the safe was left locked by the previous occupant and the room's telephone to call reception was dead! Not a problem, informed Reception and these two problems were solved right on our first night - Bravo!

The bed was comfy and you could even find memory foam pillows here (but not at our 5 star Hotel Splendide Royal in Rome!); TV has many English channels including CCTV for Chinese guests; kettle to make tea and coffee, too and it was blissfully quiet for a good night's sleep.

The other problem that we had, however, was more serious - that our air con seemed to have a mind of its own, turning off and on during the middle of night. So, we had interrupted sleep here when daytime temperatures were 31 degree C, night time, 23-24 degree C. Complained to Reception to no avail so do be aware, it maybe room 68's isolated problem, but we are just not so sure if this was a cost cutting measure?

Other than the air con, our two nights stay was simply wonderful - Dina at Reception was the most helpful and hard working, working effortlessly and tirelessly trying her best to help everyone, she really deserved a promotion and pay rise!!! Other staff were also kind, too, but Dina really stands out among the rest - grazie mille, Dina!

Breakfasts at the Hotel was quite nice but we did not realise that we could have eggs cooked to order till our last morning. Coffee tasted bland but Cappuccino was quite good. The gorgeous Swimming pool was one of the Hotel's greatest feature, nice irregular shaped that has mood lighting at night - Bellissimo! Had a swim at 7am and I had the whole pool to myself, memorable.

Location wise, its 8-10 minutes slight uphill walk to lots of shopping and restaurants. So while leaving, we paid the hotel 4 euros for each pc of cabin bag to be brought to the Clock Tower in the Piazzetta. We then walked there to meet their driver and took the funiculore ride down to the Marina Grande (1.80 euros each) - this was even easier and cheaper!

Other smaller gripes of staying here are - slight wear and tear in the room, and breakfasts starts a little too late at 8am (we are jet lagged, so rise as early as 6-6.30am). Lobby, in my personal opinion, is also too bland and minimalist - it does not give you that feeling that you are in Bella Italia!

Overall, this Hotel is one of your best bets if you do not want to burn a big hole in your pocket while staying in ultra expensive Capri and yet want some 4 star luxuries in a full fledged hotel. A very high price/quality ratio hotel indeed. Good choice!

Room Tip: Choose higher floor sea view rooms like 68 or 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIO P, Proprietario at Hotel La Floridiana, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Google Translation
Gent.mi Ospiti,
risponderemo con un semplice grazie alla dettagliata recensione che ci avete gentilmente inviata.
L'unica precisazione e' per l'aria condizionata che sicuramente e' andata via di notte per un improvviso mancamento dell'elettricita' ma poiche' i comandi sono all'interno delle camere si puo' riaccendere immediatamente dall'interno.
La ns. colazione ' e' ufficialmente dalle 8 del mattino per un Buffet completo ma se si vuole arivare anche alle 7 c'e' sempre il cameriere per il caffe o cappuccino o altro e sopratutto c'e' il portiere di notte che per le partenze anticipate si prodiga per dare una bevanda calda a chi parte presto la mattina.Per qualsiasi cosa chiedete alla Reception!!!
Per le uova abbiamo messo un avviso sul Buffet,facilmente visibile,nel quale e' scritto chiaramente che si possono avere le uova cucinate come il cliente desidera senza pagare nulla.
Qualche settimana fa lo dicevamo a voce e forse poteva a volte sfuggire questa opzione sulla ns. colazione .
Sperando di aver chiarito i piccoli inconvenienti da Loro lamentati ancora un grazie per essere stati ns. graditi ospiti da tutti noi dello Staff e della Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#16 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#21 of 42 in Capri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 'A Pazziella
Hotel 'A Pazziella
#28 of 42 in Capri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Floridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Floridiana

Property: Hotel La Floridiana
Address: Via Campo di Teste 16, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Capri
#15 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#19 Family Hotel in Capri
#22 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Floridiana 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
new swimming pool with whirpool,colour therapy,it is possible to swim undercurrent, new solarium with green area,lounge bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Floridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Floridiana Hotel
La Floridiana Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing